We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Door left unlocked by hotel staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Pop Century Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Pop Century Resort
Ranked #140 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Door left unlocked by hotel staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Generally, this resort is a good deal. The place has a lot of character and the cafeteria is convenient. It was really nice to have complementary transportation to and from the airport. I was not pleased with the room cleaning service. They didn't really take care of the room well, which didn't bother me too much until I came back to the room late at night and the door of my room was open, not shut all the way. We had made a point of making sure the door was locked when we left the room that morning and to find it open was extremely unsettling, especially since I came home alone. Nothing was amiss, but to know that the room was unlocked and that anyone could have walked it was extremely unpleasant.

Otherwise, the stay was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MM27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,572
    4,235
    1,575
    447
    219
See reviews for
6,445
1,540
164
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,955)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at Pop Century for 2 nights in December. We were in the area for a Disney World wedding. We chose this resort because it was on the wedding discount list. There are few Disney hotels that accommodate a family of 4. We had to book 2 rooms; there are 2 double beds in each room but they do not offer a rollaway bed. We did not want to upgrade to the Boardwalk Hotel for just an extra bed. The room was clean. We had a weekend trip so we didn't spend much time in the room. There are several buildings; the complex is large. We went to the food court for breakfast once. It was pricey and the food was just ok. The shuttles were great from the hotel; buses were coming in and out of the resort taking you to any Disney park including Downtown Disney. It was very easy finding a bus to take us back to the hotel.

Room Tip: A building close to the main building/lobby is more convenient. We were in Bldg 10 on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherf68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Family vacation (7 of us) stayed in two, connecting preferred, pool view rooms. The rooms were typical hotel, standard rooms...but clean, well maintained units. We loved having them connected, was like we were together. The pool view was great, but noisy until midnight! I would suggest if you want quieter request preferred, but not pool view. Preferred puts you in 60's near Classic pool, food court, arcade. Suggest you purchase the mug to get unlimited drinks while there....we were so close, it was easy to go down and get coffee, hot chocolate, or soft drinks whenever we wanted (hrs 6 am to midnite)....and less expensive. We shared one mug, per family and took turns. Loved being on Disney, so could use buses to get around. We had cars, so could also leave and get food off site (cheaper, and more variation).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The title says it all. The rooms are a bit outdated but of course when you're at Disney, you definitley do not spend any time in the room so it doesn't really matter! This resort had the bus transportation that is the best thing EVER!!! The property is a bit confusing to navigate and is a bit of a hassle if you do not understand where you are going. We didn't eat on property since we spent all of our time in the parks but they had a hospital cafeteria type set up food court. If you're on a tight budget and don't care about what your room looks like, this is the way to go! Oh and if you go at a busy time, prepare to wait 10-30 minutes for anything in the lobby. We waited 30 minutes to check in and another 20 minutes to print off boarding passes. Wish we could fast pass it! Haha.

Room Tip: Since it's a motel style hotel, I found our first floor room convenient...no stairs or elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goaldengirl010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

,This is my first stay with Disney value resort. That being said, value or not, this hotel falls terribly short of amenities. The rooms are extremely small, with a bonus mini fridge, but no coffee maker or microwave. The weather is cold, and the pools are about the same temperature. No hot tub, or indoor pool. The food court is a frenzy with overpriced foods, and by the time you get your be prepared to wait. They have 4 cashiers to push through crowds with lines on both sides. The the time you pay for your food, its ice cold. Consequently, there's the only microwave located by the register to reheat. The public restrooms need a serious deep cleaning (removing the urine of the stall walls) and repairs. We endend up paying to swim at another hotel. Its hard to find any redeeming qualities at this resort. First and last time here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samm1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

At my time at Pop Century, little over 5 days, I found the experience enjoyable. I have stayed previously at the All Star Sports Resort and I can attest to the amount of care given to grounds and staff.

Upon my arrival, I was allowed to check in early and was allowed to choose the room wing I stayed in. This made quite a difference, even if the room was the farthest from the main cafeteria.

The room itself was suitable but not outstanding. The flat screen TV was a nice touch, as we had a large chunky one at the All Star Sports last year. The recent addition of free wifi and refridgerator made things easier when we wanted to relax at our hotel after a day at the park.

The staff was caring and helped when needed.

The overall theme, which in my case was the 1950s, was beautifully decorated. It was a pleasure walking the grounds from the cafeteria back to my hotel room just to admire the set detail in the grounds.

One thing I did notice was that we requested a queen bed and was assured it was one, only to be given a double. We were far too tired at check in so we simply didn't bother the hotel staff with finding us a new place.

Also, if traveling for a couple it is noted that perhaps paying for a Moderate resort is better. There was an abundance of kids at all hours (until around 11pm) running around outside.

Room Tip: Get to buses early to avoid having to wait. First floor rooms have a lot of noise, even in places...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We previously stayed in a moderate Disney resort and this was our first value resort. We found it to be better in many ways than the moderate resorts. Our room was closer to the main building at Pop Century, where both the bus stops and the cafeteria is located (at our previous resort we walked a 1/2 mile to the main building). The bus ride to the parks was only about 2 minutes longer than our ride had been on our previous trip so no complaints there. Overall, totally worth the money. I was concerned that we'd have fewer perks but I found plenty of benefit to Pop Century that made the money savings totally worth it.

Room Tip: All of the room buildings were pretty close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbr_Lubbock_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando – Disney Springs Area
2.1 mi away
Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
1.9 mi away
Disney's All-Star Music Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
2.0 mi away
Disney's All-Star Sports Resort
0.9 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Pop Century Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Pop Century Resort

Property: Disney's Pop Century Resort
Address: 1050 Century Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8433
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#106 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#108 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Disney's Pop Century Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2880
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the unforgettable fads of the 1950s through the 1990s all over again. From yo-yos and Play-Doh(R) to Rubik's Cube(R) and rollerblades, this Resort hotel salutes the timeless fashions, catch phrases, toys and dances that captivated the world through the decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Disney's Pop Century Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Pop Century Resort
Disney Pop Century Hotel
Pop Century Disney
Disneys Pop Century Resort
Disneys Pop Century Hotel
Century Pop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing