We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Practical but not luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista
Ranked #77 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Practical but not luxurious”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We are a family of 5 and stayed at Hawthorn Suites for 2 weeks in Feb 2014. Out first impression of the suite was that it was 'ok' and that about sums it up in total really! It was all clean, but somehow slightly shabby and old. The thing that struck me as odd in a nice hotel was the polystyrene cups and bowls at breakfast, which made me feel as if I were in a cheap cafe or something, not on our holiday of a lifetime! Also, although our suite can sleep up to 6 people, there were only 4 chairs at the dining table and 4 plates and cups etc - not very helpful when there were 5 of us. The desk staff were mostly friendly and the cleaning and breakfast staff were lovely. The pool area was clean and pretty, although the pool is on the small side. To sum up, the hotel was a good base for us to get to all the parks, but it lacked the feel of luxury we wanted for our special holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank mawsjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback, we appreciate your insights. We are glad that you found our hotel comfortable and our staff friendly. We hope that you might consider staying with us again the next time you are visiting this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    657
    199
    89
    39
See reviews for
1,207
475
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just came back from a 2 week holiday where we stayed at Hawthorn Suites. The staff were all very nice and helpful especially Luis who was always joking around and very happy even when he had worked all day.

The hotel needs to be updated. It is a bit depressing in some areas like the hallways and games rooms. Some better lighting and art or something in the games rooms might make it feel a bit better rather than bland and sad looking walls.

The free breakfast wasn't very good in my opinion. You get a choice of three 'hot' foods which always consists of egg (usually scrambled), and then every day they change the other two which was either bacon, hash brown, cold ham, sausages, waffles and a couple of other things. They then also have bread and a toaster and either English muffins or bagels. They also have a choice of 3 cereals, yoghurt and fruit. It wasn't the tastiest food I've ever had for breakfast at the hotels I have stayed at (I always go for cheap hotels and to be honest this was probably one of the more expensive hotels I've ever paid for [I'm quite cheap] So I think the food could be better)

It's really strange going to a hotel that doesn't have a bar or shop. Well there is this tiny corner that has a drink machine, some sweets and a couple of frozen items. But we went around some other hotels and they had bread and cereals etc which I really wished they had in our hotel. We went with friends and it was a shame we couldn't just go downstairs and sit at a bar watching tv or something. There are a couple of seats downstairs but just no atmosphere that made us want to go down and chill with a few drinks. We only made it back in time for the social in the evening once as the shuttle bus from the parks are at stupid times.

The pool and jacuzzi were very nice. During the warmer days the pool seems freezing, but when it's cold outside it was actually really nice and warm, even when it was raining. However getting out of the pool and seeing a worker from the hotel just staring at me through the window was not very nice. I quickly wrapped a towel around me to cover up.

The rooms were pretty good! Had everything you needed really and all pretty clean. Beds were comfy and the shower was powerful. Only annoying thing (like a lot of hotels) is that you can hear EVERYTHING people are doing upstairs, and I mean EVERYTHING. So hopefully you don't have a couple "sleeping" in the bedroom above yours like we did ours...

In regards to the shuttle buses to the parks there are 3 times you can return from disney - 6pm, 8pm and 10.30pm. They all pick up from Epcot. That was a bit annoying. After the evening events at the parks (Wishes, Illuminations and Fantasmic!) we had to wait around for the 10.30pm shuttle as all the events meant we couldn't get back to epcot in time for the 6pm or 8pm shuttle. A 9pm or 9.30pm shuttle would have been perfect for most of the events. The latest event was Illuminations at Epcot at 9pm, but because the shuttle picks up from there we had to wait around for ages still. If you want thought, you can get a free disney shuttle to any of the disney hotels and then transfer to another shuttle to get to Downtown Disney which is the closest place to the hotel, and then get a taxi which would cost you between $10 - $18 depending on what the driver felt like at that moment. I would have been much happier if we had a car and saved that extra bit of money to park at the parks rather than waiting around for shuttles or paying for a taxi. It was all just a bit of a hassle, and if you have kids then I feel sorry for you! If you go with Virgin Holidays then you also get a free shuttle service to Universal and Seaworld. But I believe if you are not with Virgin (maybe some other companies also have this deal) then you had to pay $10 per person.

I know the shuttle times have nothing to do with the hotel, but that was a big reason why we booked this hotel as some places you have to pay for the shuttles or taxis to every park. But I think next time we go to Florida I'd be willing to pay extra to have a bit more flexibility with the times we return to the hotel.

There is not actual room service at the hotel that is ran by the hotel staff. However there is a room service menu in the rooms but it does say at the bottom that it is an external company and it is just recommended by the hotel. We ordered it one day and it was pretty terrible. Just walk down the road to one of the restaurants and I'm sure you'll find better food. We tried Chili's which was great, Denny's also pretty good for the price, Olive Garden which has great breadsticks but horrible food, Taco Bell and Mcdonalds. From what I understand these are all standard restaurants and fast food joints in America. But there are a couple of other restaurants that you can try if you've eaten at these chains before.

I understand you get what you pay for, and like I said, I always stay at cheap hotels, but I think it could be a lot better. Luckily we spent hardly any time in the hotel (because of those annoying shuttle times!) otherwise I probably would have found a lot more to write about. But yeah, overall it's pretty average for it's price. Nothing to write home about. Personally wouldn't stay there again, but if I had to I wouldn't be too angry.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room so you can't hear the people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahS_Grif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that our staff members were helpful and that you enjoyed your room. We appreciate your feedback, and we will certainly relay your comments to our management team for review. Thanks again, and we hope that you might consider staying with us again the next time you are visiting this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We just stayed 5 days at the Hawthorn Suites the week before President's Day long weekend. The staff was very friendly and helpful (you're able to buy major theme park tickets at reception and avoid line-ups at the gate). The hotel was conveniently located just off I-4 and within walking distance to many eateries. It is very close (by car) to Downtown Disney, the Disney theme parks, and Sea World. Parking was free. Wi-Fi was free, with strong signals and reasonable speed for work. The complimentary breakfast was also quite reasonable and allowed us to save time in the morning - generally 3 hot items (rotating between eggs, ham, bacon, corn beef, waffles that we saw in 5 days), bagels, toast, cereal, oranges or bananas, yogurt. We went during a slower week and could not comment on crowd levels during high season. Did not use the pool. The hotel is an older property but quite clean, and we were mostly interested in the location and amenities. When we return to Orlando, we're definitely coming back to the Hawthorn Suites.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed yourself, and that our staff and location impressed you. We will be sure to pass on your positive comments! Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We just came back from a two week stay at this hotel. We found the front staff friendly and helpful.


































We just came back from 12 days and we had no issues to note with the Suites. All of the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was adequate a bit repetitive but it was good and considering the number of people that were there every morning there was never a shortage of food. The suites are a bit dated as they still have the old style TV's but the suites are kept very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We went there to golf so if you need info about the Clermont Golf Courses we could recommend a couple of them.

Room Tip: Try and get on the 5th floor - Maybe you won't hear the showers going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dperronmallette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your experience. We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Hawthorn suites are situated in an ideal location in Lake Buena Vista, only a short drive from the Disney Parks and Downtown Disney. If you continue North on Palm Parkway it is only about 15 minutes from Universal. Taking this route misses out Interstate 4 and all the associated traffic issues. Equally if you travel west, join, Hotel Plaza Boulevard which takes you to all the parks and Downtown Disney, once again without the hassle of the Interstate.

On arrival we were checked in very quickly by a very pleasant member of staff and allocated a ground floor suite. The room was very clean but as mentioned in previous comments it is slightly dated decor wise.

Throughout our stay the room was well serviced and all members of staff were very pleasant.

There are several restaurants situated nearby a few of which are within walking distance.

The Hotel has a small pool which is fine for using after a day at the parks. However if you have Disney Tickets Typhoon Lagoon is only a few minutes away by car.

We found the location ideal, with the property very clean and no musty smells.

The provided breakfast was ideal for cereals, toast, muffins etc. They also provided 3 hot items each day which included such things as pancakes, omelet’s and sausage patties. Tea and coffee was also available at any time within the lounge area.

Monday to Thursday they offer complimentary wine and beer within the lounge area which is a nice gesture.

The question I always ask is will I stay again and be willing to recommend it to others? The answer is yes two both.

The rooms could do with some updating and people nowadays do expect HDTV as standard.

One other suggestion would be for the Hotel to provide additional laundry facilities, two washing machines and dryers is not enough for the size of the hotel.

When we return to the Orlando area, we will certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and overlooked the pool area. I would request this rather than ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Officerdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found your suite comfortable and our staff helpful. We appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just back from two weeks staying at the Hawthorn suites, A nice tidy hotel , not to big a place, with some very spacious suites ,with good facilities (there was only the two of us). The all inclusive breakfast was adequate but the small selection on offer was basic and repetitive,(don't expect a Spanish hotel style buffet). The Happy hour free drinks were quite welcome after a long day of theme parks however beer or wine are the only choices, This hotel is most suited to those with their own transport as the free shuttles on offer are at specific leave and return times and on a first come first served basis, so could be a problem in the busy seasons. Louis at the front desk was very friendly and really helpful with where to go and what to do ideas, some of the other staff were there to do what they had to and not much more. We didn't use the pool area as we were out every day but it was used by some people in the evenings and seemed to be kept very clean and tidy. Nothing really to do and nowhere to go in the evenings apart from local restaurants, take aways and a few gift stores . All in all not a bad spot to stay but I feel a car is the best option in this location.

Room Tip: top floor are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your spacious suite, and that had a good stay with us. We will pass your compliments on to Louis, and we all hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed in the hotel and was a very enjoyable stay, the staff and accommodations were excellent. I enjoyed it very much and will definitely stay there again. The rates are very reasonable and the location is very close to all of the Disney resorts and many restaurants.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks so much! We are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable staff and that you enjoyed our staff and fantastic location. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Lake Buena Vista
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lake Buena Vista-Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Hampton Inn Orlando/Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista
Address: 8303 Palm Pkwy, Orlando, FL 32836-6438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#82 Family Hotel in Orlando
#100 Business Hotel in Orlando
#105 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest Hawthorn Suites to the Walt Disney World Resort! Just one mile from the entrance to Disney. Executive guest rooms perfect for corporate travelers and One Bedroom suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, separate living and dining room. Tropically landscaped outdoor pool area & jacuzzi. Complimentary scheduled transport to Disney and free hot breakfast. Two hour manager's reception in the evenings Monday-Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Vacatia, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Hawthorn Lake Buena Vista
Hawthorn Suites Orlando
Orlando Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing