We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unique experience - choose your room wisely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #39 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
washington, dc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“unique experience - choose your room wisely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

As other reviewers have said, this hotel offers an experience that you will not get anywhere outside of Africa, which is worth the price. The resort itself is also well done, if inevitably a little artificial. Savannah view rooms are worth the price (I am not sure we would have wanted to stay here otherwise), but note that all Savannah View rooms are not the same. We stayed for two nights; the first of our Savannah view rooms looked across to another wing of the hotel and did not have the feel of Africa at all. The giraffes came for the food left for them every morning and departed immediately when they'd finished. We asked for a room change, and were provided a room that looked across to the time share (Kidani Village, I believe it's called). This was far better - more animals, and something of the feeling of Africa (we have been to Kenya and Tanzania five or six times). Giraffe, zebra, wildebeast hung out all evening, and we could watch the sunset. As far as I know, there was no price difference in the rooms, but the experience was completely different.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Friquent_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,033
    1,686
    588
    243
    126
See reviews for
4,183
1,159
52
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,779)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

I cannot recommend Animal Kingdom Lodge enough! My new hubby and I stayed at the Kilimanjaro Club level. Ths savanah view is well worth it. One night we even had a giraffe sleeping right outside our window. The staff is beyond courteous. My husband and I can be very picky and I can honestly say we never experienced even the smallest problem. The grounds are always clean and several times we saw some kind fo improvement happening. ie: painting, etc. I do recommend a rental car over the bus since it is one of the further resorts from the parks (with exception to Animal Kingdom). But if you are looking for a clean, luxurious, home away from home with a twist this is the place to go! Five stars all the way!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anangel32003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

This hotel was the most wonderful place I have ever stayed at!! The place was spotless, the views of the animals were amazing from our balaconey. The attention to details with the furniture and the carpet to have the lion king theme was amazing!! The use of the buses and transportation was great to use on the Disney property. It was the most beautiful and wonderful place i have ever stayed in! well worth the money and expense anytime!! The swimming pool was amazing as well!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vfoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

We loved Animal Kingdom Lodge! We had a Savannah view room and saw plenty of giraffe, zebra, Tommys and other animals during our stay. What a treat to sit on the small deck and watch them eating in the early evening.

The restaurants at AKL are great - Boma has a great breakfast buffet and we had an awesome dinner at Jiko.

We've stayed at French Quarter on prior visit and AKL was definitely a step up. No Wifi as others noted but heck - it's vacation - who needs the internet! Wired internet access is available if you really need an online fix.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NapaWineLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

I just returned from a lovely trip to WDW with my husband and 1 1/2 year old. We booked the AKL and could not have been happier. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. We had a savannah room, which is well worth the money. My daughter woke up every morning wanting to look at the animals outside. The room was nice, not my style of decoration, but large and we had a fridge. The pool was very large and looked nice. We didn't get to try it as it was too cold during our stay. We ate at Bomi for breakfast and it was delish! My daughter has food allergies, but we were able to talk to a chef and get her something to eat. We also ate at Sanaa at the Kidani Villages for dinner one night, which I highly recommend. The reason I didn't give this hotel 5 stars is the beds weren't very comfortable (we had 2 queens and my husband and I ended up sleeping in separate beds). A downside as well was how far this hotel is from a lot of attractions at AKL. Although we did go during off season so the wait for buses wasn't very long to the parks, but we did wait a long time to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STLWildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake View, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

me and my family stayed here and we enjoyed every mintue. the decore was amazing the rooms were clean and fearly well decorated although the drives to the parks was a little long it was worth it our room was on the first floor it was easy to get everywhere we were so close to the pool my children loved the pool they were in it every second they could i would recommend this hotel to EVERYONE!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaniegirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

I teach a class in our local Community College on touring WDW, so we (wife and I) have been to WDW at least once each year since it opened in 1971. We always stay at a different on-site hotel to keep up on things. Because I have a class coming up in March, and since we had not stayed at AKL since just after it opened, we decided to stay for an extended weekend from 2/04 to 2/09. Our flight out of Chicago got us to the hotel shortly before noon, and we had previously used the on-line check-in service. When our reserved room was not yet ready, we were offered an alternate which was ready. The alternate was a handicapped accessible room and because it was on the same level as the lobby and only four rooms away from the lobby it worked out fine. We had a view over the Sunset Savanna, and were able to view giraffe, zebra, eland, ostrich, and various other fauna, mostly in the late afternoon or early evening.

The facilities in the room were much the same as I remembered from our earlier stay, and the service, etc. was generally up to Disney standards. We had breakfast and dinner in the Boma restaurant which was great. The Mara quick-service restaurant was fine for breakfast on the other days. Other meals were taken either at the theme parks, at Downtown Disney, or at the other hotels. Because we always rent a car at the airport, access to the major theme parks was not problem. We did not take any of the Disney buses, having learned our lesson about commuting times in the past.

My only real complaint was the lack of wifi in the hotel. Recent trips around the US and throughout Europe, we were almost always able to check email, etc., via my laptop which is always with me. At AKL, I had to rely on my phone for receiving emails, but i have found it much more difficult to respond on a smart phone (my fingers are too big for the keyboard, and I'm too old to be able to use only my thumbs like my grand kids do). I mean, come on this is the 21st century.

So, our stay was comfortable, but we have always enjoyed the WDW hotels. If not for the lack of computer facilities, I would probably rated this hotel five rather than four stars.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing