We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January Honeymoon -Value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Disney's Pop Century Resort
Ranked #124 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed May 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Pop Century in one of the 90's buildings from January 10th-15th for the first leg of our honeymoon. We visited the parks for 4 full days.
Check-in was fast enough. We did the online advance check-in before we left home.
There is a special check-in lane for those that did that.
The restaurant/store are close to the front desk area also. The decorations were neat with something from each of the decades.
There was a short hike to the 90's buildings but luckily the bus pick-up/drop-off area was close to us. The 90's buildings are on the other side of the parking lot.
Since it was our honeymoon we requested a king-sized bed instead of the standard twin beds in the rooms. The rooms have simple understated Disney theming. The bed was comfortable enough.We had a view of the backside of the buildings. NO pool view. The shower was definitely in need of an overhaul with re: to caulking and stains in the tub however the rest of the room was clean and comfortable.
We only ate in the restaurant once because we chose to eat all our meals in the park. We did try the pool once. Apparently it was unseasonably cold in FL this past January and the pool reflected that. We only stayed in for a bit..too cold.
The thing we loved most about the hotel was that it had its own shuttle stop/bus. After an especially long day it's nice to know that once you board the bus it's straight back to the hotel with no other stops or in the morning no other hotel stops between you and the parks! We loved that.
This is my second time at WDW and my first stay at a Value resort. I would recommend this hotel for someone who is looking for a comfortable place to lay their head at night/free non-stop ride to the resort. However if you are looking for a resort hotel that offers a plethora of activities/amenities for a longer WDW stay I would suggest trying a Moderate resort like Port Orleans.
We would stay again if we were looking for a way to save money and still have a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Auburnmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,948 - 5,954 of 10,768 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2011

We have been to this hotel 3 times its brillaint if your in florida for a disney holiday this is the perfect hotel on a budget. the busses are right outside the hotel to all the disney parks and there all about 10-20 minutes away.
This hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly, there are 3 big pools that are heated and open long hours. There are pool staff that keep the pools very clean every day.
The rooms at this hotel are a nice size and have 2 double beds in the rooms are always kept clean and there are fresh towels every day. If you want extra towels the cleaners are happy to give you more.
There is a big selection of food you can buy for breakfast lunch and dinner but its like a canteen, we only had breakfast there and ate in the parks and downtown disney in the evenings as its a nice atmosphere.
Id recomend this hotel to anyone!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room for pool or garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidays_4_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

This was our second visit to Pop Century. This visit was just as good as the first. They have updated the rooms with flat screen TV's and added the curtain around the sink and beds. We found this very helpful when people were getting ready in the morning. Our party included 2 adults and one 11 year old. We all find the room size adequate for our needs. We checked the beds - no bed bugs - nothing in site. Of course I didn't expect to see any but we always check. The hotel room and the grounds were very clean. Lets face it we are in the rooms limited amounts of time and mostly were we exhausted from the parks so we went right to bed. We stayed in a preferred room over in the 50's section on the back side. This is a great location - very quite because it is away from the pool. We did go to the bowling pin pool and the Hippy Dippy Pool. We preferred the Hippy Dippy Pool because it was heated. In the summer I am sure the Bowling Pin pool would be just a nice. We did tip housekeeping everyday and we did get towel animals - they even placed them in different places every day along with our daughters stuffed animals. We were celebrating a birthday during our visit and one personal triumph. The employees at the resort were very friendly and always said Happy Birthday to us. We had no problems with anyone at the resort. We were on the dining plan and ate a few times at Everything Pop and Shop Dining. The food is average but you get plenty to eat on the dining plan. We used one quick service meal in the morning with one snack for breakfast and it feed all 3. The in the parks we would use the other 2 quick service meals for lunch and it feed all 3 of us again. Disney Dining is defidently the way to go. We also took advantage of when we purchased things in the park - having them shipped back to the hotel. You have to have at least 2 days on your visit left to take advantage of this but it is well worth it. All of our items showed up at the Everything Pop Shop on time as promised. One tip to anyone on the Dining plan - make sure you make reservations for your table service. We also took advantage of the Disney Magical Express - this is a great service too. All in all we had a great visit with both Disney and Pop Century and would defidently return again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piercka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We have stayed at the All Stars resorts in the past so knew what to expect from Pop Century. We asked for a room on the top floor to try and minimise noise and was allocated a room on the top floor of building 9 (80s theme). The room was very clean and one of mousekeeping staff entertained us with arrangements of soft toys and flannel animals. The only noise that I heard was toilets flushing in other rooms but this can be lessened by closing the bathroom door at night. I would have liked a bigger bed but it was comfortable enough.

The food court was fine and not often crowded, although we probably ate all our meals earlier than the majority of people. The selection is good and I'd recommend the shrimp lo mein and 'mom's night out' dinners. I was pleased that the soda choices included more no sugar options than on our last visit. Watching the cast members do the twist in the morning and the hustle in the evening was fun too.

We were close to the computer pool and went in their on a number of evenings. It was reasonably warm and not too busy. Went in the hippy dippy pool once and that was fine too.

I used the laundry halfway through our stay and it was fine. There were a number of laundries at the resort, which was better than the single ones that I remember from All Stars. It wasn't busy and there was a cart that I could load up with the dry clothes to get them back to our room.

Used the bus transportation to get to the Disney parks. Never had to wait too long and thought that Pop was closer to most of the parks than All Stars. My only gripe was that the bus stops at the parks were always the furthest away from the park entrances - not great when you have sore feet.

I would certainly stay there again and would recommend the resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreyK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

When I booked this hotel, I didn't think it mattered where I stayed with my daughter (she's 11) because we weren't going to spend much time at the hotel anyway. Well the room was the size of a peanut. We had double beds so the first bed was about 4 inches from the door. The maid came daily, but she never changed the sheets and we were there more than a week. How do I know she never changed the sheets? My daughter spilled a bit of orange juice on her sheet and i pulled the blanket all the way back so the housekeeper could see it and she just made the bed. Another time my daughter left the ipod on the bed and there it was in the same spot later that night. It's like all they do is come in and fill the sheets. The food is terrible in the cafeteria, so just get quick meals at the park or in DTD if you are on a budget. The buses take FOREVER even though Pop has their own bus line and they don't share like the other resorts. The people are nice at the resort, but you don't have much interaction with them so I'm not sure how beneficial that would be.

Room Tip: Complain that you hate it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayleensmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed during the busiest week before Easter. Our luggage arrived within 15 minutes of our arrival at the hotel! The rooms were clean and quiet. We stayed in the 70's building, which was close to the lake, pool and foor court. The meal plan is a must! There were ample choices for our varied group of 2 teenagers, 3 toddlers, a 6 year old and 6 adults. We never waited more than 10 minutes for any bus, and all busses, with the exception of the Animal Kingdom bus, went directly to their destination. The staff was friendly and helpful right up to the end, when our luggage was checked right through to our home airport. I would highly recommend the Pop Century - you get the same perks as all the other Disney hotels for a great price!

Room Tip: Ask for the preferred rooms, convenient to all
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
Thank Caggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This was my first time visiting Disneyworld and we really enjoyed our time at Pop Century. The rooms were very clean, the beds comfortable and the service was great. The rooms were on the small side, but as long as they were clean we were fine. We were on the meal plan but with two children I brought additional snacks from home to help out. We checked in around 3:30, about 20 minutes later all of our luggage was in the room. Each day the bed was made, our cleaning lady would create cute mickey ears with the towels. We would choose Pop Century again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
2.4 mi away
Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
0.3 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
1.2 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Disney's All-Star Music Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's All-Star Sports Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Pop Century Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Pop Century Resort

Address: 1050 Century Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8433
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#106 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#107 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $117 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's Pop Century Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 2880
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the unforgettable fads of the 1950s through the 1990s all over again. From yo-yos and Play-Doh(R) to Rubik's Cube(R) and rollerblades, this Resort hotel salutes the timeless fashions, catch phrases, toys and dances that captivated the world through the decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Pop Century Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Pop Century Resort
Disney Pop Century Hotel
Pop Century Disney
Disneys Pop Century Resort
Disneys Pop Century Hotel
Century Pop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing