We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Rooms, but great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Pop Century Resort
Ranked #135 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was my first time staying at Pop Century. The room was a good size for two people, but I imagine a family of four would be tight. Room was also very clean as was the outside of the hotel, lobby and all other areas. The staff was wonderful and what you exactly what you expect from Disney. The cafe on site was great with wonderful food. I also enjoyed the ice cream bar. The pool was clean and very refreshing after a long day at park. We traveled in December, but it was still 89 degrees outside. The only disadvantage of the hotel is that it is a large hotel, so it was a long walk to the cafeteria, the bus and the lobby. Not an issue in the am, but after a long day of walking at Disney, it was a pain. But that is just my personal experience. If you stay in the 50's or 60's part of the hotel, the walk wouldn't be that bad.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,796 - 3,802 of 10,589 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was our 5th stay at Pop Century and once again a great experience. The hotel grounds are clean and well maintained. The hotel is themed around over-sized decade icons and adorable pools. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Our room 8207 did have a strange odor but it wasn't noticeable after 10 minutes in the room. Housekeeping does a great job and readily stocks the room as often as needed. Lines in the food court can become very congested during certain times of the year; and the food isn't anything worth commenting on other than the fact, it's Disney and over-priced. Bus transportation at this hotel can be VERY crowded. I would recommend the hotel but would suggest eating elsewhere and driving your own vehicle.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disneywalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Booked a preferred room and when I checked in my reservation said regular. Our room was very far from parking and bus stop. Very small room. Clean room with itchy sheets. We only stayed one night but I do not believe I will stay in a budget resort again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKdreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here without the kids. We were on a budget and decided to try this resort. We spent very little time at the hotel but when we were there, we enjoyed it.

The restaurant has several items to choose from which made it nice.

They have a nice running track which I was able to use a couple times. The only complaint is they also have the smoking areas by the running track. So when you are running, a few times you run into a cloud of smoke.

Having stayed at other resorts, we were a little disappointed in the Mousekeeping. We always enjoy the little surprises they leave behind but they only did this one of our seven nights we stayed here. We even left them tips but it did not help.

We will probably try another value resort in the future just to try all of them. It was not a bad place; just a few minor details which could have moved them from the Very Good rating to an Excellent.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jamgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

If you are looking for a no frills resort but still want to be on Disney property than Pop Century certainly fits the bill. The rooms are on the small side but we don’t have young children so it suited us fine.

One of the perks of staying at Pop Century is that it has its own dedicated bus line and doesn’t make any stops to other resorts along the way.

Online checking is highly recommended, it speeds up the process, not to mention the line at the resort for online checking was much shorter than the regular line. The staff were very helpful and informative and even though check in is not until 3pm we arrived about 12:30pm and our room was ready.

There are 3 pools at this resort and they are all very nice. Again, no frills, as they don’t have slides. One of the pools, The Hippy Dippy Pool located by the 1960s has a pool bar. There are no towels provided at the pool, you need to bring them from your room; but this is not a problem, just call mousekeeping and ask for more towels. They have different activities every day for children by the pool.

The food court had a wide variety of food though we didn’t spend much time eating here, mostly for breakfast before we went to the parks and chose to eat most of our meals in the parks.

We actually did a split stay at this resort. We checked out of Pop to go to Universal and stay at the Royal Pacific and the staff at Pop was very accommodating; they kept our luggage in storage as we were due to check back into Pop a few days later. It was extremely convenient to just bring carry on luggage to the Royal Pacific and not have to deal with all our big luggage.

I’ve read people complain about the noise level at this resort and I can honestly say that it was very quiet and had no problems with noise. We were in the 50s building for the first part of the trip and the 70s when we checked back in the 2nd time.

If you don’t want to spend a lot of money on a resort but still want to enjoy the perks of being on Disney property then I recommend Pop Century.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stellina1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I have previously stayed at the Coronado spring resort and loved the experience. At first we were not sure about booking a value resort but Pop Century surprised us.

We stayed in the 60s area. The room honestly does not differ that much from a moderate resort, it contains all the basic things you need. Plus, when at Disney how often do you really stay at your room. Although the 60s area was noisy given it is close to the pool, so if you like quiet, make sure you specify and request at the front desk.

The resort compare to moderate is a lot smaller, so I would say there really isn't a "bad" or "far" location. Although if you have trouble with mobility that would be a different story.

The staff here are okay. I say that because it's not a consistent experience. I've encountered some good staff and some poor staff. It is a work place after all for those people and you will get a mix range of employees. But generally speaking comparing to my previous Disney visits, the staff seem a lot grumpier than before. Remember you are at Disney and speak up if you are not happy with the service!

The restaurant is good, has a variety of selections but since we spent most of time in the park we only had breakfast here.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank McBerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed here with 3 boys and had a great time. It is a no frills hotel at Disney, but what more do you need? We had a pool that was convenient to our room and not very busy. The bus stop was not too far from our room. THe lines are a pain to stand in, but they typically didn't take too long. There was no frills with this room. We didn't get any of the Disney towel characters that people talk about.

Would stay here again. There was nothing special but nothing wrong either.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Librarian4ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
2.1 mi away
Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
0.3 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
2.0 mi away
Disney's All-Star Music Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Disney's All-Star Sports Resort
1.2 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Pop Century Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Pop Century Resort

Address: 1050 Century Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8433
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#106 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#108 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $115 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's Pop Century Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 2880
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the unforgettable fads of the 1950s through the 1990s all over again. From yo-yos and Play-Doh(R) to Rubik's Cube(R) and rollerblades, this Resort hotel salutes the timeless fashions, catch phrases, toys and dances that captivated the world through the decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Pop Century Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Pop Century Resort
Disney Pop Century Hotel
Pop Century Disney
Disneys Pop Century Resort
Disneys Pop Century Hotel
Century Pop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing