We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Short trip Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando
Ranked #195 of 334 Hotels in Orlando
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Short trip Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Quaint english looking Hotel, well located on Universal Boulevard.Shuttle bus services from the next door Hotels to IAAPA convention center, which was my sole purpose.
Completely self service, no nonsense!
Help yourself, no bell boy pick up your luggage and move.
Breakfast not too wholesome.No cheese, is a big handicap for vegetarians.No option actually apart from bread toast and maple syrup waffles for vegetarians.
Rooms though are good, clean well maintained, LCD, room view, on second floor not bad
Price of course reasonable.
So if your looking for a short quick stay over and self service this is it!

Room Tip: 2nd floor, 223 room view was ok .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    307
    173
    75
    61
See reviews for
435
183
29
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

good enough till now.clean and quiet small convenient store 1st floor. surprised room does not have refrigerator and sleeper though.
I have not tried their popular breakfast yet. now expecting it and I am gonna write a review again.
generally very decent .

I piked up this place for biz trip to cut the budget. I might be choosing more family style hotel if i was coming for private.



Helpful?
Thank 유우잔
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The only reason this rating is average rather than poor is because the stay wasn't expensive. We were visiting family in the area for Thanksgiving. We chose this hotel because we are members of Club Carlson and are trying to get points for a future stay. One good thing- we were upgraded to a king suite. Bad things- long list. The room was well cleaned by housekeeping, but shabby in its look. Stains on carpet and furniture. If you opened the bathroom door and bedroom door at the same time, they collided. Breakfast-- very crowded; eggs fake, cut up fruit not edible. There was a waffle machine, but only one, really needed two for the crowd. Tiny bit of coffee spilled on the floor, yellow sign saying "caution wet" placed over it in the middle of the room for the entire breakfast time when all someone needed to do was wipe it with a cloth. Second day at breakfast, different spot, same thing. I was tempted to clean it myself but didn't. We were told at checkin that breakfast was 'til 10 am. It was on Thurdsay, but on Friday it was 9:30. The breakfast room was full at 9:20 and an employee announced " no more eggs, breakfast is over in 10 minutes". People scrambled for the little food left. Our room was not cleaned during our stay. We did have the do not disturb sign on for a bit, but not the whole day. This is my longest review ever, I guess because the hotel stay put a bit of a damper on our holiday. I sure hope our next Carlson hotel is better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

stayed here for 8 nights got deal for less than 220 euro ,couldnt be beat for the price, large clean room, tv-fridge-microwave-wifi in rooms- 3 pools-mini golf-small gym. buffet breakfast -pastries-fruit-yogurt-hard boiled eggs- 3 cerals- 3 juices-2 hot items bacon,sausages egg etc.- waffle makers-toast-..free tea and coffee all day in hallway. i stayed in 3 hotels during my trip and this was by far the best. giving it 5 stars as for the cost was well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paragould, Arkansas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

For an affordable stay in Orlando near Universal Studios it's hard to beat this Country Inn. With their daily shuttle, the fun of Universal is only 20 minutes away. While it's not a luxury hotel, Country Inn does not come with a luxury hotel price. For a hotel in the under $100 per night range, this hotel has it all. The breakfast is fairly standard for an affordable hotel but it does fill you up. Overall Kelly Cowan (local manager) has done a great job in offering a clean hotel room in a safe area with all the basic needs fulfilled. Thanks Kelly for all your hard work!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArkansasMinister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Be Our Guest breakfast which is served daily. At Country Inn & Suites, Orlando Univesal we always try to exceed our guest expectations. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is awesome. It's close to many attractions and restaurants and in a quiet street at the same time.

The room is OK, not a luxury hotel but it's clean (Except for the carpet where I walked with wearing sox and it became black like if I was walking on the street).
The beds are good and the internet works.
There is a concierge service that may help you to choose the Orlando attractions.

I had only one problem at this hotel. My TV never worked. I asked the recepctionist to send someone to fix it then in the next day about 7:40am one guy from the cable tv arrived in my room, everybody was sleeping and I didn't want to wake everybody to fix it, he said he would come back later but never shown up. Asked the reception twice after that and, no success.

The breakfast is really crowded. It's hard to get a table and when you get it, it will probably be dirty.
It's better to grab something from the restaurant and take it to your room.

Well, as there are a lot of more stuff to do in Orlando than watching TV I recommend this hotel.

A tip: At night try to arrive early, if you arrive after 11pm you will probably have to find another place to park than the parking lot. Probably it will be full with a lot of cars parked in places they shouldn't park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmaxow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay and the challenges you had with your television. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. It is always our goal at Country Inn & Suites, Orlando, Universal to exceed all of our guests expectations. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I liked the location, the rooms, the service, the lobby and the free breakfast.
My brother also enjoyed ordering room service for supper on the last night.

However, the shuttle schedule was not great leaving once in the morning and once at night, so we had long days because of it. On the last day we walked so we could leave around noon and took the shuttle back which was a better arrangement.

Overall very good !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and was able to take advantage of our free hot breakfast that is served daily. We look forward to your next stay at Country Inn & Suites, Orlando Universal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn International
#119 of 334 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando
Address: 7701 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8371
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 334 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a family vacation to Florida or a professional business trip, the Country Inn & Suites Orlando hotel is a great place to stay. Our Orlando hotel near Walt Disney World(R) Resort, Universal Studios(R) and Sea World(R) theme parks offers a convenient, scheduled shuttle for guests, to ensure your trip is hassle free. We have Orlando hotel rooms and suites for every occasion, and offer a complimentary hot, continental breakfast, outdoor pool, boardroom, Fitness Center and more. With all the perks available at the Country Inn & Suites Orlando hotel, there's no better place to stay during your Florida vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Country Inn And Suites Orlando Universal
Country Inn International Drive
Country Inn Orlando
Orlando Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing