We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view, but get there early (or late) on weekends”

Colibri Mexican Cuisine
Ranked #1,273 of 3,808 Restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good view, but get there early (or late) on weekends”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I ate here on Friday evening. We got to the restaurant at about 6:45 and I asked how long the wait would be for an outside table. One hour. From what they said, people had to wait from about 6:00. So we ate inside. Inside was quite nice. The server was good - prompt, but not pushy. We had the guacamole appetizer - very nice. A bit spicy, but not overly so. It was very generous. I ordered the steak fajitas and my wife order the Mexican barbecue. The food was plentiful. I finished, but just barely. My wife had filled up on the appetizer and was only able to finish half of her entrée. We did not have dessert. We both liked our food.

The patio has a great lake view and I noticed when we left (about 8:00) that there were several empty tables and there was live music on the patio. So get there before 6 or after 8 on weekend evenings to get a nice lakeside seat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank O-town-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful view”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

we eat dinner at Colibris several times with Friends, the Food is good, but the service was slow, even on a night that the Restaurant was not very busy. Prices are a little on the high side for a Mexican Restaurant. The view over the lake on the outside terrace is beautiful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner with a great view”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Eat dinner here every few weeks. Great to sit on the patio, enjoy a drink, and enjoy the view. Prices are a little high but great location. Good happy hour specials. Service is usually always good. I do wish they gave you more rice and beans with entrees.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nothing exceptional”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Ate here for lunch with a party of 6 coworkers. The restaurant was nearly empty yet service was excruciatingly slow (but pleasant). Our server seemed unable (or unwilling) to deal with special requests. Food was average Mexican. Lunch prices were reasonable. The restaurant was fairly loud.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rhinodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Date night atmosphere, unremarkable food.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I was here with a large party and the service was off. They had plenty of servers and knew we were coming. Appetizers didn't arrive at all and my kids were the last people served, almost 10 minutes later than everyone else. The food was average in taste, but was of good quality It really lacked a lot of flavor. The outside dining was beautiful, overlooking the water and would be a lovely date night. I'd be willing to try Colibri again to see if the issue was with our menu selections, but beef fajitas, a chimichanga, carnitas, and soft tacos are pretty standard fare. Perhaps next time we should be more adventurous, but for now we will put Colibri on the shelf and try it again at a later date.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colibri Mexican Cuisine also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Colibri Mexican Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing