We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comment on the hotel ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Pop Century Resort
Ranked #125 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Let me share with you my experience in the hotel: the food and health sevice was excellent ... highlight the work of two employees of the food center Laura and Jorge ... were very helpful and gentle ... now, the reception is a disaster is an international hotel and NOT SPEAK SPANISH! also increasingly going to ask you something, never know anything ... shameful!!
The hotel is very nice, spacious and fun ... very nice set ...
I hope my comments will serve to improve.
Greetings from Uruguay

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauli087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,135 - 6,141 of 10,882 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2011

The Walt Disney World Resort is considered one of the top vacation destinations in the world. With that distinction, it is often expected that to enjoy the Disney experience a heavy cost is associated. Walt Disney World however looks to create ways in which families of a wide variety of income levels can enjoy their experience. The Pop Century resort, opened in 2003, is an on site Disney resort hotel under the "value" category of Walt Disney resorts. Although lacking in luxury and upgraded amenities, The Pop Century offers a fun, affordable option that also includes Disney World resort perks such as Disney's Magical Express, on-site transportation, and extra magic hours just to name a few.

The resort is laid out similarly to other on-site value resorts, with a front and center building for check in/out and other services surronded by several buildings themed individually with a myriad of guest rooms. The central building contains standard front desk services as well as a quick service food court, souvenier shop, and arcade/game room. Because this area of the resort houses the aforementioned services and amenities for the entire resort, it may tend to get congested. The food court offers a variety of selections of both hot and cold foods at a price that is comparable to a standard hotel food court. The area is fairly sizeable but seems dwarfed when considering the amount of hotel guests that may be present in the area at a given time. Behind the central building is the resort's main pool (one of three pool areas within the resort) which can also tend to get on the congested side at times.

The guesthouses or buildings are cleverly laid out throughout the grounds and are connected via finely landscaped walkways and corridors. This will entail some walking for those that may be housed in a building towards the rear of the property. The walking is not overwhelming and can also be a good way to explore the resort. Each of the buildings are seperated into distinctly themed areas based on the given decade for that section. Disney cleverly constructed large scale structures modeling a popular object or icon of the respective time period. This feature makes it easier to navigate around the resort as well as bring a "Disney" fun feel to the property. Guestrooms are pretty standard in nature with two double beds, bathroom/vanity, and small seating area. Amenities are fairly limited and simple in the room with iron/ironing board, hairdryer, flat panel television, and in-room etc. The rooms are definitely on the smaller side and again are very basic in nature.

Intangibly, Disney does an excellent job of bringing quality service and presentation to it's guests. The property was finely groomed and landscaped. Guestrooms were very clean and "cast members" were incredibly polite and accessible. This is where Disney's "value" resorts seperate themselves from off-site motels and comparably priced chains.

Overall, the Pop Century is a great way to enjoy Disney for those on a strict budget. Many of the Disney benefits are evident through the quality service and creative theming. While you may have to sacrifice a little in terms of room size and heavier congestion, you will no doubt be able to imerse yourself in the Disney experience. Excellent job once again Walt Disney World.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jocar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed in the 50's themed building, and we loved every second we were there. Our room was clean and we loved that there was a safe in the room. The pool was bowling themed and was wonderful. The food was great and gift shops were amazing. Will go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDMHMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We chose Pop because it's a value resort and it has direct transportation to and from the parks. The other value resorts share bus routes. The hotel is HUGE, bigger than any hotel I've ever seen. The decor is fun and it's definitely a family-friendly place.

Pros:
- Very clean rooms
- Most everything is conveniently located
- nice staff
- mostly comfortable bed - nothing special
- cheaper than than other non-value resorts (but that doesn't mean it''s cheap)
- Food court

Cons:
- Very small rooms - not for large families
- Some rooms not convenient to transportation or food court
- washer/dryers don't always work
- food is expensive
- biggest complaint - soundproofing between rooms is not good. You'll hear every shower/bath/toilet flush.

Overall, it was a fine place to stay. We only slept there and spent a little time at the pool in the middle of the day.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peachstt04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We all enjoyed the beautiful outdoor pool and giant outdoor display from 50 to 90, took lots of photos! One main option to pick this hotel not only the price is more affordable but also close to the food court and bus stop, that save you lots of time to start a long day before go to the theme park.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purpletravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I have been to Walt Disney World Resorts many times and am appalled at the bad shape some of the Resorts !! My Daughter noticed bug bites on her arms and blood on the sheets!! Thankfully we only stayed two nights before leaving for another location. Later in the day she noticed 20 or more bites appearing on her arms each! We went straight to the doctor, washed and steamed our laundry and tossed the suitcases. We were given a room that the clerk had trouble checking (first clue) than when we got to the room I couldnt stop sneezing (they must of sprayed for a pryor complaint) next red flag. Because of the christmas rush we didn't spend alot of time in the room and still suffered because the room was infested. I have complained to no satisfaction and denial from all of the hotel contacts. I hope this will alert others to the problems within the WDW Resorts. Believe me this was a horrible eye opener and we will try avoid a repeat of this experience. 90's Building

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank luvthlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Me, my fiancée, and my two children stayed at the Pop Century Resot, back in July. We didn't spend much time in the room, but while we were there it was nice. The lighting was a little dim, but nothing to complain about. My children loved the towel animals that the maids would bring when they came to clean, and the pools were very fun. The food was nice, and we didn't mind the walk there. The animals seemed to not care about people, and would stroll around as they pleased, it was a very nice thing. The resort had many places that were picture worthy, and we jumped at the opportunity. I would not mind to go back. This is year we plan to, but this time with our eldest daughter. We will be staying in the All-Star Music Resort, since they are the only value resort hotel that have suites. All in all, we loved the place! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraJoMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.2 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
0.3 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Disney's All-Star Music Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's All-Star Sports Resort
2.2 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Pop Century Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Pop Century Resort

Address: 1050 Century Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8433
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#106 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#107 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $135 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's Pop Century Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 2880
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the unforgettable fads of the 1950s through the 1990s all over again. From yo-yos and Play-Doh(R) to Rubik's Cube(R) and rollerblades, this Resort hotel salutes the timeless fashions, catch phrases, toys and dances that captivated the world through the decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Pop Century Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Pop Century Resort
Disney Pop Century Hotel
Pop Century Disney
Disneys Pop Century Resort
Disneys Pop Century Hotel
Century Pop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing