We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the change of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Downtown
Ranked #160 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed September 15, 2012

this hotel was, the fairfeild, then the quality inn, now the commfort inn all in one year, canada drive orlando, all seemed the same so i thought, breakfast had changed more to offer,eg scrambel eggs, boiled eggs, sasusage, more hot food, but then came the down side,i went outside via the pool entrance, there is a sitting area for breakfast and that, signs up no smoking and to my shock i see people smoking stumps everywhere ,then you have spinklers above which clearly dont work otherwise they would have gone off, goes into the pool area lays down then i get this smell smoke, people smoking again, again no ash trays stumps everywhere,there was young kids there running round in bare feet through these stumps which i thought was a disgrace, i complained about this but to be honest it fell on deaf ears, and i wasnt the only one to complain, i contacted virgin to get me moved as i explained there was smoking everywhere, virgin phonedbut was told they allow smoking in the pool area, as to the sitting area they cant always have the staff to check no one is smoking there which to me is a excuse as you can see the area from the reception,virgin were to be honest very unhelpfull ,it took virgin 9 days to offer me a new hotel, the hotel offered me meal vouchers, but i refused,as for virgin i was very shocked to there response, but it is how people say, virgin are only intrested in you if you stay in the disney resort and i found that to be true, not once did i see a virgin rep and yet i paid the full package holiday, and i am a flying club member, so much for the , full, everyone will get the rock star treatment, this hotel now i would not recommend to familes or if you dont smoke,

Room Tip: this hotel is perect really but since the change not good , perfect if you like to smoke as they don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I understand the confusion in the name changes of the hotel. The Fairfield came under new ownership in November of 2011. We were approved to become a Comfort Inn & Suites but the flag was not available at that time so we had to take the Quality Inn & Suites flag temporarily until the Comfort flag became available. We just completed a total renovation of the hotel, all guest rooms and public areas are brand new. I am sorry you had a problem with people smoking outside of the designated areas. We are a non-smoking hotel but there are areas outside that are designated for smoking. We do our best to direct people to the designated areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 818 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here in the last two weeks of August 2012 in a standard double room. It was a very good size room with two very good size double beds which were comfortable. It also had a sitting area with a sofa and a coffee table. The room was a lot bigger than what you would expect in a UK family quad room. Our two boys, aged 9 and 12, shared one of the beds with ease. The hotel was still being refurbished with new mattresses, lights, chairs being delivered and installed continuously. It was not a problem for us as refurbishment work wase carried out on week days when everyone had already left their rooms for wherever they were going to. Everything was neat and tidy by the time we got back to our hotel in the evening. The staff were great. Some simple Spanish words such as "hola" and "gracias" (hello and thank you) will get guests lots of smiles from around. The hotel is located just off International Drive, and therefore, quiter than other hotels on the International Drive itself. Also, International Drive is only a 5-10 minutes walk from Comfort Inn. There's a post office nearby and plenty of restaurants. Chilli's, a tex mex restaurant chain, is nearby, but it's popular and you may have to queue at peak hours. If you're tired of restaurant or fast food, try getting over to Whole Foods supermarket on Turkey Lake Road where you can find delicious hot deli, rotisserie, hot soup, hot pizza as well as a whole host of healthy organic food. You can eat them in your hotel room but just be sure to also get yourself some disposable plates, knives & forks to eat your meal with. You might also want to try Publix supermarkets for other food/drink stuff but they are very much the same as your local JS or Tesco in the UK. Overall, we would stay here again as it was so convenient to get everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Penguin2012A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. Our renovations are now complete and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked several hotels for our stay in Orlando. This hotel is good value for money. Clean, Friendly and good service. Would only book this hotel next time. Recommended with no doubts. The location is perfect for exploring Disney World and all the other theme parks. Continental Breakfast was good value, Basic, but fresh.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charmaine10222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at Comfort Inn and suites in August 2012 for 10 nights we previously stayed at this hotel in 2009 when it was Fairfield Inn & Suites.
We had a standard room on the third floor overlooking the pool on arrival the room was very clean, comfortable and pleasant. The rooms are a good size with plenty of storage space there is also an iron /ironing board and hairdryer. 
Our room could sometimes be a little noisy at night due to people using the pool but this wasn't a problem because it went quiet as soon as the pool closed. 
The breakfast offered each day is very good value and includes hot and cold food including home made waffles, bread, toast, cereals etc...on one occasion we had breakfast there was even scrambled eggs and flat sausage which was very nice. 
Although it can get very busy at breakfast we always found a table either inside or out. 
The pool area is clean and pleasant and there is a lovely hot whirlpool there are pool towels available to use at the pool . 
The pool was only used by a few people during our stay on the couple of times we visited so there was always plenty of sun loungers available. 
The location of the hotel is great just off International Drive on Canada Avenue so its a lot quieter which we prefer but also in a good location if you don't have a car. 
The hotel does transfers to all the theme parks we didn't used them on this occasion because we had a car but have used them previously.
Staff at the desk and in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. 
The hotel was obviously being renovated during our stay we saw them deliver new fridges & they put in new drinks machines during our stay. 
The hotel is a Universal Studios partner hotel and we were given a Universal discount card which saved us money when purchasing gifts in the parks. 
Our only problems were .... The maid service was ok but a bit hit and miss with leaving us clean towels one day we were left just one clean towel for 3 of us! And one morning we also reported our toilet wasn't flushing properly they asked if we was going out & we informed them we would be out all day they said they would sent someone to have a look whilst we were out. On our return it still didn't flush, we were surprised the maid hadn't noticed whilst cleaning ..... We again reported it to reception and they said they had no record of our complaint and it would be now be the next day before they could do anything needless to say it never got sorted prior to us leaving although these couple of things were a bit disappointing it wasn't a problem and did not spoil our stay. 
This hotel is very good value for a bed and breakfast, good location hotel it's clean, nice and provides safe free parking. 
Do not be put off by the name /owner change we stayed previously when it was Marriott Fairfield Inn & Suites and didn't notice a difference.
We would definitely stay here again and would / have recommended it to people. 

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AndrewandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We paid a college visit special rate, which with taxes was just over $100 with taxes. This included breakfast for three people. The breakfast had egg disks, cornbeef hash, cerials, muffins, bagels, coffee, milk, and juice. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

When we booked it was the fairfield inn and suites and the name has changed twice since.We stayed here for 21 nights at the end of July/start of aug, as part of a virgin package and the hotel was a disappointment from the very start. We stayed in one of the recently refurbished suites yet the sofa and chair were stained and looked very dirty, neither the fridge or microwave in our room worked for the duration of our stay ( despite numerous complaints to reception). The breakfast supplied was very limited not very inspiring and the breakfast room was constantly busy and hard to find a table. On arrival the pool area was out of action due to a fault and it took approx 4 days for it to be repaired leaving nowhere to cool in the blazing Florida heat. The staff on site were always very helpful and friendly but this doesn't cover up the fact this a budget hotel and you do get what you pay for, one of the few plus points was the location, central to everything but without the noise of being on international drive.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CandHBlackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am very sorry that it was not satisfactory. During the time you were with us we were under renovation. The room that you were assigned did have the new bedding but we had not received delivery of the chairs and sofa beds so they were not new. Our renovations are now complete. All guest rooms and all public areas are brand new. Again we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during our renovations and hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our new hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our room was not newly refurbished but was still a well presented but dated room This showed in the furniture which was worn through. The staff did not replace the tea and coffee tray contents on a daily basisand the old fridge had a block of ice in it by the time we left. The tap on the bath was constantly leaking and as the rooms were serviced everyday, it seemed pointless to report anything as they were obviously waiting till they refurbished our floor. There were light shades missing off lights in the corridor and a musty smell trhough out the second floor.he hotel was recommended by Virgin Holidays but there wasn't any sign of the partnership with Virgin Holidays.

However, we selected this hotel as a base for our Orlando holiday and spent more time out of the hotel than in it. The room was confortable as was the bed which was made every day.

We also witnessed thewell as the large coach deliveries of customers.

Parking was OK during the day when everyone was out, but difficult for the first week due to a l.ocal lorry company parking their full size articulated trailers across the parking bays. This stopped in the second week.

The food was not brilliant but we went out most days for all our meals. The hotel is a partner hotel for the Fish Bones Restaurant which was a major bonus. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and relatives and the refurbishment will enhance the venue as a holiday hotel in the future

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#120 of 340 in Orlando
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Orlando Near Universal Blv / International Dr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Address: 2416 N Orange Ave, Orlando, FL 32804-5513
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Orlando
#83 Family Hotel in Orlando
#104 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $140 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Downtown hotel in Orlando, FL is just a mile north of downtown but just across the street from Florida Hospital and within minutes of the Amway Arena and the Expo Center. Our smoke-free Orlando hotel is a short distance from Disney World and attractions like: Florida Citrus Bowl Stadium MGM Studios Loch Haven Park Epcot Center Magic Kingdom Park We’re a short drive away from both the Orlando International Airport and the Orlando Sanford International Airport. Business travelers will appreciate our meeting room and boardroom, which can accommodate up to 37 guests. At our hotel in Orlando, you can take advantage of such amenities as: Free WiFi Fitness center Outdoor heated pool Free weekday newspaper Guest laundry Get going with a great breakfast. Start your trip to Orlando with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. All guest rooms offer coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, microwaves and refrigerators. Keep your electronic devices charged with the recharge device including AC and USB outlets provided in all guest rooms. The Comfort Suites Downtown hotel in Orlando, FL is the perfect hotel for both business and leisure travelers. Book today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando International Drive Hotel Orlando
Fairfield Inn And Suites Orlando International Drive
Fairfield Inn Orlando
Fairfield Orlando
Orlando Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing