We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Mexican at Epcot”

La Hacienda de San Angel
Ranked #275 of 3,828 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: La Hacienda de San Angel is the newest dining attraction in the Mexico Pavilion, offering an array of zesty, traditional Mexico cuisine and Old World hospitality. Modeled after a classic Hacienda and topped by an azure dome, this 250-seat eatery features indoor seating and has views of World Showcase Lagoon.
Carmel, IN
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican at Epcot”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Fantastic upscale Mexican. My husband and in-laws loved it. My children had a difficult time finding something on the menu because they wanted tacos, queso, and quesadillas. The guacamole was fantastic. Salmon was tasty, as were their version of fajitas. If you are looking for more 'American' Mexican this is not for you. If you are looking for fine dining, Mexican style, I would recommend this place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carrie_GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    304
    136
    71
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to watch the fireworks”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Not the kind of food I'd expect from a Mexican restaurant, very different but great!
Had an amazing view from the fireworks.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Table Grove, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The place was packed and people, including my family, had to wait 40 minutes even with a reservation. The service was pretty good and the food was very good except for the shrimp. I got a meal for two for my wife and it and was very good till we came to the shrimp. I can eat some hotter stuff but I couldn't eat them. I took one bite and had to eat half of the rest of my meal to get the burning to stop. These were huge, beautiful shrimp mind you and it was such a waste that I consulted our waitress that took the shrimp back to the kitchen and brought us some "not so hot" shrimp that tasted great. The menu should have said they were hot and didn't. So you might want to ask the waitress bout the shrimp before ordering.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank strodemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA/Russia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Get a Table by the Window if Possible”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The best part about this restaurant is the view of Epcot from the window. If you can get one, do so. The margaritas were ok, but not amazing. All the adults in our party tried a different kind. The chips and salsa are just ok and so is the food. Most of it was barely warm.
We prefer San Angel Inn, but couples without kids may be more swayed by La Hacienda's less kitschy interior.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mkouzmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lots of food, lots of spice”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked a reservation here hoping to see Illuminations Fireworks, but were seated in a back room. We asked to be moved to an open table near the windows and were told they'd get back to us within 20 minutes. After a half hour, we asked again and were told the window tables were already booked. Based upon seeing the large plates of food coming to tables around us, we decided to get one entree and an appetizer - the taco trio and mixed grill with chicken, steak, chorizo, beans rice and vegetables - for 3 adults and one child. Two of the 3 tacos were good. The mixed grill chicken, steak and vegetables were quite spicy. The choirzo, beans and rice were mild. The entree was large - we left food on the plate. We ordered milk for the 6 years old and was told they were out so she had water instead. Food arrived quickly and the waitress was nice. It took a long time to get and settle the bill...and at no time did anyone sit at the table by the windows. We asked again about sitting there and having dessert and were told they didn;t have any open tables, so we left to have dessert elsewhere. I don't think we'd eat here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank itsnojoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Hacienda de San Angel also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to La Hacienda de San Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing