We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly remodeled rooms are great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Pop Century Resort
Ranked #136 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Newly remodeled rooms are great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Our family's first Disney trip was Sept 11-15, 2010 at Pop Century. I learned ahead of time that the Pop Century is now in the process of remodeling every room, so I requested a newly updated room. If you are going soon, ask for a remodeled room. We loved it! Everything was brand new: bedspreads, carpet, wallpaper & paint, plasma screen TV. Nice, soothing decor with lots of hidden mickeys. Yes, rooms are small, but that was never a problem. Once we arrived I realized how true it is that you only will be in your room at bedtime! I did not request a "preferred room", but our room was terrific anyway. Just steps away from the 50's bowling pin pool and down the sidewalk to the main building/gift shop/dining hall.

For those who enjoy pin trading: the gift shop offers special pin trading time (check the sign at the cash register for time) when you can trade one of your pins for any pin found on their bulletin board. It's a big board with lots of choices (maybe 50 pins?) to choose from. Lots of fun for kids, and it's free. If you plan to trade pins, don't buy them at Disney!!! But them for $1 each on Ebay and take them with you. They cost $6 and up at the parks.

Overall, Pop Century is excellent for families. Our kids, 4 & 9, loved the pools (never crowded in off-season September!) and the enormous sculptures of Lady, Tramp & Jungle Book characters. Never waited more than 10 minutes for a bus to or from Pop Century. Check in/out is fast, with lots of employees making things run smoothly. Guests as well as cast members were extremely courteous and kind. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ohiosunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,600
    4,286
    1,613
    453
    221
See reviews for
6,534
1,560
167
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,977)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Well i'm back with my latest review of a Disney resort......Folks this is from a regular person just like you....not some lady complaining that Donald Duck only stopped by her table for 2 minutes. Fourth year in a row,fourth different Disney resort(check out my other reviews on AKL,Poly and SSR)............................First let me say that we love Disney,everything about it but we weren't too impressed with Pop........here's why.....there's nothing particularly wrong with this resort when speaking of cleanliness(very clean),friendliness of cast members(they were awesome) or transportation(be advised the buses come every 15 minutes but every bus is standing room only, count on it, and this was in Sept.).The food at everything Pop was good quality and large selection(best quick service of all the resorts we have visited). The arcade is large and the pools were...well...pools............the oversized icons were interesting and great for photo ops......the walls in the 50's section where we stayed were not paper thin...we never heard anyone n the next room and hardly ever heard the loud flushing everyone writes about...........ok now you must be asking yourself,"why didn't they like it?"................THIS IS THE TRUTH......picture yourself at the theme parks all day in the blazing hot sun having the time of your life......the madness and throngs of people have finally gotten the best of you and you think....let's go back and relax at our resort before going out again to another park or restaurant........then you get back to Pop and realize you have just entered another theme park(The Pop Century theme park)with the same atmosphere and mass of people bumping in to one another.................it's the most crowded place i have ever been(i've been front row at the Rolling Stones and spent many Saturdays at Bryant Denny Stadium with 90,000 of my friends so i have seen some crowded spots)....they aint got nothing on Pop.......10:30 pm foodcourt packed to the gills.......like someone stuck a stick in a south american ant bed and stirred it up......12 midnight....bowling pin quiet pool FULL.............8 am food court(don't even think you are that bold)...............this place is like standing in line for Space Mountain with a 120 minute wait time every day............quiet relaxing stroll....picture that stroll at the biggest Mall in your town on the day after Thanksgiving..........never again for us but it wasn't really the resort....more so it was the people you were lodging with........rude with a capital R....................We loved our vacation at Disney again but found ourselves saying"I can't wait to get out of the Pop Century Resort and that's something we have never said about where we were staying. Keep in mind this was value season...i shutter to think of Pop at say,Christmas(OMG)..........we can't wait to come back "home".....but take it from me....Pop isn't home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PWPres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

Stayed at POP from September 19th thru 25th. Hotel was very clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Check in was quick. We arrived at 10:30AM and our room was ready. We had poolside in the 80's building. Pool was open 24 hours - only occassionally could you hear noises from the pool - - not a problem. Everything POP (the food court/store) was nice - you could find everything you might have forgotten at home, plus all the souvenirs you will find in the parks. We would definately stay here again! Buses run constantly to the 4 major parks plus Downtown Disney. The only problem I would have to mention is that on the day we checked out, we had to be out front to catch the MEARS bus (Disney Magical Express) at 2:15....our luggage was under the bus and we were on the bus, but had to get off, due to overcrowding - the MEARS driver was not very friendly.....we did get the next bus - but didn't leave until almost 3pm as for some reason, there was a major back-up. This caused a little concern as we had a flight to catch and were at the airport later than we were supposed to be. It didn't seem that the staff at POP were too concerned about the back-up.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend. Just a quick trip to Disney and stayed here with the Disney Passholder discount. We got the greatest rate and because we booked it several months out, we did extremely well. We were put on the farthest room on the Sixties building. It was very quiet as we were on the end of the row. We slept in every morning. The food court was busy but well staffed. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We enjoyed our quick Disney stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minniemoomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownsville, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Pop Century Resort from Sepr 11-16-10 and had great time. It's a fun resort for all ages, We were in the 4th floor in a room on the corner 80’s section building with a great view to the pool, the room refurbed and very clean, Check-in was very fast and clear, the pools were never crowded.
The food at the food court was pretty good I loved the veggie lasagna, tie dyed cheesecake and everything bagel. Never had a problem finding a table
Mousekeeping were good, they kept towels and soaps replenished every day
The bus service was great, We used the buses every day. One of the best things is that it has its own bus they always came very quickly and we rarely waited more than 10 minutes plus the resort is in a good location to all parks.
The ONLY “complaint” is the bus stop for the resort is the farthest from the theme park entrances.
If you’ll be at the Parks all day long, then you can easily skip the moderate/deluxe resorts and stay here, there’s no reason to pay more!
I loved this hotel overall, I would definitely stay at this resort again!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

a lovely clean freindly hotel, happy polite staff, lovely grounds.
only the food menu could do with changing, we stayed for 2 weeks, same food every day, never changed and if you are a vegetarian, forget it, unless you want vege burger or pizza every day, but despite this, i would stay there again, just eat out.
the bus sevice to all parks is fantastic and so easy and convienient to use

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

we stayed in the 50s building which was in a good place just a small walk to the pools and resturant . food got a bit boring though after 14 days same old things. room was just wot we wanted a bed , shower, etc, comfey beds, at the end of the day all you do is sleep in there, but still very good. it was our first time to disney world so decided to stay on one of there parks. transport to all theme parks was very good . forgot to mention the staff were very freindly and all ways polite, if any one has just come back is the guy who cleans up outside the resturant the one with the glasses he has blondish hair he was a legend he made our holiday , when it rained he yust to squgee the entrance down and it was hillarias to watch, if any one has seen him they would know wot i mean.
so lets finish this review, all i can say is that as our first time here it wont be the last, we will be back in 2012. hope this helps any one wanting to know wot pop centery is like.
its brilliant!!!!!!!!!!

the bills family........

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brett3360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando – Disney Springs Area
2.1 mi away
Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
0.3 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Disney's All-Star Music Resort
2.0 mi away
Disney's All-Star Sports Resort
0.9 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Pop Century Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Pop Century Resort

Property: Disney's Pop Century Resort
Address: 1050 Century Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8433
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#106 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#108 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Disney's Pop Century Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2880
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the unforgettable fads of the 1950s through the 1990s all over again. From yo-yos and Play-Doh(R) to Rubik's Cube(R) and rollerblades, this Resort hotel salutes the timeless fashions, catch phrases, toys and dances that captivated the world through the decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Pop Century Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Pop Century Resort
Disney Pop Century Hotel
Pop Century Disney
Disneys Pop Century Resort
Disneys Pop Century Hotel
Century Pop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing