We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista
Ranked #69 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great times!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

First and most important, the staff were GREAT! All the reviews ring true. Luis, the manager at the front desk, was very nice and always accommodated every request or question we had. Rooms were always clean. Breakfast was served hot. -- Location, location, location. The hotel is located about 5 mins from Downtown Disney and maybe 10 mins to Walt Disney World main transportation and ticket center. The hotel is also walking distance to many restaurants. Also very close to necessities such Walgreens pharmacy and Publix grocery store. Great that the hotel is off of the main streets, so not as much traffic and noise. The hotel has free parking, so no worries if you rent a car. -- Rooms: big rooms, full kitchen with large fridge, nice bathroom, separate sink and mirror from shower and toilet which is nice, two tvs, nice couch, and free wi-fi. -- Food and beverages: every morning there is hot breakfast buffet which changes daily. Definitely helps keep costs down and is a good start to the day. In the evenings Monday-Thursday the hotel hosts a beverage and snack period which gives each person two alcoholic drinks, with choices of wine or beer as well as popcorn, nachos, or chips. Also on Wednesdays they serve hotdogs and burgers for free!

Only a couple of negatives that I can think of: no in room safe, but you can use a safe deposit box at the front desk if you need one. Second, the bed we had was soft. We are used to a stiff mattress so our sleep took getting used to.

Other than that our experience was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay at the Hawthorn Suites. You can't beat the price and great staff at this Orlando gem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeasonedSouthTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We’re so glad that you enjoyed our great location, accommodations, and amenities. We’ll be sure to relay your message to Luis and the rest of our staff, along with your suggestions. Thank you for visiting, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    642
    197
    88
    37
See reviews for
1,188
466
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is well placed for easy access to all attractions, The room was clean and cleaned every day, the beds were comfortable...I slept very well. I cannot fault the staff, who were very pleasant and helpful and breakfast was thrown in. (which can save you time and expense) Luis was always pleasant and helpful. would stay again no question.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass your kind words on to our staff, and we hope that you will choose to stay with us the next time you are visiting this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We took our tenth trip to Disney and won't stay anywhere else. The price, location, room amenities, breakfast and wonderful treatment we received from Luis at the front desk are far superior to the other hotels we stayed in during previous trips. We stayed eight nights and paid under $100 / night, inclusive of tax.

The free breakfast was plentiful and the choices were great. The staff was very courteous.

The bed was moderately comfortable and the shower worked well.

The location is perfect, just a short trip to any of the parks and Downtown Disney. Wireless and parking are also complementary.

The pool was very nice and often quiet. There are two washing machines and two dryers on the second floor for the entire hotel to share. $1.75 in quarters per wash and per dry cycle.

We love the fully equipped kitchen and full size refrigerator. There's a Winn Dixie a few blocks drive away behind the hotel.

We won't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Pool view on the fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyoffourNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you won’t consider staying anywhere other than the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lake Buena Vista when visiting Orlando. We appreciate your loyalty, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Excellent location and not surrounded by traffic and crowds, but still super close to everything. Very well kept & clean. I luv the “space” having something akin to a 1-bdrm apts. Being “over” the Parks, really enjoy the solitude by the pool all day as all the tourists are out standing in lines somewhere. And, I actually do grill by the pool…plenty of tables and gazebo. It’s the only place I stay now…probably 3 weeks next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richie_Rich_Senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed our excellent location, cleanliness, and pool area. We strive to provide the most enjoyable experience for all of our guests! Thank you for your loyalty. We value you so much, and can’t wait until your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The 4 things I always consider when writing a review are: location, cleanliness, is the shower hot whenever I want a shower and are the walls to adjoining rooms thick enough so I can't hear my neighbours. This hotel scored top marks on all these aspects. The free breakfast ( a rarity in the US) was perfect and saved us a lot of money. All the parks can be reached easily by car without having to drive on the interstate if you don't want to by travelling up Palm Parkway/Turkey Lake Road which means you miss a lot of traffic if travelling in rush hour. Lots of restaurants close by within a mile or less which you can walk to if you want Hooters, Denny's, Sizzlers, Chilis to name a few, if you want to drive though they all have loads of parking. The Managers reception at the hotel was an added bonus with free wine, beer and snacks (popcorn, pretzels) on weeknights for a couple of hours. Considering this is a 2 1/2 star hotel you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Horace121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are so happy that we exceeded your expectations in location, cleanliness, amenities, and noise control. We’re also glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and convenient location. We sincerely value your thoughts and opinions! Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We recently stayed for 10 nights at this hotel as part of a Virgin package holiday. Our room had a separate dining area/lounge and kitchenette and the bedroom had 2 very comfy queen sized beds. The bathroom had a shallow bath and shower and there was a separate room with washbasin and vanity unit with a good sized mirror and hair dryer which was great for getting ready.
The decor is a little tired, but the room was comfortable and clean and it was useful having a full sized fridge. There is a microwave, dishwasher, 2 hob rings, but no kettle. Cups, plates, wine glasses, cutlery all provided if needed.
One thing which was a bit disappointing was there was no safe in the room and the hotel did not have a spare one to offer us. They said one should come free after a couple of days and took our room number, but no-one ever contacted us to advise one had come available.
The free breakfasts were ok, usually a choice of egg, one other hot savoury item such as sausages, bacon or corn beef hash and then a sweet hot item such as pancakes or French toast along with bread and muffins or bagels to toast and the usual cereals and fruit. Tea and coffee available all day.Was a bit manic one morning when they had a coach party staying and it took a while to get a table, but otherwise it was fine.
We took advantage of the Manager's reception a few times and it was nice to chat with Jordan who was the server for this. You can have 2 glasses of wine or beer and they also have crisps/nibbles which you help yourself to. The wine was surprisingly good!
The free transport to the parks was a real bonus (though only Virgin give you free transport to Disney, Seaworld and Universal - think only Disney was free to other guests and you had to pay $10 for other parks?) Buses were a bit tired, but they arrived on time and for Disney & Universal there was a choice of pick up and return times. You had to book the Seaworld bus 24 hours in advance. Takes about 30 mins to get to Epcot (and you can get free transportation from there to the other Disney parks) but probably 1 hour 10 mins to get to Universal. We'd never done Orlando without a car, but it worked really well - stress free and saved a lot of money on car hire and parking fees. Also a good opportunity to swap tips with fellow travellers.
The hotel is in walking distance from Downtown Disney (about 40 mins) or you can get a Lynx 50 bus for $2 each (exact fare needed) at a bus stop close by.
Plenty of restaurants within walking distance - closest 5/10 mins. Also various restaurants that will deliver or you can order takeaway from. Supermarket selling basics as well as wine/beer etc 5/10 mins away.
Pool area clean and pool water quite warm, but chairs could do with cushions as not very comfortable and free towels to use are tiny.
We had one mishap - the maid put my husband's Swiss army knife in the dishwasher (not very Eco friendly as we had only used 2 glasses, one cup and a couple of spoons!) and the dishwasher was faulty as it did not switch off and the knife was ruined :( We are currently waiting to hear from the Manager about this, though the guy on Reception was concerned, particularly as it was an engraved knife which my husband had had for many years and had sentimental value.
All in all though, we had an enjoyable stay and the hotel was perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: We had 406, which did not have a great view and was quite dark, but to be fair, after a hard day'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EastSussexBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of our resort. We’re glad to hear that you valued our accommodations, manager’s reception, and convenient location to nearby attractions. We are sorry to hear about the small mishap during your stay and will pass it on to the management team. We hope to see the two of you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just returned from our 3rd visit to this hotel and were not disappointed at all, had a WONDERFUL welcome from Luis on our arrival who confirmed we had the same room as previously, as we had asked. We find the location of the hotel really convenient, ALL the staff (especially Luis) are so friendly and helpful, we find the breakfast fine (great scrambled eggs) and saves having to go out to find somewhere to eat and again here the staff work non-stop filling everything up. Free internet worked really well. We are already talking about our next visit and would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SUEANNE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are happy to hear that this was your third visit to our hotel! We greatly appreciate your kind words, and it sounds like you both had a great time once again enjoying our breakfast, accommodations, and staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Lake Buena Vista
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lake Buena Vista-Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Hampton Inn Orlando/Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista
Address: 8303 Palm Pkwy, Orlando, FL 32836-6438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#82 Family Hotel in Orlando
#100 Business Hotel in Orlando
#105 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest Hawthorn Suites to the Walt Disney World Resort! Just one mile from the entrance to Disney. Executive guest rooms perfect for corporate travelers and One Bedroom suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, separate living and dining room. Tropically landscaped outdoor pool area & jacuzzi. Complimentary scheduled transport to Disney and free hot breakfast. Two hour manager's reception in the evenings Monday-Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Hawthorn Lake Buena Vista
Hawthorn Suites Orlando
Orlando Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing