We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware-No WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grande Villas Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

When I received confirmation of my reservation I noted that they do not give guests the password for WiFi unless you belong to one of their clubs. I booked this as a rest stop after a month abroad & need to catch up on personal & business matters. The only way to do this is to use the lobby computer. When I tried to complain, the staff member taking my call hung up on me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank MizGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize that you were not properly assisted when you contacted us by phone. Wi-Fi is provided to all guests, regardless of their affiliation with Diamond Resorts, for a fee of $4.95 per day. The Wi-Fi password is provided at check in after payment has been submitted. The service you received over the phone is not representative of the type of customer service we wish to portray to our guests. This will be addressed internally. We sincerely apologize if this issue had a negative impact on your stay with us, and we hope this will not dissuade you from visiting our resort again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,581)
There are newer reviews for Grande Villas Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,188 - 1,194 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bed apt. for 3 weeks. opening the door was like being in some reality show, it really did have the wow factor. We booked to a budget thro' expedia and our thoughts really were that it's just somewhere to sleep.
The apartment was huge, full kichen, breakfast dining lounge area 48" flat screen tv washing machine, tumble drier in a little cupboard off the kitchen.
small bedroom with 2 single beds, tv and it's own bathroom. Big bedroom, with bed big enough to sleep all of us comfortably, flat screen tv, jaccuzzi, and its own bathroom.

The resort has 3 pools, 2 in the grande villas area and one over the road at cypress point.
There is daily entertainment, disco, karaoke, family games around the pool stuff,although we didn't try it.

It's about a mile from downtown disney, and easy access to all disney parks. probably about 8 miles to Universal, but its an easy drive up I4.

There are no free transfers to the parks.

highly recommended.

Room Tip: pool view would be nice, but costs extra. If you don't ask for a pool view, ask for an upper flo...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

We’re glad that our property turned out to be a pleasant surprise! It is important to us that you have everything you want and more during your stay, so it’s great to read that you were thrilled with your room amenities, kitchen, and layout.

While we understand that most guests have plans for their vacations, we’re happy to provide alternative entertainment and activities for all different tastes.

You are correct that shuttle service is not complimentary; however, Maingate Transportation shuttles can be scheduled for approximately $12 for round-trip service to the parks.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope you’ll choose to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was our first time staying at Grande Villas. There was only 2 of us and we stayed in a one bedroom. The good parts: very very convenient and close to all major attractions. It took us only 15 minutes to get to SeaWorld and Discovery Cove. There are tons of restaurants in the area. The bedroom and bathroom were huge. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The pool area was really nice with a deli and pizza place that delivered to your room.
The bad parts: All though we only had 2 folks, it would be very cramped if we had to use the pull out couch. The kitchen area is combined with a sitting area and is small. We could not find any ice machines. The worst part for us is that the walls are paper thin. We could hear everything and I mean everything that the family was saying next door. We heard luggage rolling across the floor on top of us and when they shut their door, our headboard on the bed would shake. We had a pool side room and heard the music very loud each night.

all in all we were pleased and would stay again. We were so tired that the noise did not bother us too much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MandM5570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for posting your review. We are pleased to hear that our accommodations and location met your expectations. It is concerning to read that the walls near your unit were paper thin. We encourage all guests to speak to our front desk staff if they have any questions or issues during their stay, as we’ll do everything we can to answers your questions or resolve these issues on-site. We can’t wait to see you again, as we are confident that you will receive the same, if not exceeded level of satisfaction that you have now come to expect from our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I booked a room on tripadvisor's sister site, SniqueAway and unbenoused to me, this was actually a time share. I am not interested in time share and the high pressure tacktics so I don't know if it is normal to require a $250 deposit for a one night stay. They treated me as if it is the standard and I unwilling ponied it up.

The room clean and the bathroom was bigger than the rest of the room. That would have been nice IF I planned on spending most of my time in there. The pool was in the shape of a turtle and had salt water. We had a good time playing in it until our fingers were 'pruned'. The king size bed was nice and they had extra pillows in the closet for the pull out sofa. The walls were paper thin; we could hear the room next store over the movie we were watching. Luckly, by the time we went to sleep, they naturally turned down the volume.

The overall experiance was ok but I don't think I will be staying here again only because of the wide selection of places to stay in Orlando. I have stayed at the Hyatt for the same price and was treated like a queen unlike at this facility.

Room Tip: bring a credit card or $250 cash for the deposit
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank busymomrn0629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just got back from two week break with family. This resort is split into Cypress pointe with Diamond owning the other section.We stayed as part of our time share. Overall location is ideal for the theme parks Disney is within 10-20 mins and universal around 20+ mins by car. Lots of local and good restaurants nearby. If you like self catering Wynn Dixie (supermarket) is 5mins away but make sure you grab their discount card (Publix supermarket, vineland avenue is cheaper, 10-15min away - also next to the florida premium mall). The two bed apartment was clean, spacious and comfortable. Bonus of washer dryer, dishwasher and equipped kitchen. Master bath and seprate shower, so good for families. Try and get room overlooking pool. Pool areas are clean and we never had a problem getting sun loungers. Room cleaned just once during stay but we were supplied with extra towels without needing to ask. Onsite gym is small, tired and basic (but you will get all your exercise at theme parks, right?) So far so good.

Now the bit you really need to know: Wi Fi at resort is not free, $19 for 7day access but DO NOT waste your money, connection and speed next to useless. Time share presentation, avoid at all costs. When you check in they will try to book you in there and then "55 mins only and you get free gift". Just walk away...Even though we already own timeshare after 65mins presentation (was supposed to be a member update), I got up and walked, even though they offered $50 gift, a couple next to us looked at me and said how did you manage to escape??!!

Car hire at airport: firstly best if you have your own sat nav with florida maps. Make sure, if you book before you go, that the rental covers roadside recovery and all liablity costs. DO NOT buy extra road toll pass $29+, if you are only within Orlando area it is only $1 each way to airport. The staff will tell you that toll roads do not except cash which is untrue..

Disney parks are well organised and really look after families, bring water bottles so you can top up with water during hot days or buy the special drink refills as once you have paid top ups are free, which is not so at the Universal parks (you have to be sure you refill at least 10 times to make it worth getting). Packed lunches are always a good idea, but make sure you have smaller rucksacks if you are at a Universal park as you need to put them in lockers before you go on rides. You can bring a cooler with drinks and snacks in it if you go to a Disney water park. Weather at moment very wet, ponchos are necessary (buy before you go or $9 each onsite).

Florida dolphin tours do a good package of airboat ride and kennedy space centre around £45 per person, all day trip with airboat ride in morning to see alligators. Driver was an absolute NASA enthusiast.

Shopping: if you want some bargins it has to be the outlet premium florida malls, international drive or vineland avenue. For good multiplex cinema $4-6 ticket - festival bay mall, but not much else there as shops are mostly vacant, has bargain book shop. Mall at millenia is modern, pricey and would win competition for nicest toilets in florida, their food court is very good and mall is air conditioned, go if you are a cheescake fan as they have a dedicated restaurant!!

I would recommend Diamond resorts Grande Villa for location, clean rooms, decent pool. If you want any advice please message me.

Room Tip: Ask for room in Bird cay block one or two, upper floors quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank ironman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We reserved a one bedroom condo and it was very nice. The bathrooms are huge and the tub was also very big and comfortable. The bedroom was small as the bed was a king and between that, the TV and end tables, it was really just a sleeping room. The bed was very comfortable.

The main room was a kitchen/living room combo that felt a little cramped. It did come equipped with an oven, microwave and dishwasher. Nice for the extended stay.

The resort has many pools. They also have a ton of scheduled activities and crafts for children for families. The resort also has basketball courts, tennis courts and several other amenities I didn't get too.

Overall for the money it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Wyomingdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We purchased a three-night stay via Groupon and were pleasantly surprised at how nice the one-bedroom condo was! We were traveling with our 9-year-old son. He slept on the pull-out in the living room/kitchen and my husband and I took the bedroom. The bedroom was large, and the bathroom was huge, with a large soaking tub. It was nice that the toilet was in a separate area with a door within the bathroom.

Other reviewers have mentioned that when the sofa bed is open, there is barely any room to walk out of the bedroom to the door. This is true. However, it wasn't an issue for us. We arrived on a Friday evening, grabbed dinner at the Chili's across the way, and hit the sack. Spent Saturday at Sea World. Spent Sunday at the pool, a pre-season baseball game, and then at Sea World. And left on Monday for an overnight in Tampa to catch a Lightning/Capitals game. The condo provided us with a place to sleep in in the mornings, shower, and eat breakfast before heading out for the day.

The location is convenient, but the traffic in the area is horrible. We did find a "back" road that runs parallel to I-4 and allowed us to get most anywhere we needed to go. That was a key discovery.

There was a pitch when we checked in, but we just declined and we weren't bothered. They didn't push. The lack of free WiFi was annoying, but not a deal-breaker.

Would definitely go back if another Groupon was offered when we were looking to go.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bgsualum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.1 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,457 reviews
1.9 mi away
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
2.2 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 340 in Orlando
3,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lake Buena Vista
1.1 mi away
Floridays Resort
Floridays Resort
#20 of 340 in Orlando
8,166 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Villas Resort

Address: 12118 Turtle Cay Circle, Orlando, FL 32836-6400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range: $78 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Villas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to deluxe accommodations for the whole family to enjoy, what area could possibly be better than Orlando, Florida? Avoid the hustle and bustle of traffic and overcrowded streets by refusing to settle for anything other than Grande Villas Resort. Here you will find relaxation and tranquility, all while giving yourself the pampering you and your family deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Vacatia, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing