We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Hamton Inn standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hampton Inn Orlando - Florida Mall
Ranked #165 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not up to Hamton Inn standards”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

On a recent trip to Orlando I made overnight arrangements to stay at the Hampton Inn, Florida Mall. Based on passed positive experiences with Hampton Inns, I felt confident that I would be happy with the usual high quality and good value that they provide.

I was wrong.

This particular Hampton Inn was in the middle of a very much needed renovation. The lobby was under construction and not at all warm or welcoming.

Our room was on the second floor ( only one elevator) waaaaay on the other side of the hotel. Signage in the hall was lacking. We couldn't find the elevator or the lobby without having to go down several hallways and retrace our steps.

Our room was quite shabby with older furniture and banged- up walls. The bathroom had a piece of baseboard ripped up and the tub was dripping (we couldn't get it to stop). The air conditioner sounded like a plane taking off.

The bedding was standard Hampton Inn, comfortable and clean. The room was clean.

All in all, we were quite disappointed in this Hampton Inn and would recommend staying at another location in Orlando

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    261
    112
    46
    29
See reviews for
272
184
56
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Late check-in. Very nice. Free Breakfast - very nice, room - very comfortable and the staff were very friendly. Location - 10 mins from Orlando airport. Use their 'turn by turn' direction if not a local from this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank OHumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014

During this restoration period, it looks that hotel is closed but workers quickly directed us to the "wrapped" desk in this dusty area that is the lobby. Personnel are doing their best however. I guess that when the upgrades to the lobby are done, it will be a great place to stay. Breakfasts are served on this "dusted for the purpose" construction site.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This Hampton, although in the process of a lobby remodel, is clean, well maintained and convenient to lots of Orlando attractions. It is nice to be able to know what to expect when you are travelling to a new place, and Hampton makes that possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Janelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Hard to find a hotel at this price with Neutrogena amenities. Good location, convenient enough to Orlando International Airport. Would stay here again. Doing some remodeling at time of my stay, but only a temporary inconvenience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 897josephb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Hamptons are my favorite hotels, and this one may be good someday again; BUT it is undergoing a major remodeling including the lobby. Very noisey, and effects the morning breakfast as tables are not able to accommodate guests. Breakfast at this hotel was WAY below Hilton standards, ie. no meat of any kind, and a few other problems maybe due to the remodeling. I rate the Hilton chain as the best hotel chain in the country, all things considered; and the Hampton's my favorite within this chain, because of the "bang for your buck"; but this particular hotel should be avoided until the remodeling is completed. Other problems existed as well, but hopefully, they will be addressed in the remodeling.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be surprised, you might want to ask about any current remodeling projects.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarriorWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCOFM, Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando - Florida Mall, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We always appreciate hearing from our guests and value your candid feedback. We're very sorry to hear about the disruptions caused by our renovation construction. We never want this to interfere with our service levels and guests' comfort. We're taking this opportunity to reevaluate some of our processes and continue to do our best to avoid any inconveniences imposed on our guests. We hope we'll have a chance to serve you once our changes are complete and gather your new feedback.

Kind regards,
Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, FL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is undergoing renovations (and it was posted on the hotel website) but I think it was much worse than indicated...more than just carpet being replaced, the entire lobby/breakfast area was like a major construction zone! Scaffolding, white sheets covering things, ungrouted tile, exposed concrete floors...the property itself was pretty rundown..LOVED the pink tile in the bathrooms, lumpy/squishy beds...and the worst was the exposed bed frame on one of the beds. It seems it was an adjustable type and I have a nice gash on my left leg as a result of running into it while getting up in the middle of the night to use the restroom. I would say at $103 a night under the AARP discount, I overpaid by at least $25 a night. When I checked out the front desk attendee mumbled an "I'm sorry" when told of the accident but didn't really offer any thing else...he did jot something down, so I'm assuming it got reported to maintenance...and hope it doesn't happen to anyone else! The two young ladies who worked the breakfast area were friendly!

Green Features: none observed....seemed to not really be concerned about much of anything....
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brake4bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCOFM, Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando - Florida Mall, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. The comfort, health, and safety of our guests is our top concerns and we take all guests' feedback very seriously. We appreciate your flexibility as we're undergoing some necessary growing pains and based on your review, we're actively working with our staff and the construction team to do our best to minimize disruptions and improve our processes. Please feel free to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your concerns in greater detail.

Thank you
Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Mall
Hampton Inn & Suites Orlando - John Young Pkwy / S Park
Florida Mall
Red Roof Inn Orlando South - Florida Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#282 of 337 in Orlando
614 reviews
Florida Center
Hampton Inn & Suites Orlando International Drive North
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Orlando Near Universal Blv / International Dr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Orlando - Florida Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Orlando - Florida Mall

Property: Hampton Inn Orlando - Florida Mall
Address: 8601 S Orange Blossom Trl, Orlando, FL 32809-7909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Mall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Orlando
#128 Business Hotel in Orlando
#152 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Orlando - Florida Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hampton Inn Orlando - Florida Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Orlando - Florida Mall Hotel Orlando
Orlando Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing