We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Ranked #121 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My cousin and I stayed at this hotel for two nights, both of which were horrible. Day #1: The young lady at check in was extremely nice and helpful. Our room wasn’t ready when we arrived at the hotel and she assured us we would receive a call from her when it was available. We considered grabbing lunch at the bar, but prices were ridiculous. We were directed to a “café” down the block with equally high prices. About an hour later we were able to go to our room. The room was on the 6th floor and was fairly decent. Everything worked and the room was clean. However, we heard everything going on in the rooms next to ours, from other guests screaming at each other to the toilets flushing and the showers running. Most rooms open towards the atrium so you get that noise as well. The noise happened all night. We left the “do not disturb” sign on the door to keep the cleaning staff out so we could sleep. Day #2- went down for breakfast which was mediocre, at best. Breakfast was served between 730 and 1030 am. We went down at 9am. They were out of yogurt and cantaloupe, pancakes and waffles. Additional items on the menu included runny eggs, soggy bacon soaked in grease, and fat, undercooked sausage. The juice was from a machine and tasted like sewer water. And good luck finding utensils, they seemed to run out quickly. After that we headed out for the day. When we returned at 1130pm, we noticed vomit seeping across the hall from under a door. While getting ready for bed (as we had to travel home the next morning) our toilet overflowed and flooded the bathroom. We called the front desk, no one responded for 20 minutes. We called back. This time we were informed that maintenance was gone and we would be moved to another room. WHAT KIND OF HOTEL DOES NOT HAVE AN EMERGENCY MAINTENANCE EMPLOYEE? At this point it was 1am. We packed our things and made our way to the new room. Vomit was still seeping from under the other door even after being pointed out to the “manager.” I assume there weren’t any other rooms available as were we placed in a handicap accessible suite. Everything about this room was disgusting. The furniture was dirty, the walls were dirty. To make matters worse, the sheets on the bed were dirty and stained with dried blood. It was also on the “road” side, so we heard traffic all night. Day #3 – we go to breakfast, this time they have waffles! However along with the previous mentioned nasty food, the waffles were hard as rocks. They ran out of yogurt, orange juice, coffee creamer and bagels. After breakfast we checked out and made our complaint. The employee tried to offer us a free night. Really, a free night? We don’t live anywhere near Orlando and have no desire to ever stay there again. They did refund for the cost of the room and apologized. However, it was robotic and you could tell they really didn’t care.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence O, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

I sincerely apologize for your experience and appreciate your feedback. My number one priority is the comfort and safety of our guests. Please contact me directly at so I can speak directly with you about this matter.

Kind regards,

Lawrence J. Olive
lawrence.olive@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

825 - 831 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for its location ,, walking distance to the amway center. The staff was very nice and helpful. This is a very nice hotel, very clean and service was great,, The bar ,,the breakfast,, the valet parking,, and the front desk help was great.. Nick your the bomb.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence O, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

On behalf of the Embassy Suites Orlando Downtown, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your feedback that you indicated helps us in our commitment to service excellence – to every guest on every stay.

We understand the significance your comments will make to other potential guests. Thank you again, for your comments. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Regards,

Lawrence J. Olive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and i stayed 5 nights at the embassy suites downtown before his work conferenc. We had some shopping bags taken/thrown away by the cleaning staff that still had our purchases in them and all our recipts, and they were not placed near the trash. When we spoke to hotel management about it they took no responsibility and said they use and outside TEMPS FOR CLEANING STAFF and could not locate the lady that had cleaned our room as she was just a temp and have gone on to another job! The credited us $100 on out final bill to make up for our missing shopping, but would not recommend staying here, but if you do, do not leave anything out at the risk of it being taken, there are no in-room safes. Aside from this security issue, the location is good for downtown (although downtown seems to be very quiet...) and the managers reception from 5:30-7:30 was nice for drinks/snacks, breakfast was very good, bartenders were very good.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, it can be noisey on the lower floors due to the atrium arrangement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence O, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and value your feedback. I'm terribly sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasent overall experience as it relates to housekeeping and a lost and found item. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss this matter further. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you as our guest in the future.

Kind regards,

Lawrence Olive
lawrence.olive@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I gave this a "very good" based on location, breakfast, happy hour, and sleep quality.

My trip got paid for by the company I work for, so I didn't mind anything monetary related when it came to staying at this hotel.

The breakfast was consistently good. There is a good variety of food - that remains consistent throughout the week. The happy hour was consistently good. They had good beer on tap, veggie platter and other finger foods. The restaurant looked good and was well priced. The rooms were big and well appointed. The gym looked well laid out. The pool is outside and in the sun (southern side of the building). Despite what other information says, the internet is FREE. Make sure you ask for the internet code at the desk if they didn't give it to you at check in.

I ended up walking to Publix Supermarket a block away for dinner every night. This hotel is also about five short blocks away from a good bar district. Lake Eola is a block away, and relatively busy with people working out or walking during the day. There are also a lot of good looking restaurants in the vicinity.

I saw a couple families there with children. The rooms are big enough for a small family. Food items at breakfast are suitable for picky eaters. There is a movie theater a couple blocks away to the west.

This hotel would have received an "excellent" review if: Room for improvement on a couple items. Pay attention to wear and tear - in the rooms and in common places. Schedule rooms not to be booked - and have a monthly maintenance schedule. Have a check off list. Clean the rugs in common spaces often. The manager should take a managers stroll every morning (prior to 6:30 AM) to check for inconsistencies. Reevaluate your valet cost ($21) - this is Orlando (Are all of your rooms booked every night? This might be driving potential customers away).

Room Tip: Two Items: 1) The middle of the eastern side of the building has a dumpster - with a relatively n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence O, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. Our team strives for excellence. I have shared your feedback with our team as your review is valuable as it allows us the opportunity to enhance our services for future guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you as our guest the next time your travels bring you to the Downtown Orlando area.

Regards,

Lawrence J. Olive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Not typical of a Hilton Hotel Experience!I was so completely shocked, I stay in Hilton Garden Inns, Hampton Inns and Doubletrees regularly. This hotel was not well run, the only bright spot was the VALET...I cannot believe that I was charged at the level I was charged for this room...trash sat for 24 hours and it was replaced with VOMIT that sat there for more than 24 hours!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! After we waited for more than hour for a blanket and pillows the maid made me look in closets and drawers to prove that we really needed them...REALLY??? Well, guess what, there weren't extras there so guess what we got to use the stained duvet and the holey blanket she brought us.

AWFUL

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texslt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence O, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us during your travels to the Downtown Orlando area and we appreciate your feedback. I apologize for the shortcomings during your visit. I assure you that this is not indicative to our hotel or brand. I have shared your concerns and feedback with our team for further review and corrective action. Again, we appreciate the feedback and would love to hear any additional comments or suggestions that would make your experience more comfortable. Please feel free to send us a note and we look forward to hearing from you.

Lawrence J. Olive
lawrence.olive@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for two nights, prior to going on a cruise. We really enjoyed the location, we were within walking distance of several restaurants, bars, convenient stores, Hertz Rent-a-car and a shopping district.

Upon check-in, the valet and front desk were very helpful and freindly. The rooms were clean and well appointed and the housekeepers were very freindly. We enjoyed the Manager's reception for both nights and enjoyed the complimentary beverages and snacks. The snacks were fairly light compared to other Manager's Receptions I've experienced at similar hotels, but still great for a free reception. The snacks included hummus, pita chips and veggie chips one night and pretzels and a veggie tray the second night. The highlight of our our stay was the complmentary made to order breakfast. The breakfast consisted of made to order omeletes or eggs any way, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, gravy, hash browns, fresh fruit and all of the standard continental type breakfast items.

The only downside to our stay was the elevator situation. On our first night one of the two elevators was out of service, the following night this elevator was still out of service. The wait for the elevators was extremely long during the evening and breakfast hours. Other than that, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence O, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and value your feedback. I'm terribly sorry to hear about your experience with elevators being slower than desired. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed all other aspects of our hotel! We look forward to serving you as our guest in the future.

Kind regards,

Lawrence Olive
lawrence.olive@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The location is perfect, the surroundings are beautiful but the overall hotel experience is little bit bellow the usual Embassy Suites' standards. Everything is just a notch below the standards (including the elevators.)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mozo4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence O, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. Our team strives for excellence. I have shared your feedback with our team as your review is valuable as it allows us the opportunity to enhance our services for future guests.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you as our guest the next time your travels bring you to the Downtown Orlando area.

Regards,

Lawrence J. Olive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#113 of 342 in Orlando
465 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Bohemian Hotel Orlando, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eo Inn
#229 of 342 in Orlando
200 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Address: 191 E Pine St, Orlando, FL 32801-2736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in Orlando
#155 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $197 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando
Orlando Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing