We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando International Drive/Convention Center
Ranked #49 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed at this Fairfield Inn & Suites as part of a family trip to Orlando that including two days in Disney World and a family visit.

Although this property is better-suited for those visiting Universal Studios (free shuttle bus available), it is reasonably convenient to Disney World as well.

The Pluses:

(1) Suites are really good sized and fairly priced.

(2) Very clean and reasonably well-furnished rooms, especially for a Marriott budget property.

(3) Excellent breakfast included with many options (including healthy ones).

The Could-Be-Betters:

(1) Elevators. This is a six story, relatively large hotel with only two fairly slow elevators. Either there is no service elevator for the staff, or the service elevator was out-of-service, or the staff simply ignores the fact that using the guest elevators for moving of maintenance and cleaning carts seriously impacts the ability of guests to use the elevators. Waiting 12 minutes on the fourth floor for an elevator down is unacceptable.

(2) This property offers “free Internet” (wired and wireless but it is fairly low bandwidth, less than 1mb/sec that is marginally usable for anything other than simple text-based e-mail. For an extra $5 a day, they offer “enhanced speed internet.” Unlike other Marriott properties, this Fairfield property doesn't “comp” the enhanced internet charges for Marriott Gold Elite members. (All other Marriott properties that I have recently stayed at waive any and all fees for internet access or enhanced internet access for Gold Elite members!)

(3) Major Security & Safety Concern - This property has nowhere near enough parking spaces for its guests during times of peak occupancy. The parking lot is way too small, although the hotel apparently rents out some of its spaces to a taxi company! Guest automobiles were parked in fire lanes and other no parking zones as well as in parking spaces of an adjacent, poorly-lit strip mall. This parking situation was so bad that shuttle buses cannot access the hotel's front entrance, guests cannot unload luggage at the front entrance, AND emergency vehicles (such as fire trucks and EMF vehicles cannot get near the building. On the morning of December 27, we witnessed a situation where an EMF vehicle from the local fire department couldn't stop at the front entrance of the hotel to respond to an medical emergency! And when we tried to depart the premises a few hours later, our vehicle was blocked by a waiting shuttle bus that couldn't stop where it should have been able to at the front entrance due to cars parked there. Management of this property should remedy this serious safety problem ASAP by providing additional parking and properly marking areas where guests should not park!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dov I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    222
    43
    8
    6
See reviews for
276
122
15
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the Christmas holiday for a few days. Granted, hotels in the Orlando are usually packed during this time of year, and this place was no exception. However, this hotel was our first to not have enough parking spaces to accommodate all of its guests. Here are some highlights:

Pros:
- Newer hotel with clean rooms
- Staff was friendly and helpful
- Conveniently located near Universal Orlando, and they also run shuttles to the theme parks
- Quiet area, despite being located near International Drive
- Nearby to restaurants, shops and movies at Pointe Orlando

Cons:
- Parking is crazy when the hotel is at full capacity. Several guests, including us, had to park in the fire lane each evening.
- Room walls are not thick enough. If you have loud neighbors, you'll be able to hear them.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank 888Main
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I travel 300 days/year as the VP of Sales for my company & spent the weekend after Thanksgiving at the Fairfield Inn. It was a combination of work and vacation so I brought my 6yr old son with me. My company held a workshop training on Saturday and the event ran perfectly thanks to a very friendly & attentive staff. We stayed in the "family suite" and the room was not only very clean, but it was so very comfortable & relaxing. My son loved the bunk beds and giant TV screen in his room. We then stayed at the hotel for the next (3) nights as we took his first trip to Disney World. I cannot stress enough how wonderful it was for me to stay in a hotel with a staff so "kid friendly" and commited to making sure our visit was perfect. It was a very short and easy drive to the Disney transportation center for those of you that cannot get a reservation on Disney Property. If expenses are a challenge that prevents you from taking a Disney Vacation, then consider the Fairfield Inn because the price "is right" and you have a free hot breakfast to get your day started. I will definitely stay here again whenever my company is sending me to work in the Orlando Area.

John Costino

Room Tip: The family suite was such a great option because my son enjoyed himself so much he didn't pester...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johncostino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Rooms were clean, staff were friendly and helpful. All told, for its location within Orlando, it was a great value. This hotel is near the convention center and Universal Studies. Located directly behind it, within walking distance, are Ripley's Believe it or Not and several International Dr restaurants.

The pool is decent sized and well maintained. Front desk staff were very accommodating with getting us in our preferred room - as a Marriott Platinum member, I felt as if that was taken into account.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelin'soldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We chose this Marriott for its location and amenities. Traveling with three generations of family, we needed a family suite for parents with small children, and a regular suite for boomer grandparents. This hotel offers both, along with a people-pleasing breakfast with a lot of space. Even before arriving, we called the hotel with a few questions, and a kind and patient employee Mary Woods answered each one. We learned the hotel offers a free shuttle to and from Universal theme park which made for effortless transportation that day. It's located near Sand Lake Rd which has endless choices of restaurants, but not so close that it's affected by traffic or noise. Easy access to I-4. This is a perfect hotel for an Orlando experience.

Room Tip: We always suggest rooms away from elevators and stairwells for less noise. We noticed the layout of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTeam4985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The peoplle who works at the hotel are very friendly...the housekeeping Yomarie Figueroa is the best...and the location of the hotel is excellent...there is some restaurants located at the back of the hotel that any one can go by walking...bar with pool table and bowling

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel could teach others how to do breakfast. They have a large, open area with hot items, two waffle makers, fruit, and a variety of cereals and pastries. The hotel seemed very clean, and the people who worked there were very friendly. The only downside was that our room did not have a microwave and mini fridge. If those are important to you, I would recommend asking about them before you go. Overall, a really nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoGatorsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Orlando International Drive/Convention Center
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando International Drive/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando International Drive/Convention Center

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando International Drive/Convention Center
Address: 8214 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-9363
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#35 Family Hotel in Orlando
#43 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando International Drive/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entire Hotel Newly Renovated March 2013. Complimentary Scheduled Shuttle to Major Theme Parks, Free Hot Breakfast Bar, Free Parking & WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando International Drive/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Orlando Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing