We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hawthorn Suite, LBV, is a Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista
Ranked #71 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hawthorn Suite, LBV, is a Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

We stayed here for 2 weeks at the start of October and thorougly enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer.
The hotel itself is a nice big hotel, which was pleasantly quiet, but with enough guests to make it not feel like something out of The Shining. The people working behind the reception - Tina (day) and Mikey (night) - were great fun and superbly informative and made our stay even more fun, especially when it came to getting tokens for the games room. Yes, there is a games room - it's small but once you're hooked that's it!
The room we were given had 2 incredibly comfortable Queen size beds, an ensuite bathroom, dining table, 4 chairs, 2 tvs, good sofa and armchair, and a neat kitchen with a HUGE fridge and freezer. The only thing missing was a kettle but Americans aren't big on them so it's a boil in the saucepan for us typical Englishmen with our need for tea in the morning, which took as long as a kettle would.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is usually used by business customers staying for one or two nights but there were other families there too.
The pool is a lovely kidney shape with a jacuzzi next to it and an excellent sun catch for those who are tired from the parks or just want to catch up on their tan.
It is in a quiet area with a good shopping/restaurant park 2 minutes walk away, and with a free shuttle to the Disney Parks you couldn't ask for more. This shuttle only takes you to Epcot where you pick up other buses, all air-conditioned, to other parks. Absolutely wicked and these run every 20 minutes.
The only thing not 100% - the breakfast isn't great, and by the end of the first week I was a bit fed up of eggs, bagels and muffins, but there is a WICKED restaurant called Sizzlers 15 mins walk away with an all-you-can-eat buffet.
If you read bad reviews for this hotel please remember that wherever you go there will be mixed reviews, but I believe that if you have a friendly outlook you will attract the same and as a result we had a problem free stay, and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.
Just wonderful!

  • Liked — The beds, the pool and the staff...
  • Disliked — Breakfast became a little monotonous. But that's it!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank RobnDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    639
    193
    86
    36
See reviews for
1,171
456
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

I worked with Marriott for 20 years and after leaving 4 years ago we started to stay at Embassy Suites. Our family (13 yr old son) typically stays at Hilton and Marriott family hotels and we were pleasantly pleased. We take 3 vacations a year and with the price of Disney we decided to look for a better hotel price. It has been 6 years since visiting Orlando and we knew that much has probably changed. The hotel looked very nice on the outside and the lobby was impressive for being a value hotel. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating to all our needs. The rooms are clean and a good size with a separate living room that includes a kitchen/dining area. The full size frig was a nice change from a dorm size. The pool was small and the walls needed be cleaned better. The plumbing was very loud when the shower is turned on so light sleepers will wake up. The location is right around the corner from the Embassy Suites we stayed at before which is good but it ½ mile from Disney property not the parks. You are about 5 miles from Magic Kingdom and a couple of miles from downtown Disney. You are down the street from Wal-Mart and Universal Studios. The only drawback is that there aren’t many restaurants in the area for walking or short driving.

The breakfast is OK if cold cereal, rotation of mini store donuts-bagels-English muffins-frozen waffles, toast and rotation of hard boiled eggs & pre-fab eggs along with canned fruit and rotation of apples-oranges-bananas, then this would be good for you. I would suggest going out for breakfast if you eat a big meal. I was not expecting much for the price of our room but other value hotels offer better food at breakfast including the airport Hawthorne Suites which we stayed at for 1 night. They offer a manager reception similar to Embassy as they said on Mon - Thurs 5.30 p.m. - 7.30 p.m. The only problem is that they only offer free beer and wine (out of a box) and soda along with chips. On Wednesday they did offer burgers but we didn’t have them since they were not appealing and there was nothing to go with them. Again the airport hotel offers a full bar with limited selection of hard liquor.

We had booked another hotel for 3 nights (Comfort Suites in Kissimmee) and after driving up to that hotel, we decided to call Hawthorne back to see if they had any rooms. The Lake Buena Vista location didn’t have any rooms for that night but they booked us at the airport location and then back to them the following nights. We were extremely pleased with their level of customer service. When it was time to leave we needed to print SWA tickets and they have a room with computers available to print for free. Bottom line, this was a great visit and we will be staying at this hotel in the future and other Hawthorne Suites. We can live without the breakfast or managers reception because we saved about $60 a night and we can buy a lot for that. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Water noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Suitesfor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

My wife and I stayed here one night. We checked in before going to Universal Studios Halloween Horror Nights. The guy at the front desk, Mike, was very friendly. We only booked a standard room, but we got an upgrade for free! The room was great; there was a kitchen, living room, big split bathroom, and a huge bedroom. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept on. So much so that when my wife and I went looking for a new bed we called the hotel to see what kind of bed it was. We were able to get a late checkout, which was great because we didn't get to bed till late. There was free breakfast in the morning. The location was good and the staff gave great directions. All around a great stay.

  • Liked — The bed was GREAT
  • Disliked — The door stuck a little
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhitchco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2008

Just returned from a great holiday in Orlando, our stay at The Hawthorne Suites in LBV was just great. The staff and management are helpfull and friendly, the rooms are clean and well equipped. We had two teenage children with us and they felt very much at home, nice pool, small games room and very laid back friendly approach.
It was located close to disney with a shuttle bus three times daily each way not to expensive for taxis to Downtown Disney at night, approx $9.
Plenty of eating places an shops within walking distance.
Cicis Pizza House $5.99 all you can eat salad,pizza,soup,dessert very good value.
Dennys good variety of food good value and many more steak houses, chinese etc.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Comfy beds
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank axelLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

We just came back from a trip to Disney World, and stayed at the Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, Florida.
We have stayed here ever since it was built, and we found that it is going down hill fast!!!, When we entered the room, we found M&M candy on the floor, the floor in the bathroom was dirty,(dirt bulit up in the corners) the carpets are so dirty that my white socks were black when i removed them that night, the sofa is torn and dirty.
The staff at the front desk are just great, Mike was off, i know if i had gone to him it would have been better.
The happy hour on thu. was a laugh, the beer was flat, and warm. Not much to eat!!!! Morning breakfast had cold hard boiled eggs and sausage.
What is going on at this beautiful hotel???
They need to clean up this place and get it back to my "A" plus rating.

  • Liked — the large rooms.
  • Disliked — needs to be cleaned up.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank traveloldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

Excellent hotel all round. The rooms were smart, clean, well equipped and cool. The beds were sooooo comfortable! Service from reception through to maid service was excellent. Pool area was nice. Felt a safe area to walk around. We were in a party of eight with two cars so I know nothing of the public transport around the hotel. The breakfast and complimentary drinks were very well received. We also liked the hotel's large reception area with comfy sofa's in groups so that we could all meet. The hotel was very well situated for Disney, Sea World and Premium Outlet stores in particular. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Safe deposit boxes in Reception
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2008

just came back from orlando and we stayed here at the hawthorn suites and we found this hotel very good, the pool was just about the right size because most of the time other guest are out of grounds most of the day and that left the pool virtually empty throughout the day,and the jacuzzi was very nice also. the rooms were very spacious with microwave,iron coffee maker,toaster,cooker and a fridge everything you need when you have had a hard day at the parks. the breakfast they suppl in the morning was great it was enough to start your day and fill your stomach's for a long day at the parks. they also have a social hour throughout the week monday to thursday were there is wine and beer on tap from 17:30 to 19:30 and on the wednesday evening they also treat you too either hot dogs or beefburgers,which we found great...the only thing that we had a problem with was the shuttle they provided to the parks was not very good so i wood recommend renting a car,we did after exprienceing the shuttle,but i would say you need your own car in this area because it is nice and quiet and you need the car to get around to restaurants,but their is retaurants just down the road walking distance from the hotel,,,dont go in the carving station it is terrible but that is another story,, but overall we will be coming back here as we loved it,,,the staff were great and very friendly and helpfull and there is a laundry room on level 2 which was also very usefull. what a great place.

  • Liked — the rooms and the breakfast
  • Disliked — the fre shuttle to the parks
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank stemufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Lake Buena Vista
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lake Buena Vista-Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Hampton Inn Orlando/Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista
Address: 8303 Palm Pkwy, Orlando, FL 32836-6438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#82 Family Hotel in Orlando
#100 Business Hotel in Orlando
#105 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest Hawthorn Suites to the Walt Disney World Resort! Just one mile from the entrance to Disney. Executive guest rooms perfect for corporate travelers and One Bedroom suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, separate living and dining room. Tropically landscaped outdoor pool area & jacuzzi. Complimentary scheduled transport to Disney and free hot breakfast. Two hour manager's reception in the evenings Monday-Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Vacatia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Hawthorn Lake Buena Vista
Hawthorn Suites Orlando
Orlando Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing