We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant get enough of this resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #39 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cant get enough of this resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is simply an amazing resort! We have stayed there twice in the past year, once in Jambo House and the other time in Kidani Village. Really enjoyed both! It is a distance from Magic Kingdom and Epcot, but the views of the animals and the theming of the resort make that extra 5-10 minutes all worth it! The pools AKL are great, especially the Kidani pool slide. A savannah view is nice, but you will have plenty of animal viewing opportunities without it as well. There is no quick service at Kidani, which is a negative, but hopefully they will change that in the future. We had top-notch treatment from all the cast members our entire stay. Can't say enough good things about Animal Kingdom Lodge!

Room Tip: Request a room close to lobby and elevators. It can be quite a hike from some of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,040
    1,687
    588
    244
    126
See reviews for
4,190
1,159
53
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,781)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

It is pricey, however if you plan it as lunch and breakfast it works out as a decent price and the food is fantastic. I hourly recommend the scrambled eggs with goat cheese and spinach. We eat around ten then hit the parks with only a light snack needed before dinner, much better food than the parks as well

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival to the lodge we knew that there was no monorail service to the Disney parks and had expected to use the buses but we didn't expect was the extreme wait times between buses they say 20-30 minutes if you're lucky but buses are sometimes so crowded when leaving the parks you have to wait for another one to come to return to your hotel. The room we checked into was absolutely fine clean and the service was great it is a very nice hotel and we did have views of the animals zebras and giraffes which was great and if you're not planning on doing many of the parks this hotel will work or if you're visiting during off time when things aren't as busy. Hotel would've definitely got five stars had it not been for the lack of monorail service considering the amount of people that visit Walt Disney World and the money they generate the fact that they cannot extend service to me is a little bit disgusting to shuttle people around on diesel powered buses. And again I will emphasize nothing wrong with the hotel if you're not planning on doing a lot of park hopping. P

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Really interesting hotel with real African animals such as zebra's giraffes and antalope outside your window so if you a re not planning to go to Africa anytime soon then this is a good option.
Rooms are of good size and the decor is interesting.

Room Tip: A big hotel so try to get a room close to reception, this really helps the legs after a long day at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AM502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was our first time staying at The Animal Kingdom Lodge. We have stayed at other Disney World properties and this one was by far the best one we've stayed at over the years. The resort features several restaurants, a very big gift shop, a couple of swimming pools, a bar by each pool, a lounge inside and African artwork galore. The best feature of the resort is the choice to have a room with a balcony that overlooks the savanna where wild animals from Africa roam free. It was so nice to be able to sit on the balcony each morning drinking a cup of coffee while watching wild animals roam around the property. The room was very comfortable. There was a coffee maker, a refrigerator, an iron/ironing board, a room safe and the most comfortable beds. The resort's decor is obviously African inspired and everything seemed to be so authentic. The resort is located very close to The Animal Kingdom Park (of course) and is also a short bus ride from the other parks at Walt Disney World. The service at this resort was superb. It's amazing how friendly and wonderful every employee we came in contact was. You really feel very special while being here. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone expecting an above and beyond experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the elevators. Our room was quite a distance from the main lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertECroneJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
463 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We ate at the Lodge's Sanaa restaurant, which I'll review separately. My brother and family were staying at the Lodge, so we went up to their room on the 4th floor to take a look at the savannah. Wow! The most spectacular part wasn't even seeing the giraffes and many other animals, but rather hearing them. We weren't sure if it was just the birds making the noises, but there were some spectacular sounds. It reminded me of howler monkeys in the jungle in that they were quite loud, but the sounds were very different. While I can't comment on the price/value of the hotel, I can say it was very nice and the view was probably very worth it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank garbagecollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I liked the AK Lodge. Exceeded my expectations. I kinda liked being farther away from the parks. The transportation was crazy at times because Kidani is always picked up first and dropped off first, so you are standing most of the time. Getting a seat is a challenge when Kidani has packed the entire bus before coming to Jambo. The pool was awesome. Animals were great. The quick service meals were okay but expensive, I also liked the dark theme and fragrance of the Lodge after being in the sun all day. The only complaint I can come up with the room is the size. It's pretty small and there's no where to put your clothes. We had to order more hangers and hang everything. The TV stand is a waste of space and only has two drawers for the 4 of us. A pet peeve of mine is that the AKL life guards don't let you have your drink in the pool with you. You have to get out of the pool for every drink. I say this because I am used to resorts with swim-up pool bars. You can say what you want about spillage in the pool, but I think some of the guests and children are already "spilling" worse things in the water.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing