We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious surprise!”

Starring Rolls Cafe
Ranked #3 of 53 Coffee & Tea in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Stellar baked goods, sushi and focaccia sandwiches are the stars. Fresh coffee, cappuccino and espresso are part of the supporting cast.
Victor, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“A delicious surprise!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We walked into Hollywood Studios during an afternoon downpour, and quickly took cover in a store near the park gates. We shopped while it rained, then headed out to find something to eat. We stopped in at Starring Rolls because it was there and we were hungry. What a great place for a quick lunch! We had the ham sandwich, the turkey sandwich, and the fruit tart, and everything was fresh and delicious. The only downside was that the cast member behind the counter must have been new, because she was very slow and seemed quite confused. Despite that slight difficulty, we will definitely be back!

my travel blog: disneyforfive.wordpress.com

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    110
    26
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Butterfinger Cupcake for Breakfast!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I've heard nothing but good things about the cupcakes here, so my mom and I stopped here for a late breakfast while waiting for our Toy Story Mania fastpass time. This was a huge cupcake, and we split it. It was about the size of two normal cupcakes, and very dense inside. Delicious! The little patio area where you can eat is pleasant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank msmileyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“many quick trips to this one”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

great quick trip. just grab and go, there is seating outside to veg out. coffee, buns, fruit. all fresh and good. great use of your dinning plan

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marythevisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but excellent cupcakes and quiet atmosphere”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Starring Rolls was on my foodie to-do list at Hollywood Studios, namely for their much-lauded cupcakes. Our first attempt was unsuccessful, because when we arrived at 3:50pm, the cafe was closed up tighter than a drum. Disappointing! Word to the wise, if you want to try Starring Rolls, get there ASAP because this place closes EARLY.

The cafe itself is very small, no bigger than a small coffee shop. There is one case with all their offerings: grocery-store-esque sushi, two kinds of sandwiches (ham and turkey), pastries, and cupcakes. We were hungry for lunch, so we chose two turkey sandwiches ($10 each), a Butterfinger cupcake ($4), and a chocolate peanut butter cupcake ($4). Bolstered by online hype, I was on a mission to try the chocolate peanut butter cupcake and was so disappointed when I saw all the other types of cupcake inside the case besides that one. We asked one of the employees about it and they cheerfully went to the back and brought out a fresh one for me. Score one for Disney customer service! This is a counter service location so you just load up a tray and pay, very quick and easy.
Because the cafe is so small, the only seating is outdoors at metal tables. The tables were very clean and shaded with umbrellas. Perfect for people and parade watching on Hollywood Boulevard. Because of its small size and the little nook it occupies on the corner of Hollywood and Sunset Boulevards, it feels like a little oasis within the larger chaos of the Studios.

Food: the turkey sandwich on foccaccia was okay, comparable to the millions of others at Disney, except in one area: its size. Though technically only "half" a sandwich, this thing was probably about the size of a small child's head. The meat was piled on in an almost obscene way and it was hard to actually bite the darn thing. Though it was hearty, it was sadly bland and pretty unremarkable for the $10 it cost.
Now, onto dessert, where Starring Rolls really excels. BF loved his Butterfinger cupcake and talked about it for the rest of the trip, no joke. We split our cupcakes and each tried half of the other's cupcake. The Butterfinger cupcake was covered in crushed Butterfinger pieces, frosting, and the center was filled with a thick chocolate ganache. I wasn't crazy about the frosting on top of the cupcake - with the ganache and butterfinger pieces it all felt like too much. The Butterfinger pieces and ganache were simply delicious though. But, even better than the Butterfinger cupcake was my chocolate peanut butter one. The top was adorned with thick ribbons of chocolate, artfully sticking out of a huge dollop of chocolate ganache. Seriously, these chocolate pieces could have been a dessert in themselves. The inside of the cupcake was filled with the same ganache, also and just fantastic! I will admit that there wasn't much peanut butter taste to the cupcake, but it was such a chocolate overload I didn't even care. If you visit Starring Rolls, the cupcakes are a must. Easily some of the best on property!

Pros: delicious cupcakes, quiet atmosphere, off the beaten path.
Cons: overpriced sandwiches, closes at 4pm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sailaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Quick Breakfast”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stopped in while visiting Hollywood Studios and it was perfect for a quick bite of breakfast before more time in the park. We did not try the butterfinger cupcake, however, we did enjoy the amazing Red Velvet Cupcake! I would go back there for another one!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starring Rolls Cafe also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Starring Rolls Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing