We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando
Ranked #230 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and it was 3 nights too many. We had to wait for someone to appear at the front desk to check us in. We kept our shoes on in the room, because the carpet appeared dirty. Each night, we had someone knock on our door and leave a pizza flyer. There ended up being hundreds of flyers spread out on the floor in the hallway. We complained to the night manager who said that he didn't know how the person was getting into the hotel (???????), so there wasn't much that he could do. I'd sleep in my car before staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. We again apologize for your inconvenience and want you to know that you comments have been heard and taken seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    354
    213
    105
    95
See reviews for
536
218
37
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Originally had a reservation for 4 nights.First problem encountered,the Duvet on our bed was stained and dirty,called desk requested a new one,was told they had no extra they would bring blankets,which they did,could have just as easily retrieved a Duvet from an unoccupied room.
Later that evening at shower time discovered no hot water,called the desk they said they would have maintenence check,hour later still no hot water, no follow up from customer service,this was the last contact from the desk,never followed up,never had hot water.I cancelled the remainder of my reservation and later the next morning a nice gentleman in management with the hotel came by the room and apologized,this was a good move on his part and with additional training of the staff in resolving customer issues they will have a much better property.

Room Tip: Before staying at any hotel in Orlando area check the reviews,generally The marriott properties in O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanporter41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We were able to locate the problem with the hot water and have replaced a hot water heater in the building since your stay and have had no further issues. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

First of all I should mark that we stayed at this hotel on a employee-rate so I can't say anything about the value for money. However, seen from a more objective viewpoint the hotel was a let down. Rooms we wore down and our shower didn't work throughout the whole stay. Even if we told the night manager the first night, no one ever showed to fix it, so we had to borrow the shower from our friend in a connecting room. Rooms seems like its totally lacking any form of sound isolation and our door looked like someone had tried to break it open. Safe did not work and the general service was not good. Breakfast was terrible, and they stopped refilling 15 minutes before it ended.

There are som positives as well as the location was great, free parking, and the woman working with selling tickets to the attractions in the lobby was nice. However in general this hotel really needs to get their act together.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Thank you again for your time in reviewing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I visited Orlando along with the family, and we were allotted room with ease without much trouble at the front desk. The rooms were clean, however not the cleanest. We reserved the non smoking room, and wash rooms were spot clean, which is the most essential criteria for me to judge a hotel. The food was decent, however menu could have been better with wider food options. The staff was polite and very helpful, they did not miss an opportunity to extend hospitality and guided us around with all the queries that we had. We visited the place for the first time, and surely enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stay at many Country Inn & Suites. This met our expectations in a good way. We reserve rooms with 2 queen beds, non-smoking, and when we get there, they have the right rooms waiting for us, all the time. Free breakfast in the morning is nice. This hotel's breakfast was a bit on the thin side; hot and cold items, but the selection was not huge - it was however just fine and the dining area was clean.

Room Tip: This property is not right on the freeway, so highway noise was not an issue. We were on the 5th of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHillmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My son and I stayed here for 5 days while visiting Universal Studios. The front desk had good service and had no problem checking in or out. The rooms were cleaned but the carpet looks like it could be steam cleaned once in a while. My white socks were dirty after walking in them. The breakfast was good. I was sure to come down and eat early as i had read the other reviews before visiting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkw831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a little over two weeks in mid March. Upon check-in we were offered a free upgrade for the duration of our stay to a one bedroom suite. Check-in staff and staff on the front desk were polite and always happy to help with our requests.
The location of the hotel is ideal for accessing the theme parks and for wet and wild. We had the use of a rented car therefore can't comment on the shuttle service the hotel offered. The hotels car park gets full and if you return late you may have difficulty finding a spot if the hotel is full. The time we spent at the hotel it was completely sold out, so I believe this is a busy hotel, there also seemed to be a lot of tour buses come in during our stay.
The suite had ample room with flat screen T.V's in the lounge area and the bedroom. We were on the fourth floor near the end of a corridor facing the car park and heard no noise at all, and I am a very light sleeper.
The cleanliness of the hotel was acceptable, however, I believe management need to monitor this as in some areas (including our suite), corners of the room and corridors were dusty and had some signs of cob webs appearing. There was also a small bag of tobacco left from a previous guest down beside the bedside cabinet.
The hotel offers a good variety of hot and cold items for breakfast, the breakfast area can be very busy especially if there is tour buses in. The breakfast staff work very hard to clear and clean tables and replenish food items and we found them friendly, especially Pablo.
The pool area is small with a few beds, the pool would of been nice if heated as was very cold. Maybe in the summer months when temperatures are high this may be a blessing however far to cold in March to have a leisurely swim. It was a real task for all guests to take a dip!!
There is a small gym and a convenient shop within the hotel selling gift items, soda, wine, water, chocolate and potato chips.
All in all we had a pleasant stay.


Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Convention Center
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orlando Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Orlando
Grand Hotel Orlando
#190 of 338 in Orlando
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Orlando International Drive
0.6 mi away
Best Western International Drive - Orlando
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn International
Comfort Inn International
#125 of 338 in Orlando
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando
Address: 7701 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8371
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a family vacation to Florida or a professional business trip, the Country Inn & Suites Orlando hotel is a great place to stay. Our Orlando hotel near Walt Disney World(R) Resort, Universal Studios(R) and Sea World(R) theme parks offers a convenient, scheduled shuttle for guests, to ensure your trip is hassle free. We have Orlando hotel rooms and suites for every occasion, and offer a complimentary hot, continental breakfast, outdoor pool, boardroom, Fitness Center and more. With all the perks available at the Country Inn & Suites Orlando hotel, there's no better place to stay during your Florida vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Orlando Universal
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Country Inn International Drive
Country Inn Orlando
Orlando Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing