We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at Hawthorn Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista
Ranked #80 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We vacationed at Disneyworld at Orlando, Florida last week and stayed at the Hawthorn Suites. We stayed in a Suite which had a very nice kitchen area with full size refrigerator, Micro wave, lots of cabinets even a dishwasher. They had a very nice complimentary breakfast each morning with a lot of room to eat. Happy hour was nice also. The hotel also had a nice laundry room located on the 2nd floor with 2 washers and dryers which if your are vacationing a week with small children was a plus. The outside area with the pool and spa were kept clean. The maid service along with everyone else were very courteous and friendly. I definitely stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you so much for your comments! We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us, and that our amenities worked so well for you. We appreciate your recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you back again the next time your travels bring you to Orlando!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,153 - 1,159 of 2,351 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Love this property...the rooms were nice and always so clean. The staff was always very pleasant and friendly. They go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and at ease while you are enjoying your vacation. Will definitely stay here again and will recommend to everyone I know.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rdg919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thanks so much! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your recommendation to others. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to our team, and we all look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Please note, if you do not like long reviews, then this review is not for you- I simply have so many great things to say, a short essay is necessary!
Myself and my husband arrived home on Sunday after staying at the hotel from 15th Feb until 22nd Feb. We had stayed in another hotel in the Lake Buena Vista area for our honeymoon almost three years ago, (Fairfield Inn at the Marriot Village in Lake Buena Vista), and the Hawthorn Suites wins hands down.
So, here are the top 5 things about the hotel:

1. The customer service- absolutely fantastic, you are made to feel welcome from the moment you check in. The management and desk team always greet with a smile, and help in any way they can. They are happy to phone a cab for you, always using the same company (STS travel, who are friendly, great value, and helpful. STS put the dominant taxi company in the LBV area, Mears, to shame). I was particularly touched when I came back to our room one night after a long day at the Disney parks to find a cake for my birthday- my parents had contacted the hotel to see if it could be arranged, and the cake was seriously the nicest cake we have ever tasted, and it was even personalised with my name on it! A big shout out to one of the managers, Luis, who arranged this, and who also recommended us a great Pizza take-out company. He is a serious credit to the hotel. The cleaners also need to be mentioned- you are guaranteed to come home to a freshly made bed each evening, and an array of different towels shaped into flowers and other shapes- a really nice touch. We even came back to find they had loaded up and put the dishwasher on for for us!
2. The theme park shuttle- such a fantastic bonus to staying in this 'Disney's good neighbor' hotel. The shuttles are free for Virgin Holidays customers, and you have three morning pick ups available, the first being at 8.30am. For Disney parks, you are dropped off at the Epcot Transportation centre, and picked up from the same spot in the evening, where you have the option of arranging to be picked up at 6pm, 8pm, or 10.30pm. For the morning shuttle, you do not have to pre-book the day before, as we had to do in the Marriott Village, which was great, as it meant we were able to use the shuttle from our first morning there. It is the same friendly and helpful driver every day of the week, always being greeted with a smile and a 'good morning', made a refreshing change from the experience we have on British buses, I can tell you! We were shocked by the small number of shuttle users who actually tipped the driver- come on people, it's a reliable free service, tipping a dollar each way will not break the bank, and our tips were always greatly appreciated by the driver!
3. The breakfasts- a fair few people have been critical of the breakfasts on trip advisor, and I cannot understand why, they provide everything you could possibly want to fuel yourself for a hectic Disney day ahead of you! My husband and I looked forward to breakfast each morning. We initially planned to do IHOP one morning, but didn't see the point of going with such a good free breakfast on offer. There were staples everyday of cereals, toast, bagels, yoghurt, juice, fruit and really good coffee, and variations of hot choices each day- during our week there we had scrambled egg, egg rounds, donuts, pancakes, sausages, waffles and meat. A delicious start to the day!
4. The hotel rooms- Again, these have been criticised, and it is hard to see how so. They are really spacious, have all the kitchen amenities you could need, beds are incredibly comfortable, and have separate bedrooms from the living room. For people complaining about it being 'dated' with 'old tv's'- what exactly are you doing travelling to Orlando, if you want to spend all day in the hotel room, watching tv??? And it actually made a welcome change being in a hotel without generic decor, as it made you feel more at home!
5. The location- spot on. 2 miles from Downtown Disney, and within a walkable distance to local shops and restaurants, with clear pedestrian paths. It's based a good distance away from main roads, meaning minimal noise, so a guaranteed good night's sleep too!

We have only been back home for 2 days, and we miss it that much, we are looking to rebook again for next year- and yes, we will DEFINITELY be staying at the Hawthorn Suites again.
Thank you to all at the hotel for making it such a brilliant holiday!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vogueidea16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed review, which I'm sure future guests will find very useful. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us, and that you enjoyed so many elements of your stay. It sounds like you had a wonderful birthday, and we are glad that we were able to make it a little more special for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again, and showing you the same great hospitality next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here from 3-17 February as a couple with daughter aged 11 and baby aged 18 months. We have been to Orlando eight times before, staying in villas and hotels, so we knew the location before we arrived. Great for Disney and Universal but also plenty of retaurants and shops close by, even for those without a car.

We were in a room on the fifth floor and we were not disturbed by noise etc. We had two double beds which were very clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was also a good size with a bath and shower.

The bonus is having a separate lounge where we could go with the baby if he woke up early, ie. 5am! We really missed this when we moved to a hotel on St Pete Beach for last three days of holidays, where we just had the one room.

The pool area was nice, although just my daughter used the pool, and games room kept her entertained.

The breakfast was fine for us - toast, bagel, crumpet, fruit etc - just something to set you up for the day.

All in all, we found this a fantastic hotel, we couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: We found rooms of fifth floor to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time towrite a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our fantastic location, and room configuration suited your family's needs so well. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are visiting Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I had no hesitation in going back to the Hawthorn for another 14 day visit it was as I had remembered it, the warm friendly place I had left in 2012, it's not high luxury place and probably does need some updating but the standard of cleanliness and the politeness of the staff was still first class. The rooms are well equipped beds are very comfortable and should you need any further help with your room the staff are only to willing to oblige. The location of the Hawthorn is ideal for the Parks and also the Shopping Outlet's weather you use the hotels shuttle or go by cabs or drive yourself nothing is that far away. If I had any whinge at all with the hotel is that it does not have a bar, it would be nice to have returned from the parks to go and sit down in the lounge with a drink and relax from your tiring day, maybe next time I return they'll may have one, this is not in any criticism of the "the Managers Special" (Mon - Thurs). My last words of thanks goes to housekeepers Brenda and co for looking after us in such a cheerful manner she was always smiling no matter what time of the day. Hawthorn staff Thank You.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us for a second time. We are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations again! We appreciate your feedback, and will be sure to let Brenda and the rest of our team know that you appreciated their efforts. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel was perfect for myself and my family. The staff is among the most polite and friendly I have ever encountered in my travels, and to me, that makes the hotel. I will agree with some of the other reviews that state it is time for this place to be updated; but you can't beat the cleanliness, friendliness, and price. For the deal we got at this location, nobody should be complaining about the rooms or the breakfast offering - It's not gourmet food, but it is ample, filling, and served with many smiles! Keep in mind, this is not a luxury resort, and the price tag reflects that. It is a perfect home base for a family visiting the parks. It is clean, comfortable , and spectacularly located! The rooms have everything you need, plenty of space, and the staff is brilliant. Special thanks to our room cleaner Brenda, and hotel manager Paul. We will absolutely return next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piezo2566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thanks so much for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were very impressed with our helpful staff. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We are a family of 5 and stayed at Hawthorn Suites for 2 weeks in Feb 2014. Out first impression of the suite was that it was 'ok' and that about sums it up in total really! It was all clean, but somehow slightly shabby and old. The thing that struck me as odd in a nice hotel was the polystyrene cups and bowls at breakfast, which made me feel as if I were in a cheap cafe or something, not on our holiday of a lifetime! Also, although our suite can sleep up to 6 people, there were only 4 chairs at the dining table and 4 plates and cups etc - not very helpful when there were 5 of us. The desk staff were mostly friendly and the cleaning and breakfast staff were lovely. The pool area was clean and pretty, although the pool is on the small side. To sum up, the hotel was a good base for us to get to all the parks, but it lacked the feel of luxury we wanted for our special holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
1  Thank mawsjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thanks so much for your feedback, we appreciate your insights. We are glad that you found our hotel comfortable and our staff friendly. We hope that you might consider staying with us again the next time you are visiting this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Hampton Inn Orlando/Lake Buena Vista
The Point Hotel & Suites
#19 of 340 in Orlando
4,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista

Address: 8303 Palm Pkwy, Orlando, FL 32836-6438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#82 Family Hotel in Orlando
#100 Business Hotel in Orlando
#105 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $99 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest Hawthorn Suites to the Walt Disney World Resort! Just one mile from the entrance to Disney. Executive guest rooms perfect for corporate travelers and One Bedroom suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, separate living and dining room. Tropically landscaped outdoor pool area & jacuzzi. Complimentary scheduled transport to Disney and free hot breakfast. Two hour manager's reception in the evenings Monday-Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Vacatia, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Hawthorn Lake Buena Vista
Hawthorn Suites Orlando
Orlando Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing