We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #37 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Alcoa, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Resort!”
Reviewed May 27, 2007

We stayed here for a pre-flight night on May 11. Overall, the resort was outstanding. Check-in took less than 5 minutes and we were off to our room. There was definitely some construction going on (visible from our balcony), but the noise was not loud or distracting. Upon our arrival to the room, we saw pigs, ostriches, giraffes, and several antelope species. We then went to the pool, which was somewhat crowded. Despite the pool volume, plenty of chairs/umbrellas were available and the pool bar was great. After enjoying the pool, we went back to the room to enjoy a beautiful sunset before dinner at the resort.
Overall, our room was clean, comfortable, and romantic. For those who love light, it may be a little dark. I will definitely stay here again and recommend this resort for couples wanting a romantic escape from typical "city" hotels.

  • Liked — Theming, views from private balconies
  • Disliked — Distance of room from pool area
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Lucyddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,178
    1,740
    601
    254
    127
See reviews for
4,343
1,201
53
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,841)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

AKL, worth the price? not for more than a night or two just for the experience.

Positives: Beautifully decorated rooms, Elaborate Lobby and Surroundings, THE ANIMALS !!!, and of course the staff - they were genuinely friendly and helpful throughout our 8 days there.

Negatives: Very dissapointed in the size of our room. It wasn't much larger than a cruise ship room. I found myself shoving things in every little space I could find. There were only two of us, I could not imagine staying with kids. The rooms are SMALL.

Not all the savanahs are equal. We had a room on the 4th floor, it was too high to enjoy the full experience of seeing the giraffes. Also our savanah viewed a smaller compact "backyard", not worth the money for that view. The middle savanahs had more animals and a prettier view but they are not guaranteed, nor is your bed size, you only get it if its available at check in.

The pool area was ok, but not nearly nice enough for the size of the resort. It had one little slide and 2 spas, really a bit disappointing.

The restaurants were excellent. African themed, excellent service, tasty food, but very high priced.

The animals were always entertaining with live guides to educate you about the environment and animals you were seeing.

SUGGESTIONS:

Get there early on check in and make sure you get a middle savanah view on the SECOND floor, no higher.

Not worth a stay longer than 2 nights to enjoy everything this hotel has to offer.

Definately an experience to have once in a lifetime.

I stayed on the Kudo trail closer to the main hotel and NEVER heard any construction. I really never knew construction was going on in this hotel and I was on the 4th floor.

  • Liked — Animals Animals Animals
  • Disliked — Size of Room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank KatnArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2007

My fiance, our daughters (3 and 7), I just returned this morning from our trip to WDW. We were very fortunate to be able to stay at the AKL. We arrived Monday (5/21) evening and were greeted immediately by hotel staff. They helped us unload our vehicle and took our belongings up to our room as soon as we checked in. The woman who checked us in was pleasant and not one cast member had a nasty attitude.

Once in the room we were in the room, we were amazed at how large the room and balcony were. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. I usually have a very hard time sleeping in hotel rooms, but no problem here. We were on the 5th floor overlooking the zebras, giraffs, and other wildlife. We all just loved being ablet to see this everyday.

The bathroom was dimly lit, but that was not a problem. All other lighting was just right. There was nothing to complain about in the room.

I want to say that there have been other people complaining about the distance of the rooms from the lobby and the bust stop. I say get over it. The hotel is large and of course there will be some walking. It's sad that there are people who would gripe about this. Something else that bothered me that people would complain about is that there wasn't a sewing kit or the toilet is in the same room as the shower. I don't know about you, but that is pretty petty to whine about that.

We also did not have any issues with construction.
When we were ready to check out Saturday (5/26) morning, there was also a bellman there to help us load up.

I would recommend the AKL to EVERYONE. There are plenty of things to do.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Valerieanne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2007

Just wanted to say that this hotel is very beautiful but you have to walk very far to the bus stop, and there is only one bus stop unlike some of the other Disney resorts.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank WendyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2007

A great hotel with lots to offer from entering the lobby to drawing back the drapes and seeing the savannah views.
We particularly liked the cute monkeys sitting on our balcony in the morning sharing one of our granola bars - they soon ran off however when the Giraffes got wind of our In Room Dining and pushed their heads right through the open window and stole the coffee pot (the left the half and half !!). This was amazing and made for some spectacular photographs. After what seemed an age the giraffes moved off only due to the fact that it was alomost time for ''Mickey's Elephant Trumpeting Spectacular'' a magical and tuneful review of old Disney favourites.
It might have been a dream as those beds are really comfy - we have stayed here at least 4 times now and apart from the obligatory loud American families thundering and shouting up and down the corridors with no thought for those who want to sleep .... a great resort (assuming you are within what seems a mile of the lobby otherwise it is a very long walk)

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BichonTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2007

We stayed here in August 2004. It was our first time staying in a WDW deluxe resort. What a beautiful resort it is. The lobby is spectacular. The items you can buy in the shop are very unique. All of the employees (Disney calls them Cast Members) uniforms are themed. They have people from Africa that can tell you about which country they came from and their culture. The animals are wonderful. We had a third story room way in the back of the hotel. I"ve been told a third story room on the Zebra trail overlooking Arusha Rock is the best place to be, and if we go back that is what I will request. At the time Disney was having discounts, and we got what would normally be a $300 a night room for $200 a night.

The kids can decorate cookies at Boma. Make sure to check out the two restaurants, Boma (a buffet) and Jiko, one of Disney's fine dining restaurants. The Mara has quick service food which isn't too spectacular, just your average fare. There were a few good looking things on the menu there, but we stuck with traditional burgers and chicken fingers.

You can see the animals at night using night vision goggles. If you can't afford a savanna view room, don't worry, there are plenty of places on the property to view animals. The same goes for people who can't afford to stay at the hotel. Book a dinner or lunch at one of the two restaurants, and allow time to explore the resort. You can do and see everything at the resort without being a registered guest aside from swimming in the pool.

Their pool is great too!

  • Liked — The animals!
  • Disliked — The distance to the four theme parks
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank t1lersm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2007

Absolutely Wonderful. Wish I was still there. It ain't the Ritz, but then again you don't feel like you are in Africa when you stay at the Ritz. It is what it is and it is awesome. Better then Grand Floridian although perhaps a bit less Disney feeling. We love it though. How about swimming until midnght in Africa with wild animals roaming about and then waking up and eating amongst the African Plains on your private balcony for breakfast. Jiko was awesome too, be prepared for unusual but excellent tastes. Let your expectations of city life and typical five star resorts go and visit Africa without chance of Governmment overthrow. An absolute must, and I am a seriously picky bas*&^d.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank Luckybear3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing