We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the typical Marriott Vacation Club experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Sabal Palms
Ranked #130 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the typical Marriott Vacation Club experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This facility is not geared towards families whatsoever. The rooms have two steps to go into living room and steps to go to master bathroom; not safe for little kids. No restaurant, marketplace or bar. When calling to see if there was anything that could be done as Marriott points owners we were told unfortunately no. Thank goodness that the pool at World Center is great for kids. We would not come here again and this was not a good first use of our Marriott points. Would recommend Grande Vista or Lakeshore Reserve if you can stay there. Don't bother coming here

Room Tip: Two floors at units. If you have a stroller ask for bottom level because they do not have elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M2jmt44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Sabal Palms, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Marriott's Sabal Palms. Being on the campus of the Orlando World Center Marriott, you have access to the pools, restaurants and amenities at the hotel next door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    102
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
211
30
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leics. UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband & I are here on a month long tour of Florida & as MVCI owners we opted to exchange into Sabal Palms. We were not disappointed. Yes there are far more attractive gardens around other MVCI's in the world but then you don't come to Orlando & expect Hawaii.

As on previous reviews the approach to the property via the back lot of the enormous Marriott World Resort leaves something to be desired but once in the resort/room you will be well pleased.
The two bed, two bath rooms are huge & were refurbished around 2 years ago. Our's was in a superb position with the large screened balcony overlooking the small lake & golf course. The balcony did not get full sun so it was pleasant to sit out at any time of day. Very peaceful & offering everything you could wish for in a Vacation Club.

This is not a 5* hotel so do not expect restaurants & entertainment. Your room will not be serviced unless you are prepared to pay. The staff here were delightful & as we declined the offer of a 90 mins sales presentation for the Marriott points scheme we were not harrassed further ..if you are interested then incentives are offered but feel free to say not thanks.

The property is excellent but in my opinion probably too quiet for families with children/teenagers - there are much better options available ie Marriott's Harbour Lake although if you like "big" then the World Resort is probably just fine.

Be aware if you do not care to climb 18 steps then ask for a ground floor room.

All in all a great Vacation Club not the biggest & not the best but we were very impressed & would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antonleics_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Was not expecting this, Dianne who checked us in was so cordial I thought she owned the place. I had a request that she didn't blink an eye at and satisfied and the process was seamless. The villa was breath taking, clean, had everything you could wish for. Modern and spacious, the master shower was incredible.So quiet, really we wanted to extend the trip as we felt this was as comfortable as it gets. Time share property, yes.....but zero high pressure sales, zero. Will be back again in August, a must try for your Orlando stay.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room, just 18 stairs to paradise and no one on top of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lifeisaj0urney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Sabal Palms but it won't be our last. This Marriott Vacation Club property is located right by Disney World & not more than a 5-10 min drive to any of the Disney World Parks. It was so convenient for my family to go back & forth btw our hotel and the parks. It was so close we went back for lunch & a rest twice during our week stay b/c we all needed a little break!

The hotel itself is located at the back of the large Marriott World Center right off the interstate & Epcot Drive. Yes, I will admit the entrance & road to get the Sabal Palms(you have to travel behind the Marriott World Center along the back service entrance) is a little less than to be desired but if you are really worried about that get over yourself. Anyway, the Sabal Palms is situated next the MWC along the attached golf course.

The SP has a very nice pool & hot tub with lots of family activities including a basketball goal in the pool, ping pong, shuffle board, an outdoor chess/checker board set, noodles for swimming, & a nice playground right night to the pool. There are also tennis courts & a basketball goal right on property.

The great part of the SP is all the guests can also enjoy & have access to all the amenities at the Marriott World Center. The MWC has one HUGE pool with waterfalls, hot tubs, a kids play pool area with a slide, water guns, water fountains, & zero entry pool access for the little ones. You can also charge any meals or drinks back to your room while hanging out at the MWC, which was great. We stayed in the 4600 units & it was less than a 5 min walk from our room to the many pools at the MWC.

As far as the rooms at the SP you couldn't ask for more space & better amenities than what they offer. All of them are 2 bedroom units with full kitchen, dining area, & family room. Each bedroom has its own full bath with the master having a huge walk-in shower big enough for 10 people. The master bedroom has a king bed with love chair, tv, and plenty of closet space for a long stay, & a nice large lanai to relax & watch the golfers or the pool. The 2nd bedroom has a twin bed & full bed which is great for the kids. The family room also has a queen size pull out great for a 3rd child or friend staying with you.

Overall, this hotel was the PERFECT setup for a family on vacation, especially one enjoying both Disney & some time relaxing by the pool. I can't wait to go back & would recommend to anyone wanting a nice place to stay with a ton of space & close to all the parks. Great spot with a lot to offer all kinds of travelers. I highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Stay in 4600 units clost to MWC pools & overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Sabal Palms is a time share but they also rent rooms by reservation when available. The buildings are freshly painted, inside and out. There is a beautiful golf course, tennis, pool, gym, basketball, etc. The Sabal is steps away from the Marriott World Resort. The World Resort has a great spa, multiple restaurants, food courts, shopping, pools (that you can use if you stay at the Sabal Palms) and lots of fun stuff including activities for children! It is located less than two miles from the entrance to Disney World.
The Sabal rooms are very nice; full kitchen, laundry, sunken living room, full dining room, huge master bedroom with two closets, a sitting area, and the BIGGEST walk in shower you will ever see. It has a rain shower, wall showers, a seat, glass block wall (for light) and you can literally fit 10 people in there (don't do that). The second bedroom is compact but has a full AND single bed (sleeps 3) with a private bath. The entry hall is huge. The sunken living room can accommodate two more for sleeping. There is a large lanai and the parking is convenient and close by. Gas grills for your cooking convenience are located in multiple areas.
All buildings are non smoking. There are two areas, out of the way and comfortable, for smokers, at the end/rear of the buildings. There is no smoking in the pool area. Marriott offers free WiFi. The hotel can arrange for tickets to all of the parks. There are plenty of supermarkets and pharmacies within a short driving distance for food and extras. If you don't know the area well, bring a GPS to efficiently shop in the area. There is a small but nice outlet mall about five miles away.
The front sidewalks are washed daily; the flowers and plants are beautiful.

Room Tip: Families may want to be closer to the pool area for convenience. Couples that want more privacy may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2TravelFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our family of 5 just returned from a spring break stay at Sabal Palms. We are MVC owners at Marriott Harbour Lake but our home resort was not available so we exchanged into Sabal Palms. My first impression was that this resort was dated and not positioned very well on the World Center property. All of my concerns were quickly eradicated once we reached the lobby. Check in was very quick and I was given a villa that met my requests. Although the resort is an older vacation club property, the villas are nicely updated and the grounds are very well taken care of. We were given unit 4515, near the World Center walkway and in close proximity to the resort pool. Our unit backed up to a pond and overlooked the golf course. We saw a lot of wildlife, large birds, turtles and an otter that lives behind the unit. We enjoyed many hours on the large screened in patio. The unit itself was over 1200 sf and featured a sunk in living room (down 2 steps) and a huge walk in shower. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bedrooms had nice separation from one another. The property was very quiet and on more than one occasion we had the pool all to ourselves. For a more high paced feel, the World Center was only a 5 minute walk and featured several pools with water features (3 new water slides coming in May 2013) and many dining options. A shuttle is also available to take you to other locations on the World Center property. This resort is only 5 minutes from the WDW front gate and very convenient to stores and restaurants. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: This is a small resort, everything is within a very short walking distance. There are no elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mousefan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've been reading the other reviews of this property, and some of them leave me dismayed and confused. I guess one person's "not so impressive" is another person's "Awesome!" and we are those people! Here's why you want to stay at Sabal Palms:
--Private entrance. This is the only Marriott Vacation Club property that we've ever stayed at where the second bedroom doesn't sit right next to a public walkway, making sleeping late impossible. The second bedroom is small, but quiet and private.
--The master shower. Who needs a soaking tub when you can have a walk-in shower with sunlight streaming in?
--The screened-in porch is BIG! Sometimes there isn't enough room to pull the chairs out from the table, but you can actually entertain on this porch (and we were lucky enough to spot turtles in the lagoon from our porch).
--It is minutes from Disney!!!
Now, here's the more subjective part. We loved the design and the decorating. Certainly, this is a personal preference, but we enjoyed the sunken living room and the Floridian decor. We have stayed in many, many, unimaginative "train car" units where the rooms are lined up one after another...but this unit employed creative design and unexpectedly sleek Danish Modern furnishings.
We would stay here again in a hot minute!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteelCityCampbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Marriott's Grande Vista
#55 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,870 reviews
Marriott's Harbour Lake
#14 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Wyndham Garden Lake Buena Vista Disney Springs Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marriott's Royal Palms
#151 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Sabal Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Sabal Palms

Property: Marriott's Sabal Palms
Address: 8805 World Center Dr, Orlando, FL 32821-6363
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#41 Family Hotel in Orlando
#126 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Sabal Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Sabal Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Sabal Palms Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Sabal Palms
Marriotts Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing