We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Cypress Palms
Ranked #145 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our second stay at this property. We were pretty happy with our first stay which is why we returned. We can’t say the same for this stay.
Let’s start at the beginning.
Checking in - the first unit we were given was supposed to be a pool view but it was not. We were facing another building and if you stepped outside on the porch and looked sideways, then you got a view of the pool. In all fairness, the room type was not guaranteed and after some searching by the front desk, we were put in a pool view room.
Upon entering the unit we stayed in that week we were overcome by an excessive “fabreeze” like smell. It was just overpowering. We had to open the porch door for several hours to get rid of the smell. My husband and I both have allergies and were uncomfortable because of this.
The bathroom sink in the unit leaked as did the refrigerator. We just put towels under both. We did not notify the front desk about this because our idea of a relaxing vacation is not sitting in the unit watching maintenance repair the unit. These things should have been caught by either housekeeping or whoever inspects the units before renting them. The overall “look” of the unit was pretty nice though.
Our biggest complaint was that security woke us up the first 2 mornings of our one week stay "investigating" a "noise" complaint by the guests below our unit. We weren't making any noise, we were asleep. We wanted a relaxing vacation - sleeping late, etc. Instead, security came banging on our door at 9:00 am, waking us (the second morning they banged on the door and rang the doorbell incessantly for at least five minutes). We were in bed in our pajamas and not about to answer the door since we had no idea who was banging on our door. Both mornings they left no note telling us why they were banging on our door. I will admit that we took the phone off the hook the minute we entered the unit. We read about complaints that the timeshare sales staff calls at 9:00 am to try to get you to attend a presentation and we wanted no part of that or a 9:00 am call to wake us. In the staff’s defense they could not have reached us by phone and that’s the way we wanted it. Being woken up by phone is just as bad as being woken up by banging at the door.
The second morning we had to call the front office to find out what was going on (we thought maybe the first morning someone had the wrong unit but by the second morning we didn’t think it was a coincidence). We were told there were complaints of doors or drawers slamming first thing in the morning. Now, in the unit next door to us there was a family that was slamming the doors a bit, but it didn't bother us. If you are in a vacation condo, slamming doors are not uncommon. Certainly a complaint about this is not justification to disturb all your guests in the vicinity of the complaint. Also, if you must “investigate” does it have to be at 9:00 am when many of your guests could still be asleep? You should not assume that people on vacation are going to follow standard business hours.
As some compensation for being woken up two days in a row, we asked for a 12:00 pm checkout at the end of the week and management at first kept saying the best they could do was 11:00 am because of high occupancy. They also said that if a “VIP” guest had the room after us it had to be ready by 2:00 pm. They finally agreed to 12:00 pm but give me a break, the resort was deserted when we checked out - maybe 20 cars in the entire complex (it was a large complex). It took us a long time to load up the car and at 1:30 pm the place was still totally deserted. Late September is not a high occupancy time in Orlando (most of the kiddies have gone back to school). If this situation had happened at another mid range hotel chain (i.e. - Marriott, Hyatt, etc.) they would have given us a few free nights as a comp - not nit pick about an hour or two late check out.
Security staff needs to be trained on how to handle a noise complaint. Just because one guest complains doesn't mean it's legitimate. It also does not mean it's a valid reason to disturb your other guests. Security needs to use some common sense. Many people on vacation like to sleep late. Banging on guests doors at 9:00 am is not the way to handle the situation.
Both the security and management staff need better training and they need to develop some common sense. Security needs to learn how to handle complaints discretely and effectively. These things can be resolved without disturbing your other guests (leave a note about the issue – show up at a time when your guests are likely to be awake – check on the situation first before involving other guests). Management needs to learn how to create good will with guests. I know it’s not the manager that woke us up but after they learned of the situation they should have gone out of their way to diffuse the negativity. The 12:00 pm checkout should have been granted without hesitation. Instead, we were given “lines” about high occupancy rates. We were also told that if a “VIP” guest was scheduled to be in that unit then the unit had to be ready by 2:00 pm (hence justification for only an 11:00 am check out). Well, how about the disruption caused to your existing guests? I think being woken up out of a sound sleep 2 mornings in a row on vacation is a little worse then not having the room ready by 2:00 pm for a “VIP” guest. Besides, it can’t possibly take a team more than 45 minutes to get a unit cleaned (most hotel rooms it’s 20 minutes tops). If management had immediately agreed to a 12:00 pm check out then we would have felt a lot less negative about what happened to us. Instead we are now doubly pissed because not only did they wake us but now they don’t even want to make it up to us. NOT a good way to conduct business. . .
Other issues - the grounds are not well maintained. The walkways were littered with love bugs and big puddles. I know it's not the resort's fault that there are bugs and that it rained but no attempt was made to clean up the walkways - they were a mess the whole week we were there. During our first stay we noticed the same problem – it didn’t rain and there weren’t bugs but there was dirt and debris on the walkways and in elevators and it was never cleaned up during our one week stay.
Also, they need better pest control in the units. I know this is Florida (I live in Florida) but I killed a number of roaches in the unit.
We have stayed at this property before and returned because our first stay was pleasant. Based on what happened on this trip (second stay), unless we get a fantastic deal on Skyauction (which is how we booked this stay) we doubt we will return.
This stay did not meet our expectations.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
11  Thank funtravelingwithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 962 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We are very happy. the good news is they have luggage carts, the bad news no ramps from car to sidewalk? not handicap friendly. The rooms are very clean and fully stocked. Washer dryer, kitchen, tub shower. great temp hot tub with outside shower. Beautiful property. and modern rooms. wi-fi works great. Flat screen t.v.'s lots of channels including HBO and show time. Ceiling fans add to the coolness of rooms. ice maker, very firm beds with great linens. Not one bug seen in three days indoors. Yes if you use the fold out couch it would block the room. It's just for my wife and myself so we are not using it. Suggest you get a 2 bedroom if you need more space. We always cook in room, but not this trip. There is a Cracker Barrel almost on site. They have all day breakfast and great food at a value price. lots of food near by. Why cook? we loaded the kitchen with snacks and fluids. I think this is the best place in the area. We have stayed at other high end properties that are not as nice as this. It is set back from the street making it peaceful and quiet. We have not heard any noise from others even though this building is almost full. Plenty of parking. Very safe and secure. Safe in closet and lot's of closet space. Very friendly staff, with all the answers to your questions. Thi

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steve and lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I took the Fam to Disney and stayed in a spacious two bed room and wow it was a beautiful. My condo over looked pool 2 and everything was super clean and looked recently updated except the master shower. The location is good too, close to the parks and a straight shot to Cocoa Beach from there as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrTravel_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very clean, and comfortable stay. Within 15 minutes of the parks, great restaurants, and outlet mall shopping. the pools were clean and fun to swim in. No complaints, and have stayed here many times. Concierge gave us some good recommendations for restaurants, and we had a great couple of days there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatureLover1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We just got back from a stay at the Cypress palms and the place is not far from the Orlando attractions which makes it nice. The property is not to big but well kept with a good staff. They are in the process of doing renovation on the property but we were in the part that wasnt complete as of yet. The room was a bit dated with a full kitchen but still very clean and that didn't effect out trip one bit. We did have one issue with a handle on the faucet but maintance took of the problem asap. The pools are small but we usually come during the down times and that doesnt affect us at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MacLuvBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had orginally reserved a week vacation in a 3 bedroom suite at the Bonnet Creek location upon arrival we were informed that our reservation had been moved to this location. We were extremely disappointed but with three kids in the car for 12+ hours, I was not in a position to argue.This location tried to accomodate us but ended up placing us on the third floor in a much older section of the facility in a strange connected room type. The rooms were clean but extremely dated, lacking attention to detail and the room layout was not great. The beds and linen were not comfortable at all but the kitchen area was well equipped. Internet service was not free so we paid to have connection which was very poor. TV was not even flat panel except in one bedroom!
Kids loved the pool and mini golf. The pool area and the grounds in general needed some attention. The location was good, the sales people were definately pushy! All in all it was an OK stay, we made the best of a bad situation and while it was clean and the staff was nice, it just had a very tired and dated feel to the resort and I do not think I would seek this location out again if traveling to the area with my family.

Room Tip: The three bedroom suites are a studio (with a tub in the center of the room) and a two bedroom conne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HP4L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This resort is very well maintained with an easy on/off for Interstate 4.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit equipped for those with disabilities. It was small, but furnished well for convenience. We stepped into a 1 br deluxe while we were there and it is REALLY nice.

Love the king sized bed in the bedroom. I choose this resort over another Wyndham nearby b/c of the king bed. Lots of pillows of differing textures, so it was easy to find something for our preferences.

It was a nice touch that dishwasher soap, laundry soap, salt/pepper, coffee packets, etc. all included in the unit. I wish there had been tea bags, but I found them at the activity center for free.

We declined to have a sales tour right from the start and were not pressured again. We did ignore the one phone call to the room because everyone we know calls our cell phones.

The free popcorn at the activities center was nice, and the inexpensive ice cream sundaes were tasty.. Lots of toppings to choose from made it fun. We borrowed a couple of books from the library and took a dice game to our room. The staff at the activities center were all friendly and helpful.

The pools are convenient for all the buildings and the hot tubs are truly hot. Great for a dip before sleeping.

We would certainly go back again. We would request a deluxe unit next time for the luxury of it.

Room Tip: There's a BIG size difference between a 1 br and 1 br deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaRita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
2.7 mi away
Blue Heron Beach Resort
Blue Heron Beach Resort
#79 of 340 in Orlando
2,373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
8.6 mi away
StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#149 of 340 in Orlando
512 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quality Suites Lake Buena Vista
5.5 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Cypress Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Cypress Palms

Address: 5324 Fairfield Lake Dr, Orlando, FL 34746-4953 (Formerly Fairfield at Cypress Palms)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Orlando
#31 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#151 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $89 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Cypress Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Cypress Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Cypress Palms Hotel Orlando
Wyndham Hotel Cypress Palms
Wyndham Hotel Orlando
Wyndham Kissimmee
Fairfield Orlando Cypress Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing