We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trip To Remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Harbour Lake
Ranked #16 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Trip To Remember”
Reviewed May 4, 2007

We just returned from our April vacation in Orlando at the Horizons. I have to say that initially I was disappointed because the resort is so small and very close to the road. Our last vacation was at the Marriott Grande Vista and it was so secluded and difinitely more of an upscale property. Horizons lacks the "awe factor" that the Grande Vista emulates. I have to say that I quickly changed my mind though.
My husband describes the resort as having more of a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. After giving the resort a chance I knew he was right. The rooms are very nice and the two queen beds were difinitely a hit for the children. The Staff is very young but competent and friendly. I have two boys who are 10 and 6 and they just loved both the Pirate ship pool and the slide pool. Our room overlooked the pirate ship pool and it gave a tropical setting as well as one of excitement. We set aside days to just stay at the resort and let our boys participate in the activities. They loved the hoola hoop contests, the limbo, the dancing, the kareokee, the scooter races, the music and especially the miniature golf. The bar has great drinks and good food, some very special frozen drinks for the kids. The resort is so entertaining for the children that the adults can relax and enjoy.
As for the interstate 4 noise ,which was mentioned as a problem in other reviews, we never heard it even when we tried to listen. The resort has the ability to still be an oasis and the music, the activities and the splashing water sounds all cover any outside noise. And the hot tubs are the best design I've ever seen, even if they are busy you can still get a quiet corner to relax and enjoy.
My only request would be to add a market place convenient store, I did miss that.
Needless to say this resort is definitely worth a visit, we were all sad to leave it. As I learned first impressions aren't always right, give the resort a try. It just doesn't get any better than this for families. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Activities, Pools
  • Disliked — No Market Place convenient store
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RTJOPfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    445
    106
    28
    21
See reviews for
1,371
112
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda Dunes, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2007

We traded a week at a Hawaii Marriott timeshare for a week here. We learned a valuable lesson - always read the fine print. Instead of booking a suite (which was pictured) we ended up in a "lock-out" room, which is just a basic room - on par with an upscale Best Western. If we had read the fine print we wouldn't have stayed here. The pirate-themed front desk staff wasn't very sympathetic. Arrr.

About the "lock-out" room. It was slightly larger than an average hotel room and had a small screened-in balcony. The theme is tropical, and the walls are painted bright yellow and the drapes are blue and green. The room also boasted a basic kitchenette, featuring a microwave, a coffee maker, a small refrigerator, some dishes, and a bar sink. The mattress on our queen-sized bed was springy, thin and cheap, but at this newish stage in its life it was okay. At one point my husband tried the couch's pull-out bed, but found it to be far worse. We had a smallish (27-30") television and asked the hotel staff for a DVD player, which they eventually supplied. All the countertops were white Formica and the counter in the bathroom was very low. The bathtub was shallow. All the plumbing fixtures were comprised of white plastic. No doubt this is a nod to their main clientele - kids.

Expect to receive an early morning phone call from a very enthusiastic timeshare salesperson if you are using a relative's or friend's timeshare.

Kids, kids, kids! They're everywhere. This hotel is a kid's paradise. There are 2 main pools, one with a nice waterslide, and couple of large hot tubs. There is a pirate ship and some sort of tower that shoots kids with water. They lock up the pools and hot tubs around 10 PM. There is very basic miniature golf ($5 a day) course and a basketball court. I also saw a schedule for kiddy crafts and other activities. There's also a small arcade.

Best of all? There's a bar! The drinks are reasonably priced. You can also order some food there, which is a relief as this complex has no room service.

Frankly, if I had a small kid (and had actually gotten the room I expected), I wouldn't think twice about staying here. But there are much better options if you aren't traveling with young kids.

  • Liked — Location, poolside bar, pool slide, lake dock
  • Disliked — Kids everywhere! Cheap mattress. Nothing luxurious at all.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steamraise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2007

For spring break this year I took my 9 year old niece to the Horizons Vacation Club. We stayed in a studio room which was a good size and nicely appointed. I thought while we were there we would go to a park but my niece would have none of it. She loved the resort, she loved the pools, the activities, she loved everything. It is a great family resort, there is a kid’s night out which my niece loved, they have entertainment around the main pool everyday. The staff was wonderful, the room was nice, the pools were great. I can’t say enough about this place.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank virginiad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2007

Stay was okay. Rooms were nice and grounds were fantastic, but there were way too many shrieking children running frantically around the grounds.

I thought I was at Willy Wonka's Chocolate Factory with kids full of sugar. It was not very relaxing as I was trying to take a few days off from a stressful job.

  • Liked — grounds
  • Disliked — lots of unattended children, people clipping toenails by the pool
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ripcurled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2007

The star of this resort is its staff and its putt putt course. The pool area is nice especially for young children, under 10. The resort has a lot of activities especially if you don't want to visit the theme parks. The rooms are pretty basic, only one sink in the master bath, no mid week maid service or towel service. Bring your own shampoo and conditioner! The hotel is very close to Sea World. We would come back.

  • Liked — Putt Putt Course
  • Disliked — Activites conflicted with touring theme parks and no maid service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2007

We spent 2 nights at Horizons and would love to return. We had a 3 1/2 year old and a 21 month old. The slides on the pirate ship were perfect for our 3 yr. old. The 21 month old could go down with an adult. The pool was a little chilly for the younger one, but fine for the 3 yr. old. One of the bedrooms has a king sized bed and the other has 2 queens. We had a screened in porch which was great for the kids to play. Overall it was just nice to have a place with slides at the pool and a separate bedroom so that when the kids went to bed, we could stay up and watch tv on the big screen tv. We booked this directly from Marriott's website. Be careful that you are definitely booking a a 2 bedroom as it seems they also have rooms more like a typical hotel room (without a kitchen, living room, etc). We joined Marriott Rewards and then searched google for a promo code for a Marriott Rewards rate, which dropped the price from $299/night to $224/night. We had a voicemail in our room to come back in the next year and do the timeshare tour for $399 for 4 nights. If you book a nightly rate like we did, try to do it on days which you will not be at the parks, so you can actually enjoy the resort. I don't know that I would pay the $ to stay here if we were going to be at the parks all day and really only use this for night time sleeping & naps. It seemed most of the scheduled resort activities were for children over 5. We can't wait to return simply for how much fun the pirate ship slides were for our 3 yr. old.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank LizardPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2007

I'll be brief. This was a timeshare trade for us and we were very happy with it. We would stay here again! Huge suite, two bedrooms with full baths (one has a double shower). Clean, nice decor. Full kitchen with everything you need. Huge dining area that seats eight with two more kitchen bar chairs. Huge patio area with full size table and four chairs. Ours (building 15) overlooked the lake. Tons of entertainment for the kids: Pirate pools (one heated), basketball, playground, game area, arcade, and fishing pond. The food was just okay, but International Dr. (close by) has everything. This is a great resort! Close enough to Disney (about 3-5 miles) but not in the chaos. Nice place!

Helpful?
7 Thank AnnArborHillary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Marriott's Grande Vista
#60 of 339 in Orlando
4,033 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 339 in Orlando
1,442 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Floridays Resort
#19 of 339 in Orlando
8,062 reviews
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 339 in Orlando
4,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Harbour Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Harbour Lake

Property: Marriott's Harbour Lake
Address: 7102 Grand Horizons Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32821-7378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Orlando
#125 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Harbour Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 900
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Harbour Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Harbour Lake Hotel Orlando
Marriott Vacation Club Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Harbour Lake
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott
Horizons Marriott Vacation Club Orlando
Horizons Marriott Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing