We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Fun! A little spread out though!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Disney's Pop Century Resort
Ranked #133 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Fun theming and lots of fun things to see an do. However, the resort itself is huge so getting to the main hall/dining/bus area was a little bit of a trek. Pools were very fun and large and never felt crowded though!

Room Tip: I suggested 1st floor because I didn't want to haul my luggage up to the 4th floor. I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVS1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,604 - 3,610 of 10,662 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was the last of the value resorts for us to try. We loved the theme carried throughout and the hotel was a rating of 5 as a property. We would stay there again based on the amenities but have some pause because of the staff. We required a connecting room with friends for a number of reasons, and made that clear from the outset. At online check-in we were assured we had connecting rooms, and again when we returned to the desk to have our magic bands adjusted when the room was available. We went to our rooms only to find that they were not in fact connected. We contacted the desk and were put on an extensive hold to speak to the room assignors. By that point a family member with special needs was having a very difficult time, which was audible to the assignor on the phone. I explained the necessity for the change and she was less than pleasant. I tried to ask her about where they could relocate us in relationship to where we were as we now had a full blown meltdown on our hands. She nastily snapped that if I would stop asking and listen to her I would know where I would be going. It was obviously a difficult situation with the family member only compounded by the nasty attitude of the employee. The friends with whom we were traveling tried speaking to the assignors and were equally met with a very difficult time. It truly impacted our trip. We were unable to move the family member that night and were stuck without the assistance of our friends without the connecting room. It was a friends first trip to Disney, and they were not at all impressed with the customer service. That was disappointing to me because I had sold them on the trip and let them know what excellent customer service Disney always has - only to be proven wrong. When we tried to discuss the situation with the manager, he apologized and offered us extra fast passes as a consolation. I explained that we had a disability access pass and fast passes really offered us nothing. He had nothing else to offer us.

We also had a problem with the gift shop. The first staff member who assisted us was very kind and tried to fix the problem but as she sought assistance from higher up staff members, we were met with opposition on her attempt to fix the problem. The manager was curt and unnecessarily unpleasant. She frankly made the situation worse. She eventually apologized and I explained that this was one of many (I am not detailing everything) situations where we received an apology and I was tired of empty apologies that did nothing to help any of the problems (all of which were created by Disney).

On the flip side the restaurant was excellent (I will write a separate review on that) and customer service shined there. The food was excellent quality and the staff were five stars.

The grounds are wonderful for the hotel and the connecting bridge to Art of Animation was a nice walk. Based on the hotel alone we would stay there again; however, we might consider the other value resorts before this one because of the poor customer service provided throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 22TravelingMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I really like the idea of staying on property especially since we only had a day for the park! Disney transportation always there and u don't worry bout parking e loosing your rental Car! The only problem was the map of the grounds of buildings...got lost every time! But I will stay here again...restaurant was OK for breakfast just noisy and pool bar was nice at the end of the day!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank beachluvr0881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had a great stay at Pop Century resort! The room was clean and well maintained. All staff members were friendly and helpful (My daughter loved the housekeeping staff b/c after they cleaned the room, they put her stuffed animal on the bed and propped the remote control in its paw to make it look like it was watching TV). The resort is quite a ways from the parks, but the shuttle to the Disney parks were always available with little to no wait time. Food was good in the food court. Keep in mind that the food is "quick service". Pizza, tacos, etc. I've read complaints about the cost of food, but It's Disney World folks! Don't expect McDonald's prices anywhere in the park. It's vacation so cut loose! The pools were great here with plenty of lifeguards on duty. We loved the overall theme of the park being everything Pop Culture. A lot of fun! We would definitely stay again. Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Keep in mind the resort is quite a distance away from the parks. Lower level stay in the "90...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RC1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was the first time of our three year old daughter at Disney and our first time at a Disney´s Resort. This value resort is awesome, with clean and large enough rooms. The wal Also, the front desk, concierge and housekeeping are very attentive.
There are a lot of amenities, including free wi-fi, bus transportation to/from Disney´s Parks, free parking, laundry, great pools with life guards, merchandise delivery from the parks to the hotel and a great food court with various food stations.
Overall, we would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We started our Disney experience last year in a moderate Disney Resort. We may have spoiled ourselves by doing so because I felt as if we were comparing everything to where we had stayed before. Overall, Pop Century was a nice property that was well kept, clean room, and friendly staff. As stated in previous reviews, the rooms are very small with minimal decoration (after all, it is a budget resort) and the beds are little!. We are a family of 5 with 3 kiddos ages 6 and under. If the kids were any older, we would definitely have been uncomfortable. The food court is also very crowded/crammed together no matter what time you visit. There is only 1 bus stop area but the walk there isn't too terrible. Depending on what building you are in, it may be just as close to walk over the bridge to Art of Animation and take their bus. The pools are nice and warm. The larger than life decorations at each building are a lot of fun to see. Be sure to walk around and see each area!
Our biggest "let down" from last trip to this one has nothing to do with the resort, but with the new Magic Bands. While these are a fun, colorful, easy way to keep track of everything related to your trip, they still need a lot of improvement! You have to touch the bracelet just right to the specified areas in order for them to properly work, which slows things down. With this system, we enjoyed having the ability to choose our fast passes ahead of time, however we were not able to change these selections on our own. Instead, you have to wait in line at one of very few fast pass kiosks and have a Disney employee help. Worst part about this system is that you are only allowed 3 fast passes per day (it was previously 1/hour). It will all be worked out and will only help with the Magic of Disney :-)
If you are staying at a resort and using magic bands, be sure to order ahead of time to be able to specify a color and to add your names to the bracelets. As your child (and you) use your fast pass, their names will pop up on the employee screen and your child will be addressed as "prince/princes---first name".....Magic!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THoward3412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a family hotel that reminds me of travel through florida in the 70's! It is basically a POP museum through the 50's till today! The staff is fun and you sure feel the disney experience! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Great for the little ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Pop Century Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Pop Century Resort

Address: 1050 Century Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8433
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#106 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#108 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $117 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's Pop Century Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 2880
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the unforgettable fads of the 1950s through the 1990s all over again. From yo-yos and Play-Doh(R) to Rubik's Cube(R) and rollerblades, this Resort hotel salutes the timeless fashions, catch phrases, toys and dances that captivated the world through the decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Pop Century Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Pop Century Resort
Disney Pop Century Hotel
Pop Century Disney
Disneys Pop Century Resort
Disneys Pop Century Hotel
Century Pop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing