We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Disney's Pop Century Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Orlando(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$184
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$118
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$172
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$142
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$144
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Caribe Royale Orlando(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$132
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$195
$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$222
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$102
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$443
$282
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $357/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (11,164)
Filter reviews
11,164 results
Traveler rating
4,000
4,639
1,774
503
248
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,000
4,639
1,774
503
248
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfood courtart of animationhippy dippy poolthe buspreferred roomthe bowling pin poolclassic halldisney worldrooms are smallmain buildinggift shopmagical expressdining planmagic kingdomcast membersonline checkrefillable mugs
Filter
Updating list...
6,994 - 6,999 of 11,164 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2009

i can say that this hotel was the best i have ever stayed in outside of the UK. Me and my partner 24 & 28 yrs loved this place
Check in was a breeze, if you tell them that you're celebrating a birthday or anniversary then you will be bombarded with loads of free gifts in the room.
We were even upgraded to a kingsize bedroom with a Massive bed.
As we had only one bed in our room we found it very roomy with no issue of space, that said our room was the same size as the ones with 2 double beds and still there would have been lots of room to move around so a family of four would fit very comfortably.

We were very pleased to see that our bathroom was a wet room so there was no bath, its so much easier to have a shower where you dont have to clamber into a bath and always given plenty of towls to use.
The toilet was a beast it was really loud on the scale of a shuttle launch but we found it amusing.
Room was Sparkling clean and tidy each day after Housekeeping had been in.
Our room came with a fridge included as standard which was handy as people were complaining that they were being charged $10 a day to rent a bigger one. I really dont think a fridge was needed because the A/C kept the room very cool which was fab after a hot day outside.
You have totake a walk around the resort to really get the feel of going back in time, we stayed in the 80s building facing away from the Computer pool but to be honest we wouldnt have minded the pool noise as it was never very loud and each night they close off one the 3 pools so its quiet which is a cool idea.
So much stuff to look at around the whole resort that can bring back alot of TV memories and things of that decade. If you go over to the lake you can see the AMAZING progress of the Future years half of the resort which was derelict last year, this will transform the resort to a massive area but by the look they are having a future version of the Classic Hall so you wont have to walk right over to the other side of the resort, it looks like a kind of EPCOT theme which is good.
Location of the hotel is excellent with any of the parks being only a 5 min drive or less.
We didn't use the buses as we had car hire but they looked to be constant all day with maybe a 10 min wait at the heaviest parts of the day.
Please take no notice of the reviewers who say there is a long walk to the classic hall (check in and restaurant) as its no more than 2 mins from any part of the resort all i will say is that a fair amount of people happen to be very LARGE and may find it a hinder but hey the exercise is good if u have just got up in the morning it wakes you up.
buying the refillable mug upon check in is a MUST as you can fill up with soft and hot drinks as much as u can take for the entire time of your holiday in the pop century resort, the other hotels have there own styles of mugs.
If you have purchased Disney Ultimate Pass (UK ONLY) or any premium tickets for the parks to be picked up at check in, you will get a Room key card / Hotel billing card and your park tickets rolled into one card called THE KEY TO THE WORLD. You also get to keep this as a souvenir after you're holiday.
In regards to food, Get a reservation for the CANADA PAVILION STEAK HOUSE in EPCOT you will never have food like it anywhere else on EARTH.
Its not worth buying the Disney Dining Plan unless you're more than 3 people as its quite expensive.
Last of all make use of the Extra Magic Hours in the parks and plan you're time in advance Its invaluable
HAVE FUN PEOPLE

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PrinceofSpades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Everything was great. We stayed from the 22nd to the 29th. The rooms were greta for us the pools were amazing. The only thing i did not like was the food choice. There was this cookie ice cream sandwich thing i got at all star movies all the time the last year we stayed in disney and they didnt have them the food workers were kind of rude, the food choice was just not that good but everything else was great. no long waits for busses. it was a great vacation and we will probably go back there because the pools are heated. haha.i love disney and i could live there. next year we're thinking of staying for 10 days. really excited for that = ]

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mickeymouse15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

I would never stay at the Pop Century again. We were searching for a budget Disney trip and got one, and wished that we'd have sprung a few hundred bucks more and stayed somewhere decent. We were a group of adults, no kids, and I am sure that Pop Century would work if you're a group of kids or if you have small children with you... but as a group of adults there are two major problems with the Pop Century: the Food is awful and there is nothing to do at the hotel.

First, the food. The Pop Century Food Court has a selection of unhealthy, overpriced, horrible tasting, nauseating food... the selections are bland and boring. This is consistent for breakfast and the lunch/dinner meals. There are no alternatives to the terrible food, one food court. Other things follow in this way: the Nescafe coffee is the worst coffee I've ever had in my life, and while it sports a cappuccino bar ... I got some strange amalgamation of half-and-half, hot water, and coffee flavoring that was named cappuccino. This quality of food was also a price-gauge. I did not buy the Disney meal plan, so a stale bagel, raisin bran (the only non-sugar-coated cereal), and milk cost $8.50 I think. It was not unusual to spend $12 - $16 on simple, unfulfilling meals.

Second, there is nothing to do. If you are an adult, there is absolutely nothing to do at the Pop Century. In many hotels, the lobby can be a bit of a destination... walk over, sit down, get a coffee, read the paper, etc... Not at the Pop Century. The Pop Century lobby is loud, no place to sit (literally), and serves merely the simple purpose of waddling customers through very long queues. There is no aesthetic value and it is often packed with screaming or crying children. There is no business center, wifi, or any sort of internet available... so if you hope to check your email at the lobby, you cannot. The lobby is also an insufferably long walk from many of the Motel-6-like dormitories, most of the paths are not shaded, and they bake in the Florida sun. Walking to and from the lobby or dinning hall was an ordeal. Even the other "cheaper" Disney resorts aren't like this, like the Port Orleans, which featured a nice lobby, shaded paths, and a little more aesthetic value. The Pools are okay if you dont mind the typical 3'9" deep, packed with screaming children type Disney pools. No little alcoves or private spots, you're packed shoulder to shoulder with baby's in plastic diapers and that's that. There is a hotel bar but it serves weak drinks and your only option is to drink them in the searing Florida sun. Rooms have a TV, which have about 12 Disney-centric stations, yet do not carry rather basic channels that you'd come to expect... For instance, we couldn't watch the NBA playoffs, which actually featured Orlando (even though the hotel is essentially IN Orlando), because the amidst the 4 Christian Channels and half-dozen Disney activity channels, they didn't carry TNT or the local Orlando sports channel.

The rooms are clean, for the most part. The beds are comfortable and the pillows were pretty good. The bathrooms were well kept by the service folks and most of those aspects were okay. Rooms are bare minimums... So, don't expect a micro, coffee maker, or ... closet. Sinks are outside of the bathroom and provide no privacy. No deck or porch, just the walk way. The elevators were fast... that was nice. The walls are very thin to your rooms, which unfortunately means that if your room faces a pool, you get to fall asleep listening to the dulcet screams and shrieks of the many young children going for their late night swim. It also means that if one particular child on your floor likes to bank on the alluminum railing outside your door at 7:00am every day all week, you get to be woken up by that. I also easily followed the gastrointestinal tendencies of my Pop Century cohabitants.

Third, resort services. The busses run efficiently for the mos part, with the lone exception of the Downtown Disney return bus, which can take an hour, for what is like a 5-mile distance between the shops and the resort. This is because it stops twice at DTD and also again at Typhoon Lagoon and there's a million traffic lights. We road on the DTD bus approximately 50 minutes on a busy afternoon, similar timeframe at night. The Pop Century is also always the busiest and furthest bus stop at every Disney locale, which makes sense given the sheer numbers taking it, but just be prepared to stand for many trips. The location was great compared to a non-Disney hotel/resort, but compared to any other Disney resort, Pop Century is probably the furthest or least convenient from the major destinations. Still, it's usually about 40-minutes from when you arrive at the bus stop to when you enter the park/destination, which is generally very convenient and efficient. Disney cast members were, as usual, friendly and able to meet our needs, although the long lines at Check in, consierge, and food weren't "disney-esque." But, generally, all of the cast members/employees were what you'd expect from Disney, which is great.

Overall assessment. As an adult without small children, I would never stay at the Pop Century again. It was a good experience for what "Disney on the Cheap" gets you, but I'd strongly recommend against any adults from ever staying there. The horrific dinning situation and utter lack of anything to do were the top two problems with the hotel, but it doesn't really shine in any ways either. If you're a family with young kids, Pop Century would be fine... the kids would have fun packing into the pool and think that the bright colors are fun, and if you're the parents, you'll be glad the kids are happy. But, if you're not going with the kids, stay ANYWHERE else at Disney than the Pop Century.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michaelbrazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

My family and I stayed for 7 days at Pop Century. Immaculately presented given it's Disney's budget accommodation. Disney transportation from/to the airport & to the parks & DownTown Disney easy to access. BUT.... Unlike LA, if you don't have a car (as was the case with us), you are well and truly TRAPPED into only buying & eating Disney. We had lofty aspirations of possibly dining elsewhere (as we did in Anaheim 6 years ago), but soon realised there are NO other options. DO take the Disney Dining Plan, we did not and after a day of realising how financially violating it was to eat there, I tried to sign up on my 2nd day of 7 and was told I could only do it at check in. We had one rude 'cast member' at check in, but the other 100 people I dealt with were 100% full of the Disney smiles & magic. We went to Universal Studios for 2 days, took (Free) Disney Transport to DownTown Disney, then took Taxi from DTD to Universal & back again, shuttles cost more.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I have been with my husband 9 yrs we went on our first vacation together in 2001 and went to disney where he proposed at that time we did not stay in parks, second time we vacationed was our honeymoon and we went to disney again , in 2003. we went again in 2005 and stayed at the pop and loved it even though we were spoiled by the floridian all the nostalgia there was just amazing at pop.

i cant wait to come back in sept and show this to my children for the first time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank disneyfanx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews