We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando
Ranked #228 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Super Hotel”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel punches above its weight. I enjoyed this hotel as it delivers on being a value hotel but goes above that.

Location is good. There is a complimentary shuttle to Disneyworld, Universal Studios, and Seaworld. There is also an I-Ride stop outside the hotel as well.

The staff here are very helpful. Very friendly and always cheery. Marilyn was a great help as the printer had run out of toner to print out my vouchers I needed so she offered to use her computer to print out for me. She could've just got me to wait until they could change it on the complimentary use of computer and printer but she understood my urgency for my voucher as needed it for that morning. Things like make a smaller hotel punch above its weight.

The room itself was large and comfortable. I had a king bed and was super comfortable. It had a great mattress topper. The bathroom was of average size and had a shower over bath. The air conditioner was a bit noisy as not ducted but a stand alone near window. A minor quibble. After reading previous reviews about the tv, the tv I had was a large flat screen so thumbs up. The decor was a bit old fashioned but can be forgiven as they have invested in the beds and tvs.

The complimentary breakfast was very good. It is advertised as continental but had hot items included like biscuits with gravy (my favourite), chicken or sausage patties, and eggs (definitely powdered kind but tasted fine).

All in all, this was an excellent value hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. It is always our goal that each guest who stays with us leaves completely satisfied. We do hope that the next time you are in the Central Florida area that you will return to see us again. We are looking forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    354
    213
    105
    94
See reviews for
535
218
37
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is very nice, very clean and a WONDERFUL hot breakfast. Very updated good linens. Swimming pool area very clean. Rooms are typical size. We arrived early and they were very nice to let us check in early and did not act like it was any problem!! The free breakfast was excellent with alot of variety the lady in charge of this is a great asset to this hotel she takes great pride in her job very present and does it all will clean tables cooks anything that needs to be done to help with this undertaking. I really enjoyed our visit here everyone was very friendly and helpful. The housekeepers are wonderful we did not need service one day and they stopped to see if we did need anything( more linens etc. Do not think twice about staying here. They have a floor that is for smokers which I think is GREAT! since these people get no respect. One more thing we did Disney and Universal I would skip disney and go to Universal great time by all @ Universal our 10 year old Grand daughter enjoyed Universal more then Disney. You can buy your tickets at this hotel and they provide a free ride to parks.

Room Tip: this hotel sits off the beaten path which is great it was quiet. Beds on our floor (5th) were excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aspargus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay with us. We are always striving to exceed our guest expectations when they visit us. We take pride in our hotel and are constantly looking to find new ways to delight our guests. We hope that the next time you are in our area you will return to visit us again. We love when our guests return.... It's like welcoming our family back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed for 2 weeks 10th-24th August. Would not stay here again. Rooms (had 2) smelt damp also our clothes felt damp. No extractor fan in bathroom which did not help.Decor dated. Complementary transport poor. Buses not big enough in the morning with many people including young children having to stand. Times of buses also poor, especially coming back in the evening.Free breakfast ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMC330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We are very sorry to hear of the problems that you experienced while visiting our hotel. It is always our goal that each guest leaves happy when they have stayed with us. Please know that your comments have been taken seriously and we are working to correct the issues that you noted. We do hope that the next time you are in the Central Florida area that you will return to see us so that you can see the changes that we have made and we are able to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This Country Inn and Suites on Universal Blvd. in Orlando, Florida was very nice and the location was perfect! :) Delicious free hot breakfast and a free shuttle to all of the Disney Parks. Located on Universal Blvd - walking distance to many fun things!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLHZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. It is always important to us that each guest has an outstanding experience when they visit with us. We do hope that the next time you are in our area you will come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We picked this hotel because we had stayed at Carlson's a few years back and were impressed by the brand, wanted something close to Universal and, of course, liked the in house breakfast. This place had good reviews and the 20% TA discount sealed the deal.

The outside looked new and clean but the room seemed in need of a refresh. I was disappointed to see what looked like small mold spots, to hear a running toilet and to have an unattached outlet cover fall off from behind the nightstand. At this price point, I am ok with a slightly dated room but the items that I mentioned gave the impression that the property is going downhill.

Pros:
- can't beat the price with breakfast
- staff was helpful, especially Julia at the ticket desk

Cons:
- condition of the room

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasTurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. We take all of our comments seriously and are continually working towards making sure that each guest has an outstanding stay. We are in the process of updating our rooms by adding new flat screen televisions, and have ordered microwaves and refrigerators for all of our guest rooms. With our new maintenance team in place we are going through each guest room in depth to ensure it is ready for our guests. We do hope that the next time you are in the Central Florida area that you will return to visit us so that we are able to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

As we had just stayed at probably one of the nicest hotel in your chain in cape canaveral. I was sadly disappointed in our stay. The staff at check in were friendly. The room appearred okay but after traveling part way home my husband asked if I had a rash like his. Both he and my son have welts all over their arms. Our first experience with bed bugs. I am not happy. So after a 16 hour trip, I am going have to disinfect not only our clothing but also my vehichle. We have stayed at your chain many times and are club carlson members and I can assure you we will not return to your facility upon returning to universal.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pghsully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and call us regarding your stay with us. Please know that we took your concerns seriously and had our pest control company come out and inspect the room that you stayed in. They did not find any evidence of bed bugs in the room. We are continually striving to make each guest stay an enjoyable one and we are very sorry that we were not able to exceed your expectations on this stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed for 3 night in early July.
The pluses: Great hot breakfast buffet and internet included in the room price. Free parking which is disappearing in the resort areas of Orlando. Friendly and helpful staff. Close to Universal Studios and the Orange County Convention Center - just a couple of miles from each. Well located and just a short drive to many restaurants and touristy stuff. Nice but small pool area. Off the beaten path and quieter area but still close to everything.
The minuses: Bare bones room and not as clean as it should be with the bathroom being sub-par, and as such, I was moderately underwhelmed by this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeariTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not have the stay that you were expecting. It is always our goal that each of our guests leave happy when they stay with us. We are currently working on making upgrades to our bathrooms and having all of our tubs re-done. We are also installing flat screen televisions in every room. We do hope that the next time you are in the Orlando area, you will return to visit us so that we are able to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Convention Center
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orlando Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Orlando
Grand Hotel Orlando
#189 of 338 in Orlando
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western International Drive - Orlando
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Orlando International Drive
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando
Address: 7701 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8371
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a family vacation to Florida or a professional business trip, the Country Inn & Suites Orlando hotel is a great place to stay. Our Orlando hotel near Walt Disney World(R) Resort, Universal Studios(R) and Sea World(R) theme parks offers a convenient, scheduled shuttle for guests, to ensure your trip is hassle free. We have Orlando hotel rooms and suites for every occasion, and offer a complimentary hot, continental breakfast, outdoor pool, boardroom, Fitness Center and more. With all the perks available at the Country Inn & Suites Orlando hotel, there's no better place to stay during your Florida vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Orlando Universal
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Country Inn International Drive
Country Inn Orlando
Orlando Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing