We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far the best @ Disney.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #34 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So far the best @ Disney.”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Of course, it all depends on what you are looking for in a place to stay at Disney but I highly recommend you give this resort a try. From the very friendly security staff at the front gate to all other workers we encountered at the resort no one could have been nicer. Had the queen plus bunk bed room and though it would have been nicer to have a little more room it was fine for us. Restaurants and food were good. Pool is nice. Beautiful entrance. Adequate self parking. Loved seeing the animals outside the room. A little more space on the balcony would have been nice but not to big a complaint. Overall-will stay again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank trip_travel9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,121
    1,717
    594
    248
    126
See reviews for
4,270
1,187
53
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,814)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This place is absolutely immaculate in every aspect from the grand entrance at the lobby to the pools and restaurants. I actually felt like I was back home on safari in South Africa. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Yes, the Grand Floridian is more expensive and to some, more prestigious but you can't beat the Animal Kingdom Lodge for the overall Disney experience. Water views are lovely. A grassy savanna with zebras, giraffe, exotic birds and long-horned cattle is priceless.

The entire resort is so culturally rich that it takes days to absorb. The fire pits both inside and outside the lobby invite peaceful reflection or animated conversation with new friends. Everybody is smiling.

All of the restaurants feature the savory cuisine of Africa. Eating is elevated to an interactive educational experience. Parents have the opportunity to introduce the little ones to new tastes, while still having the traditional "comfort foods" as a back up.

Everywhere you look, there is something to learn and something to do. The lobby has cultural exhibits with native teachers and artists. You might encounter an African drum line in the restaurants, the gift shop or in the lobby.

Although we did not stay on the Kilimanjaro Club level on this visit, we have in the past. It has the best view and most extensive food and beverage offerings on Disney property.

The AKL is the only one with wildlife experts on the grounds. Want to learn more about the different types of giraffe? How about the dietary habits of the impala? Just ask! After dark, the lodge provides night vision goggles so you can observe the animals in their natural habitat without disturbing them.

The pool has a zero entry so there are no stairs to navigate. There are activities for the children every day poolside with the super friendly lifeguards. The hot tub is down a semi-secluded path with lush vegetation.

The true gem, though of this incredible resort is the staff. Everyone, and I mean everyone was smiling, accommodating and gracious. Rashida at the front desk checked us in and also was there when we checked out. She was so warm and welcoming, I almost didn't want to leave the desk.

When selecting a room, there is nothing to be gained by paying less and booking a standard view. You can get a room over looking a parking lot or a roof line just about anywhere. If you are willing to spend $250 or more per night for a hotel room, you can afford a few more dollars to get the entire experience. For the budget conscious, staying 4 nights in a savanna room will cost the same as 5 nights with no view. It simply is not worth it to deprive yourself of the awesome experience of waking up, pulling back the drapes and seeing the animals outside your window. It really makes it seem like an African safari without the jet lag.

The location of the AKL might be considered out of the way if you are traveling to the theme parks several times a day. I do suggest, though, that you consider the resort to be a theme park in its own right. There is much to see, do, learn and explore and you don't even need a separate ticket.

Room Tip: The savanna views are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JulieKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brusly, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

AKL is our home resort ( we are DVC) and every time we go, we enjoy it more and more!! Beautiful resort-- loved the animals, restaurants, and the pool. We had an amazing Disney vacation!! My only regret was that I wish I would have had more time to spend at the resort!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank islandtigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so cal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had the amazing opportunity to stay at DAK. It was so amazing. We arrived around 7am from our red eye and our room was immediately available. So awesome. I got to take a shower and get the plane off me. We had a pool view which was mildly obstructed by some trees but was great none the less. It was really cool to step outside the lobby and see the animals. We did spend a day at the pool which was very relaxing. The water slide was fun too. The environment of the hotel is very calm and peaceful. At the same time there is much to explore so it is exciting at the same time. You do get what you pay for and at this hotel you get so much!

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower wing off the main lobby offer a secret entry/exit that is EXTREMELY close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimelee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Only Disney can put together the magic feeling of staying at a zoo while keeping everything extremely clean and tidy. The rooms decor matched the theme, as did the rest of the hotel, and waking up to seeing a giraffe out the window is such a fun experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pleachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My family and I stayed here the last week of April 2014. What a beautiful place to be, inside and out. For me it was like being on your own tropical island. I would stay there again in a heart beat. The entire atmosphere is lovely and so were the staff. Just to be able to walk out of the door and catch a bus wherever you wish to go was wonderful for me. I could have stay at the lodge the entire time without going to the parks, it was great watching the animals roam outside our balcony. My 2 yr.old granddaughter was so excited to be there and so was I. A little expensive but overall worth every bit.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in was roomy, quiet and very serene. Just walking thru the halls is an entirely di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andreg445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#11 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing