We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fancy a bite to eat in a quirky but fun setting?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bob Marley A Tribute to Freedom

Bob Marley A Tribute to Freedom
Ranked #310 of 3,745 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Universal CityWalk
Description: Share in a one-of-a-kind celebration of music and culture as Bob Marley: A Tribute to Freedom at Universal CityWalk takes you on a musical journey through the life of the "King of Reggae." Bob Marley’s songs of faith, hope, rebellion, and determination have brought inspiration and joy to audiences everywhere. Working closely with Rita Marley and the Bob Marley Foundation, we have created a replica of Bob's home on 56 Hope Road in Kingston, Jamaica. Inside, artifacts, photos, and video clips from his legendary career surround visitors in the open-air veranda and courtyard. The cuisine features Jamaican-influenced appetizers, entrees and desserts. Some of the most popular items are the Oxtail Stew, the Sun is Shining grilled chicken breast marinated in Jamaican curry sauce, and the Taste of Jamaica appetizer platter featuring veggie & beef patties, mango wings and yucca fries.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fancy a bite to eat in a quirky but fun setting?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Needed some food and was looking for something interesting and different, found it here! The food was good, the service swift, a good atmosphere and of course the music was great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    228
    122
    47
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tampa
Level Contributor
187 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Commercialized jamaican food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I came here in the evening before there was a cover charge. Our waitress was nice and it is indoor/outoutdoor seating with bob Marley music playing. I had the beef patty with yucca fries and oxtail stew with beans and rice. My husband had the manchester lamb with curry sauce. We both felt that the food tasted just okay. Not high on flavor. It seemed like a very commercialized version of jamaican food. Even with a little salt it still was very low on flavor. The oxtail stew is three oxtails over a bed of rice. It comes with a little sauce or braising liquid. Its not really a stew. I asked for motr on the side and it had the consistancy of gravy. Overall its about 10 $ a person. Very laid back atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank airie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Take your earplugs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We ate here in the evening while the band was playing. Although they were very good and contributed greatly to the atmosphere, it was loud to the point of not being able to hear the person sitting next to you. The food and drink was excellent - authentic, different and very tasty. We would definitely go again during the day when it is not so busy or noisy just to try more of the menu.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueOctober031111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Strong drinks.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I visited with friends recently and I was presently surprised with the drinks. I told the bartender that I wanted Wray & Nephew and not only did he have it, but he used it well. The band was very entertaining and kept the crowd entertained.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsAdinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had some fantastic meals in Orlando and we were really looking forward to this after some of the reviews we've read. The service was fine and listening to Bob Marley was great.

The food however wasn't particularly tasty. Out of the 4 of us, 1 thought the food great, 3 of us a little disappointed. Sorry but won't be returning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank StephenBideford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Marley A Tribute to Freedom also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Bob Marley A Tribute to Freedom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing