We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time at Pop Century and most likely the last.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Disney's Pop Century Resort
Ranked #138 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Port Huron, MI
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“1st time at Pop Century and most likely the last.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from a 6 day stay at Pop Century. Here are the pro's/con's:
Pro's:
*had a preferred room, so it saved on walking as it was closer to main building
*grounds are very clean
*pool area is very nice/clean
*activities for kids (nightly movies, pool side trivia/crafts)
*never waited longer than 10 minutes for a bus
*poolside bar
*clean/efficient laundry area
*desserts in food court were delicious

Con's:
*cleanliness of the room was less than desirable (I took soap and a wash cloth and cleaned surfaces, door handles, doors and the cloth was disgustingly black when I was done)
*LOUD groups of teenage cheerleaders from Argentina would at times swarm the common areas. They were rude and inconsiderate of other guests.
*night concierge told me she could print our boarding pass for Spirit Airlines as long as I didn't mind giving her the log in information. Went back the next morning to do so and was told they could not. I could walk to Art of Animation to their business center and do it there.
*food in common area was not very good. By the time you go through the checkout line and sit down, it's stone cold.
*Wi-fi in rooms is HORRIBLE. Would boot us off and we'd have to re-set device. This happened with multiple devices. Lobby Wi-fi worked great.
*beds were old and uncomfortable. Only 2 pillows per bed with no extras in our room.
*bed spread was NOT clean. We didn't use them as there were visible stains. yuck!
*no in room coffee maker.
*hair dryer was weak and it took forever to dry my hair.

I doubt I would ever stay at this resort again.

Room Tip: pay for a preferred room so you are closer to food court, especially if you need coffee in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boogsy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,701
    4,387
    1,660
    464
    227
See reviews for
6,728
1,593
172
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,036)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night. Between flights in and leaving on a Disney Cruise. The facility is average. Good value. Simple. The food area is chaotic with poor customer flow patterns. Food is average. Not much to do if you're not going to Disney World or the pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_from_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a review of this year's trip to Disney World and we picked the Pop Century resort again. That should say a lot about how much we like this resort. There's not a lot I want to add to my review from last year other than to update our family experience. Last year, it was just 3 of us, two parents and a 15 month old. This year, it was 4 of us, two parents a now 2 year old and our 5 month old baby (both boys). The room we stayed in was large enough for us. These rooms are not big, but we are not in them much other than to sleep. If you plan on spending a lot of time in your room with more than 2 people you may want to look elsewhere. The confines are tight. The wife and I in one bed, the 2 year old in the other bed, and the 5 month old in the hotel-supplied pack 'n play.

The resort is still very clean and up to date. It probably looks very similar to how it did when it first opened. That is a lot more than I can say for most hotels of this age.

The service is still very good. Maid service was great, considering the amount of "stuff" we have for the four of us. Front desk and concierge were very informative and helpful. The service at the food court did slip a little versus previous visits. I noticed a lot of new trainees and that may explain the degradation. On two different occasions I recieved cold food. And on other occasions I was told I would have to wait 7-10 minutes for food to be ready, so I had to make other choices.

This is a "value" resort, but I think that it provides more than just value. The luggage service, airline check in, Magical Express and resort shuttle service are lot more than any non-Disney property can provide at the same price. Plus, how many hotels have food courts, arcades, multiple pools and a full service store? These value resorts offer a lot for the money especially if you go during the off season when prices are the lowest.

I would highly recommend a stay at this Disney resort. I'm sure we'll be back. The only reason we wouldn't stay here is if we can afford the next level up in the future.

Room Tip: We chose top floor and close to the lobby and elevator. Some room choices come at a premium which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our second stay at Pop Century (previous visit was 2009). We were there during the end of the year, busiest time of the year for WDW. Pop Century was still a great place to stay!

Cons: Yes, the room smelled stongly of cleaning agent when we first got there. Hello nice people out there -- it is Florida. We just opened the door for 20 minutes, turned up the heat to rewarm the room, and seriously, we didn't notice the cleaning smell again. The room we stayed in was small ,but we knew this already since we had stayed here before. Their restaurant and offerings are ok, but not great. Again, we knew this but tend to spend little time in the resort area so knew we could find better food offerings in the park.

Pro and Con: Disney quick service dining and the resort... We found it somewhat fun to find the most expensive and tasty food options at the various quick service dining areas. Pop Century's restaurant was ok for loading up on breakfast before hitting the park, and for filling up our mugs with ice tea, coffee, hot chocolate, etc. while sitting by the pool or while letting our tired feet rest in the seating areas or our room at the end of the day. If you are looking for a mini adventure, walk across the bridge to the Art of Animation resort and eat or have coffee there for some additional choices (we also hopped the bus back to the Art of Animation sometimes if it got there first so we wouldn't have to wait for the Pop Century bus).

Pros: The staff was kind and mostly efficient. The room was kept neat, even though it was small and kept getting bits of tourist items and papers added to every surface from each park each day of our stay. Challenge for any housekeeping crew so I commend them on their efforts. They make a decent effort to keep people entertained while hanging around the resort. The pool had some good entertainment during the day. There was a movie shown either outside or inside each evening. The place is kept in great shape, though you do need to adjust your thinking a bit about this during the holidays since the entire WDW systems gets overloaded by tourists and I did notice some areas that were less than pristine (this is not typical).

We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our second stay at the Pop Century. The woman who checked us in was VERY friendly and nice. We enjoyed spending afternoons at the pool because they play different trivia games that are fun for all ages. The customer service is somewhat lacking. We definitely knew that we were staying at a "value" hotel. We were put in a room with two full size beds and we had requested a king. The hotel was full so they were not able to accommodate us the first few nights we were there. When they were able to move us, our new room had a half eaten granola bar on the floor as well as a "First Visit" button. We were not really impressed with our stay and were disappointed with the level of customer service we received.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pair-of-bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you plan to be in your room to sleep, the Pop Century is just fine. It is a clean, comfortable bed and bathroom at the end of a long day at Disney World that allows you to save a little cash on the hotel for money splurges in the parks. There is a fridge.

My friend and I stayed here for a three night stay. Because it is a Disney property, you have the convenience of having the shuttles to the park right there. There is a restaurant and large shop on the property as well. We stayed in the 80s section, which was great because it was near the shuttle stops, which was the only part of the property we used.

Note: Because this is a value resort, your bus slot at the parks will be one of the furthest from the park entrance. Just an FYI.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kait414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just got back from a trip to Disney. Normally I stay at the Contemporary because I enjoy being on the monorail and I love to have easy access to a quick cup of tea or snack, etc. It's just a quick elevator ride down. Anyways, I wanted to do a short, inexpensive trip to Disney (there really is no such thing) and decided to try the Pop Century Resort. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was cute and clean. The Mickey shaped towels were a plus. We stayed in a preferred room in the 60s building. Just a short walk to the main building and buses. Since it was just my daughter and myself, there was plenty of room. The only problem that we encountered was that the Pop seems to cater to foreign teen groups. They were awful!!!! There were hundreds of them. They were rude and loud. Thank goodness, they were in the back buildings, so the only time that we really had to deal with them was in the food court and the bus stops of the parks. There were 2 evenings that we couldn't get anywhere near the food court, so we had to order pizza and had it delivered to our room. The bus stops at the the close of the parks was a zoo when they were there. The buses were fine, as Disney filled them one after another without stopping (we finally made the 4th one). There were just so many teens that were pushing, shoving, yelling and chanting. I felt badly for a young couple waiting at the bus stop. They had a young child who was crying and the dad was trying to cover his son's ears with his hands.The groups of teens were chanting (yelling) and trying to outdo each other. I know that this is not Disney's fault, but maybe they should spread the different youth groups through out the hotels.

Room Tip: Request a preferred room, so that your walk to the buses and food court are not too far. AND....ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elv624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
2.1 mi away
Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
0.3 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
2.0 mi away
Disney's All-Star Music Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Disney's All-Star Sports Resort
0.9 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Pop Century Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Pop Century Resort

Property: Disney's Pop Century Resort
Address: 1050 Century Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8433
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#106 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#108 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's Pop Century Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 2880
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the unforgettable fads of the 1950s through the 1990s all over again. From yo-yos and Play-Doh(R) to Rubik's Cube(R) and rollerblades, this Resort hotel salutes the timeless fashions, catch phrases, toys and dances that captivated the world through the decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Disney's Pop Century Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Pop Century Resort
Disney Pop Century Hotel
Pop Century Disney
Disneys Pop Century Resort
Disneys Pop Century Hotel
Century Pop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing