We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Can't beat this bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7701 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #196 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Paragould, Arkansas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Can't beat this bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

For an affordable stay in Orlando near Universal Studios it's hard to beat this Country Inn. With their daily shuttle, the fun of Universal is only 20 minutes away. While it's not a luxury hotel, Country Inn does not come with a luxury hotel price. For a hotel in the under $100 per night range, this hotel has it all. The breakfast is fairly standard for an affordable hotel but it does fill you up. Overall Kelly Cowan (local manager) has done a great job in offering a clean hotel room in a safe area with all the basic needs fulfilled. Thanks Kelly for all your hard work!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArkansasMinister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Be Our Guest breakfast which is served daily. At Country Inn & Suites, Orlando Univesal we always try to exceed our guest expectations. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    295
    165
    74
    61
See reviews for
419
176
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is awesome. It's close to many attractions and restaurants and in a quiet street at the same time.

The room is OK, not a luxury hotel but it's clean (Except for the carpet where I walked with wearing sox and it became black like if I was walking on the street).
The beds are good and the internet works.
There is a concierge service that may help you to choose the Orlando attractions.

I had only one problem at this hotel. My TV never worked. I asked the recepctionist to send someone to fix it then in the next day about 7:40am one guy from the cable tv arrived in my room, everybody was sleeping and I didn't want to wake everybody to fix it, he said he would come back later but never shown up. Asked the reception twice after that and, no success.

The breakfast is really crowded. It's hard to get a table and when you get it, it will probably be dirty.
It's better to grab something from the restaurant and take it to your room.

Well, as there are a lot of more stuff to do in Orlando than watching TV I recommend this hotel.

A tip: At night try to arrive early, if you arrive after 11pm you will probably have to find another place to park than the parking lot. Probably it will be full with a lot of cars parked in places they shouldn't park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmaxow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay and the challenges you had with your television. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. It is always our goal at Country Inn & Suites, Orlando, Universal to exceed all of our guests expectations. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I liked the location, the rooms, the service, the lobby and the free breakfast.
My brother also enjoyed ordering room service for supper on the last night.

However, the shuttle schedule was not great leaving once in the morning and once at night, so we had long days because of it. On the last day we walked so we could leave around noon and took the shuttle back which was a better arrangement.

Overall very good !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and was able to take advantage of our free hot breakfast that is served daily. We look forward to your next stay at Country Inn & Suites, Orlando Universal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Over the course of a week, I stayed in two different rooms (two separate bookings). To keep it simple here are the reasons to stay here:

1. Location: ridiculously close to Universal, Sea World, Wet & Wild, etc. Also, the hotel is on a quiet side street. Restaurants, supermarkets, banks, and gas stations are everywhere.
2. Staff is friendly, pleasant, and helpful with everything
3. Beds are comfortable and linens were clean
4. Hot breakfast selections are good. If you can get to the breakfast area very early, you can avoid the crowds that are there through the morning.
5. For Club Carlson members: free snack-filled gift bag and room upgrade

I would stay here again if I was traveling to Orlando in early November.

Lastly, if you're reading through several reviews, I would dismiss the review by "SteveEasternCanada." It would seem that he was expecting this hotel to be of four or five star quality. For this reason, his review is not really fair for this Country Inn & Suites.

Room Tip: Rooms you may want to avoid: #122 because it is next to the elevators that everyone uses and across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your welcome amenity and the full hot breakfast. Our staff works hard to ensure that each guest has a positive experience and wants to return to visit us again. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Hotel staff is friendly. Rooms are spacious and clean. I was upgraded without asking at check in. Full hot breakfast in the morning. Located close to Universal Orlando, a short cab ride away. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and got your day started off right with our full Be Our Guest Breakfast in the mornings. At Country Inn & Suites, Orlando Universal we strive to meet and exceed every guest expectations. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stay here frequently when we visit this area. Great location but most importantly always seems to be quiet and very clean. I also love the fact they seem to offer FL residents rates more than other hotels in the area. Also, if the rate drops from the time you book until when you check in they honor the lower rate. Staff was very welcoming and aimed to please. Sorry I cant remember the employees we dealt with because I like to give people credit when credit is due. Breakfast decent and good amount of tables to accommodate plenty of people. Close to I-Drive to where there are plenty of restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper as I am request top floor, away from elevators and a room not facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vs54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that our staff was able to exceed your expectations and accommodate your requests. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

First let me say that the booking department was great. I had several wants and they were right there and supplied them. However, the hotel itself was not desirable.

Yes they had a free breakfast, but the eggs were totally fake. you know one day it was all mixed together and was a typical egg beaters product. the next day they poured egg white in a circle and then poured egg yellow in the middle. Really was a bad experience. Eggs are goos and cheap. Why give us something so bad as this is a mystery.

They served Waffals but the machines were, my guess, not up to the right temperature, so they came out under cooked and rubbery. No choice but to take it this way since the timer goes off and annoys the whole area. another failure.

The unit did have a fridge and microwave, but when I opened the microwave, the stink filled the unit and we had to open the windows to air the place out. the microwave was also missing the round plate, so I am guessing it had not been opened in a long time.

Speaking of stink, hotel owners should know to cycle the heat in the units. We had a cold night and when the heat came on, you had that never been used in a year smell coming out of the system. It was gone after 15 minutes, but still, fail.

Other then that, the location was great for Universal, the beds were fine. One day, the breakfast was late starting but the staff apologized for that with no complaint from us, nice touch.

Staff 100% location 100% hotel itself, .... Stay somewhere else. It is your trip and you deserve better.

For the staff that read this, I did not report any of this during my stay. All items are correctable, all were preventable, but complaining at the time would have served no purpose but grief on my part.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveEasternCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience during your stay. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. We take every step to make sure that all guests are satisfied when they stay with us. At Country Inn & Suites, Orlando, Universal, we work to ensure that all of our guests have a pleasant experience and take all comments seriously to continue to improve our service and product. We hope you will consider us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Orlando International Drive
0.2 mi away
StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn International
Comfort Inn International
#117 of 338 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN International Drive - Orlando
1.8 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#124 of 338 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando
Address: 7701 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a family vacation to Florida or a professional business trip, the Country Inn & Suites Orlando hotel is a great place to stay. Our Orlando hotel near Walt Disney World(R) Resort, Universal Studios(R) and Sea World(R) theme parks offers a convenient, scheduled shuttle for guests, to ensure your trip is hassle free. We have Orlando hotel rooms and suites for every occasion, and offer a complimentary hot, continental breakfast, outdoor pool, boardroom, Fitness Center and more. With all the perks available at the Country Inn & Suites Orlando hotel, there's no better place to stay during your Florida vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Carlson and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Orlando Universal
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Country Inn International Drive
Country Inn Orlando
Orlando Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing