We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent dogs, but VERY slow service.”
Review of Kona Dog Food Truck - CLOSED

Kona Dog Food Truck
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Polynesian, Hawaiian, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Description: While we search for a newer Hut location, we remain completely mobile! Check out our Twitter feed and Facebook page for upcoming locations – we’re available all the time! Come, enjoy a flavorful, some fresh squeezed lemonade, and relax to the relaxing music of the Pacific. We look forward to seeing you!
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty decent dogs, but VERY slow service.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The dogs were pretty good and a good size. The service was VERY slow and the guy could have been a little more energetic and friendly. Also would be nice if prices were posted. $2 for a CAN of soda is ridiculous!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TjakO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Hawaiian Pulled Pork is a MUST!!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was at the Windermere Food Truck Round Up in June and Kona Dog was advertising Hawaiian Pulled Pork Sandwiches. I love pulled pork, but I wasn't sure about the Hawaiian twist. I'm glad I took a chance, because the sandwich was amazing.

It was a giant sweet roll with tender pulled pork, Hawaiian BBQ sauce and another sauce, which I cannot remember. It was juicy and sweet without being soggy and drippy.

The young men who were running the truck were also very nice and efficient.

It was absolutely delicious and I will keep my eye out for Kona Dog again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a4zat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My very first food truck!!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was so excited to see that the Kona Dog Truck offered veggie dogs because I was dying to try one! I was told that I'd have to wait because the veggie dogs are only heated on request - I didn't mind ~ was just glad they had them! I wasn't sure what flavors to get and the girl recommended the garlic lemon sauce with coconut fruit sauce and pineapple mustard. I figured if I was going to spend $5.00 on a veggie hotdog, I was going to go for it! It was delicious!! I loved the flavors with the dog - the only suggestion would be to use a larger veggie dog (I have some in my fridge right now that are much closer in size to the 1/4 pound hotdogs that were offered and would fill the bread better.) My husband was not as adventurous and ordered yellow mustard. He decided that wasn't worth the price and he would try something with fruit next time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stampingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super innovative, delicious and simple menu”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a great concept and the Food is GREAT! So many times when dining at a food truck you are presented with so many complex options and it can be super overwhelming just knowing what to order... Not so with Kona Dog, they have a very simple menu while still having the ability to customize your order. The presentation, quality and taste is AWESOME!! My wife and I try to eat there once a week when they are at the RDV Sports Complex in Maitland Florida on Fridays lunchtime! Definitely give them a try!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“food truck now!”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

They should put a sign at their old location letting people know they are a food truck now because i went there on a recent vacation and wanted a kona dog so bad but their old location was closed!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sublime305407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Dog Food Truck also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing