We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #35 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I've lost count of how many times I've stayed at this hotel. Not a lot by many people's standards but a good 6-8 times. Typically club level. Well worth it. Theming is amazing. Staff are typically courteous although you can find the odd one who is not.

Disney went above and beyond with this hotel. I can't say it's perfect, but it's the one we come back to year after year. We always debate on a different one, and in the end come here.

Seeing animals on the savannah is great. Didn't have too many this time around - not sure why - but still enough to inspire some awe at seeing them.

highly recommended

Room Tip: If you can afford it - stay in a savannah room. Or at least a pool view. The pool is gorgeous and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tired T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,579
    1,506
    510
    226
    114
See reviews for
3,644
1,037
46
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks (a fortnight as we Brits call it) at AKL. Overall we liked it. We were in Jambo House and my first impression was that the interior was a bit dark but you do get used to that. The room was spotless and very comfortable, my only complaint would be the bathrooms are very small and I really do not like the wash basins outside the bathroom. The strange thing was this area was quite roomy, what a waste of space it just doesn't make any sense to me. We didn't pay any extra for a Savannah view but we still got a side view and it was lovely seeing the animals every day although there was this one very noisy bird................
We all loved the swimming pool and as I am very poor swimmer I really liked the fact that after the very shallow walk in entry, it was all the same depth. I felt quite happy in there and never worried about getting out of my depth.
We were on the Disney dining plan which worked out great for us although we did seem to be eating all the time lol. The Restaurants are ok but I think they need to vary their menu a bit, it seemed to me to be the same every day. The fast service restaurant near the pool I have to say, did not resemble anything like a 5 star Hotel should offer it looked more like a School dining room.
Would I stay there again? Yes I would overall it was very good and very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redanne29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband is paralyzed and we have been to many of the Disney hotels. This one is one of the few actually worth the money!
The rooms were large and the bathroom had a roll in shower, the pool is a zero depth pool so I am able to roll him in and out of it. We had such an amazing relaxing time. Room service was absolutely delicious, quite memorable as we haven't been since they opened!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank bogdana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford, ME
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I have stayed at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge about 4-5 times and each has been absolutely amazing. I've stayed in both Jambo House and Kidani Village and trust me, Jambo House is the way to go. Definitely stay on the Sunset Savannah or Arusha Savannah for the best wildlife viewing. The restaurant, Boma, is delicious and the pool is amazing. Overall, I would say this is easily my personal favorite resort on Disney Property

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PerGronStudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

If you've not stayed here before it's an experience no to be missed, the animals are great the hotel looks as it's in Africa but of course it's not. Lots of good eateries if your a big carnivore. The buses to the parks are frequent, although it could take 30 mins for arriving to walking into MK. The rooms are good ask for savanna view.

As for the normally great customer service, we had phoned in advance and I was told to come over early and they would see about getting the room early, well the did keep me waiting for 4 plus hours in the lobby waiting for one room!

Room Tip: Savanna view, ask before you leave the reception, as changing it afterwards can be a hassle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Its a fantastic experience living at the lodge. We stayed on the level 2 rooms and had bunk beds for our kids. It was great to watch the animals meandering around the savanna surrounding the lodge. Its the next best experience to actually been in Africa. The restaurant is top notch and a must visit. I would recommend this hotel to families especially those traveling with kids to disney. Its a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ash2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

After checking out the disability policy of this hotel, no mention was made of the low level lighting , no mention that if you have a visual impairment this is not the place to stay. The 1st floor ( access to pool and restaurants) is dismally lit. The lobby is ok in the day due to a large window, but of a night it is so dark my son had no chance of finding his way around. I mentioned this at the front desk and was initially offered a brighter light bulb for our room(!). Thereafter I was offered the opportunity to change hotel but this was not possible as we were staying a the hotel with another family.
This was a sad and restricting holiday for our son and for all of us.

The rooms are not large. A woefully small amount of storage, 1 wardrobe with 10 hangers for a family of 4 for a fortnight. 2 drawers in a chest which combines as a TV stand.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing