We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great selections”

Hawkers Asian Street Fare
Ranked #73 of 4,277 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: WHAT IS A HAWKER? Prominent on the streets of Asia, "hawkers" are street vendors who depend on locally grown ingredients to create dishes sold from mobile carts and stands. The most successful recipes, typically passed from one generation to the next, bring flocks of eager patrons. If you've ever traveled to Asia, you will know that the best foods are served by local hawkers. From Char Kway Teow on the streets of Penang to Tom Yum out of the floating markets of Thailand, each region specializes in specific flavors and each hawker stall specializes in one or two dishes. Even in modern Asia, many decades-old hawker stalls are still renowned for the "best" of whatever dish they have mastered. Hawker stalls are such valuable real estate, that many are passed down from parent to child for generations. We hand-picked the best and most popular street foods from all over Asia and put them into one menu.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hawkers is a great restaurant with consistent service.. The food is on the pricey side for the portions though.

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rnic1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 380 of 486 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a cool concept: the best of east Asian street food all on one menu! This crowd-pleaser has something for everyone, from Malaysian noodle dishes to stir-fried veggies to meat skewers and lettuce wraps. Our party included a 7 year old, someone who loved spicy food, someone who couldn't stand spicy food, and two people who were gluten free. Every single one of us left happy and satisfied. The wine/beer selection was likewise extensive, and the service was attentive without being overbearing. This was important, since we had lots of plates to clear in order to make room for everyone's meal and drink selections. We recommend the stir-fried bean sprouts, papaya salad, chicken lettuce wraps, basil fried rice and pad thai!

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Worldbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Liked this place so much that we went back the very next night as well. This restaurant is a real treat that it offers so many different small plates that I think you could eat there every night for a week and try something new each time. The wait staff was very knowledgable and took the time to explain the concept and the dishes. The price were reasonable for the quality of the food. This is a must visit in Orlando whether you are local or visiting.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bjaj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I've been to Asia and this food is authentic. Prices are fair. Staff are friendly. Food was amazing. I want to go back. It was a bit off the beaten path. SO worth the trip.

Date of visit: December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelmore2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We ordered the Roast Duck, Crispy Roast Pork, Ginger Chicken, Hawker's Delight, and Hawker Fries. They are all pretty good. But the best part is the desserts -- my husband ordered 3 teas and he LOVED it! We also ordered Mango Sticky Rice (it is good if you eat ethnic Asian food), Ice Kachang, and Cinnamon Roti (my son LOVED this). It is definitely a place to try.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TwinsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawkers Asian Street Fare also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Been to Hawkers Asian Street Fare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing