We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
International Palms Resort & Conference Center
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$129
$114
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosen Centre Hotel(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$309
$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marriott's Grande Vista(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$202
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$274
$239
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$209
$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$262
$229
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$204
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$555
$437
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,249)
Filter reviews
3,249 results
Traveler rating
622
939
721
404
563
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
939
721
404
563
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinternational drivealligator alleypool barfresh towelsbit datedfridge and microwavecoffee makersea worldgift shopparksgatorsponderosafloridatrolleythemeironbuses
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,605 - 2,610 of 3,249 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Due to the volcanic ash problem my husband and I were delayed from flying back to uk for 2 nights. Thomson arranged for us to stay in this "hotel" until our flight was available, and we were very grateful at the time.Check in was ok but not a very pleasant customer experience, we were given a room on the 11th floor in the Tower Block(looked more like walking into a prison block) . On arrival at our room neither of the keys given to us worked. We asked one of the supervisors to let us in and her key didn't work! She then radioed for an engineer who tried with his key. Guess what it didn't work, so he changed the batteries in the door panel .Again no entrance, so he radioed for security, who promised to be there in 5 minutes.After waiting 20 minutes I went down to reception and asked for a different room, and was told there had been a problem with this room before, SO WHY GIVE IT TO US? We eventually got a room on the 8th floor. It was OK, but definitely in need of a refit, the shower fitment was not connected to the wall, windows were filthy, beds were hard and a musty smell throughout. I did not like the ajoining doors to each room and the landing was too narrow and felt very unsafe especially if anyone had a dislike of heights. We were given breakfast vouchers which was very nice of Thomson holidays, however the buffet breakfast was limited and we were pleased we hadn't paid $10 each as it seemed overpriced. The hostess was having a conversation with another member of staff while we were waiting to be seated and chewed gum constantly while talking and waiting on tables. NOT a nice thing for anyone in the catering trade! The waiter was pleasant and helpful. The pool area was OK and the food available quite nice for snacks. We are very surprised that this is a Thomson and Virgin hotel choice as we would not expect this sort of quality from either tour operator. We would never choose this hotel or recommend it to anyone. We understand that it has changed from Holiday Inn to the International Palms, a grand name BUT anything but grand place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Criketfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Due to the volcanic ash from Iceland our tour operator kindly put us up for the 2 days we were delayed in Florida. For this we are grateful but that's where the positivity ends.........

......The front of the hotel looks OK but the inside is a very different matter. There are several 'blocks' of accommodation but all have a very dowdy, 70's feel and smell damp/musty. There is a feeling of dirt in every room. The pool itself seemed OK with a friendly barman but the toilets are dirty, scruffy and rusty. While we were there children were trashing the toilets, tipping over the towel bins and rolling large toilet paper rolls through the pool area and along to the accommodation. Three hours after we arrived we went out for dinner and on return found our room had been ransacked. The door was open, lights on and all our cases had been emptied out. I imagine the burglars had been disturbed as only my purse was stolen - there was a laptop in a bag at the far end of the room that luckily wasn't taken. We contacted the hotel security and the police who attended promptly but the service from reception and management was diabolical. Our room phone would not let us have an outside line for some unknown reason so we had to go through the operator. On having to ring for a second time to cancel our bank and credit cards i was rudely told that there were other phone calls to answer and hung up. When called back to try again she hung up again telling me to dial 9 despite already being told that this was not working. The next day we had to go to reception to re-programme our door key. The receptionist proceeded to tell us several stories about people mistakenly thinking their property had been stolen (cars the same colour etc) laughing and joking and not treating us with any respect, empathy or even pseudo-regret about what had happened. About 20 minutes later (we couldn't get away!) he informed us that there was an error with the door latch and the door did not shut properly and he was moving us to another room. We then moved to the 12th floor of 'the tower' which scared me to death - it has railings holding you on a narrow walkway leading you to each room. It didn't feel safe at the best of times (neither did the lift) but especially on our last night when a severe storm hit. I truly thought I was going to be blown over the edge. On check-out the next morning they tried to charge us for each time we had phoned reception to get an outside line, despite us being told at the time that they would 'deal with this'. When my partner commented about the ordeal we had been through the receptionists reply was that we were being put up for free, the sun was shining and we would be getting no sympathy from him! It took a lot of willpower not to respond angrily.

All in all this place gives the impression it is a holiday hotel but seems more like the seedy motels you see on TV. The restaurant staff were kind and courteous but the receptionists and managers were rude, unaccommodating and disinterested. If I had booked to stay at this hotel I would certainly have something to say to the company that assisted with the booking! I would urge everyone to keep well clear. It is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jayanddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed for a fortnight in this hotel with our 12 year old granddaughter. Although the rooms could have done with a lick of paint this was the only fault we found. The staff were really pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were cleaned daily and we had a safe in the room as well as a fridge (wonderful) and a microwave. Our granddaughter took her laptop and was able to use it in our room to keep in touch with her parents. Great location, I ride trolley just out front of the hotel. I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pennymacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

we stopped here in oct 2007 and nov 2008 when it was a holiday inn and are going back this year nov 2010. we stopped in the tower block on the second floor, room was very nice, bed comfy. can't see why there are bad reports on this hotel, we never had any problems. great location

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polls56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

When we arrived we were sent to the building tower which is open. It means that anybody can get in. No safe at all. The room had a door that linked to another room. The first night we couldn't sleep because people in the other room had the tv on up to late. The shower was lower than normal that I had to bend to wash my hair. After we complained we were sent to another room in a closed building. More secure. But it had a door in between with another room also. The night we moved in, we couldn't sleep because the phone started to ring in the middle of the night and nobody was on the line. We had to disconnect it until we left because the calls came in from nowhere. We complained and they said they would fixed. It didn't happen. When we went to the restaurant for dinner we waited for 10 minutes and nobody showed up. We had to go to another restaurant. Then, when we tried to buy tickets for the parks in a stand located in the lobby the people there pushed us to attend to a timeshared talk at the Holiday Inn. When we said we wouldn't attend it they turned back and did not sell the tickets. I wouldn't recommend this place. It needs better management.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almendra23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews