We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT USE YOUR DEBIT CARD TO PAY FOR YOUR HOTEL STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort
Ranked #106 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We arrived on Sunday, March 13, 2011. The check in went smoothly and the hotel was nice. No, its not a 4 or 5 star hotel, but it was clean and doable for the time we would be staying there. We paid with our debit card at check in from the entire stay. The next day we noticed that the hotel charged us an additional $70.00. When I called ask what was this charge for, they said it was incidentals, etc. Ok, I was wasn't alarmed by that because some hotels do that. Well the next day they charged us another $70.00. Then the day after that they charged my debit card $140.00 and they day we checked out they charged another $170.00. I was completely floored, I went back and forth between the bank and the hotel. The back thing about it is the hotel did not see the charges on their end. At this point, the situation is still not resolved we're still fighting to get these charges off. So word of advice, DO NOT USE YOUR DEBIT CARD TO PAY FOR YOUR HOTEL STAY at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TheGoGetters4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaBell, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding the use of Debit cards. I also feel that it is important for all guest to know that when using a debit card or a credit card, hotels will indeed require a hold for incidentals for guest. This can cause a guest to have funds held up that may be anticipated to be allocated for their travel needs. In your specific situation, the additional transactions are still being investigated as it was neither on the hotel or bank side. Our team at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando near Universal does understand how this can impact our guest and do feel that this is not what our property wants anyone to experience. Thank you so much for sharing what occured.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 827 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located across from the entrance to Universal Studios, an easy 10-15 minute walk to the ticket booths. Hotel has a ticket kiosk in the lobby and gives out cards good for discounts at Universal shops. Lots of dining options in the area , walking distance. Free parking, free shuttle to Universal. Basic continental breakfast included in the room rate, usual cereals and breads, nothing hot except waffles. Room was good size, shower and tub, plenty of hot water and towels, heat and air conditioning OK. Free wired internet in rooms, wi-fi in lobby. Sink area a bit small and no refrigerator.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MisterWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

This hotel should be rated higher! The hotel staff were friendly,and always with a warm greeting. The room we stayed in was clean, bright and spacious. The breakfast in the morning is extensive, and is a great way to start the day. The cookies on the front desk were also a delicious touch. We did take advantage of the shuttle to and from the Universal Parks; when we didn't, the cab fare was under $10 dollars, but the walk is manageable. We only took a cab due to severe rain one day. There is a great pub restaurant in front of the hotel that serves amazing food at fair prices, and they also service the hotel if you would prefer takeout. For the price, this hotel is well worth it. We highly recommend this hotel if you are planning on visiting Universal Studios.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hale4760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

This hotel was beautiful. It was freshly renovated. Nice staff, very pleasant and helpful. They have a shuttle for Universal Studios but Universal is so close, you can walk it within 15 minutes. Very nice breakfast. Walgreen's and Golden Corral in front of hotel. McDonald's down the street. We arrived at 10:00 in the morning to the hotel and they put us right in a room. The only con was that we decided to go to Disney the day we arrived, but we didn't have a car. So we took a sedan to Disney. Very costly, but hey who wouldn't want to go to Disney for the day.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler12315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed one night at the Fairfield Inn in order to be close to Universal Studios. We were not in the room very much, but when we were it was fine. We walked to Universal, which only took about 15 minutes. Staff was very friendly. Would stay here again if going to Universal Studios and needing a Marriott property.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckNorrisReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Renovations in progress, but our room was newly renovated with big screen tv,
Everything was fresh and clean, Continental breakfast was a basic, cereal, muffins, toast and waffles. Disapointed hot tub not working but we could use the one next door at the Best Western, since this was unacceptable due to mobility issues. We were componsated and the service was great. Front desk staff friendly and helpful, to even suggesting a place for my wife to get her nails done. No time share salesman at this hotel which was nice. Used the Universal package to book this hotel and qualified for early entrance to the park. Not as convienient to Disney but still only a 15 minute drive to Disney. Pictures on Trip Advisor were acurate

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbey_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

My husband & I stayed here for one night during a short visit to Universal. The hotel was OK. Now ... don't get me wrong. It was clean, and the bed was comfortable, but it was just eh. Nothing special. The living area couch was hard, but luckily we didn't spend much time sitting around.

The bathroom was clean as was the rest of the room. Ample towels and nice toiletries.

I did use the hot tub, and i did not find it to be too hot. It was actually the perfect temperature. IT was kind of chilly when I went into the hot tub, so the heat felt good. The pool area was completely shaded by about 4:00 PM.

We did not eat breakfast or use any of the other facilities because we were there for such a short time.

We had a car, so we did not walk, but it felt like it could have been walked easily ... maybe not in the heat of summer, but it would have been a nice walk in May.

There was a cool bar across the parking lot where we ate and sat outside with our drinks. Nice that we did not have to drive to get something to eat.

Would I stay here again? Yeah ... I guess so. Would I rave about the place ...nah, but for what I paid (I got the room for $60,) it was worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kappa1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Closest to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#122 of 341 in Orlando
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort

Address: 5614 Vineland Rd, Orlando, FL 32819-7827 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Studios)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Orlando
#40 Green Hotel in Orlando
#87 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#87 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $110 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests feel right at home at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando near Universal Orlando Resort. Our vibrant and welcoming hotel near Universal Orlando is perfect for creating memories on a trip to Florida, as it offers many multifunctional spaces and modern amenities. We are a 2016 TripAdvisor® Certificate of Excellence winner and we offer travelers plenty of space to relax as they explore Orlando. Our hotel sits moments from top Orlando attractions, including Universal Studios and Universal Citywalk. Guest rooms and guest suites at our hotel are spacious, and they include free Wi-Fi and plush bedding. Each morning, we provide a complimentary hot breakfast for our guests and our outdoor pool is always available for a refreshing swim. At Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort, we make guests needs and wants our #1 priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Orlando Near Universal Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Orlando Universal Studios
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Fairfield Inn Orlando
Fairfield Orlando
Orlando Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing