We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #33 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Excellent for families, always again. Unbelievable view and fun, for all ages
Service is excellent. Once I left my light on in the car overnight, I was informed pro-actively in the morning and the service team was available within minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weltenbummler6613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,333 - 3,339 of 7,209 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Animal kingdom lodge is a nice hotel ...... But

There is no Disney magic at all we had a room over looking the animals den but unless your going to sit in the balcony all day it's a bit of a waste

The housekeepers don't make any special effort no animals made from the towels or chocolates on the pillows in fact no turn down service at all

Food was great but we only had breakfast in the lodge as we were at parks most of the day night

I think for the money they should go the extra mile and I don't think they do

The new magic bands are a great addition as it saves carrying tickets and cash around all day

We had a great holiday and that's what it's all about but if I was you I'd book a better hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob51559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed at AKL with my wife and two daughters (4 and 8), in a savannah room. Overall, this resort is very nice. Service was top notch from everyone we interacted with. I wasn't overly impressed with the room. It was a little on the small side, especially the bathroom. Our room was on the Kudu trail, facing the Sunset Savannah. We had a second floor room, which is actually the first floor of rooms. We didn't see as many animals from our balcony as you could see by visiting the observation points on the Arusha Savannah. We did see giraffes pretty much every day though. We had other family members traveling with us. We booked together and our travel agent requested our rooms be close together. They other rooms were booked as Standard. They ended up getting a partial Savannah view, which I'd say was 90% of what we got paying a lot more for a Savannah view.

We spent most of our time at the parks, so we only ended up eating once at AKL. We ate at Jiko, which was a very good meal with excellent service. We did have drinks at Victoria Falls one evening. The selection of beers, wines and spirits was excellent and the service was excellent there as well. Buying drinks at the pool was was very expensive. Expect to pay about $10 each.

The pool is pretty large and the water temperature is great. Loungers right around the pool are sparse, so it can be difficult to get one close unless you grab one early in the day. There are plenty of loungers that are separated from the pool by some greenery.

Travel to the parks wasn't too bad. The buses are frequent and the longest ride is about 20-30 minutes. We ended up coming back to AKL each afternoon so the kids could have some downtime, then back to the parks for supper, so the travel time did add up.

The biggest draw of this resort is the animals. If you have kids who love animals, this place will be great for your family. I overestimated the interest my kids would have. After the first day, they didn't seem overly interested in looking at the animals, which made me feel like I wasted the money on a Savannah room. Next time we go to Disney World, I will pick a resort that is closer to all the parks, especially MK.

While AKL isn't the ideal Disney resort for my family, that doesn't mean it isn't a great resort. The only negative thing I can say about the resort is the room size but my understanding is that is the norm for Disney resorts. From a value perspective, I recommend you carefully consider whether the experience with the animals is worth the cost of this resort and also worth the extra cost of a Savannah room.

Room Tip: Carefully consider whether a savannah room is worth the extra cost. There are plenty of places to vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were celebrating a 47th Anniversary and my husband's birthday and were so happy to vacation at Animal Kingdom Lodge in Walt Disney World. The hotel is breathtaking from the minute you walk into the lobby with its African theme that is carried throughout the hotel, room, restaurants, and leisure areas. We enjoyed every minute we were there and were pleased with the quality of service we received. Our room was pool view to save a $ or two but the view of the pool was fantastic and we had a savanna view just a few steps from our door with a bench for enjoying the animals or for picture taking. Don't fret if the Savanna rooms are all booked up, you can see animals from almost everywhere in the hotel, especially at feeding times. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Beds were comfy and sheets of high quality as well as thick the fluffy bath towels. We had a generous closet, private dressing area, alcove for luggage storage, table and chairs, patio with chairs and small table for having morning coffee and coffee pot and coffee and tea fixings refreshed each day right in the room and a small fridge as well. What more could you want? Towels and soap were refreshed daily and the room was spotless all week. The African themed buffet. adjacent to the lobby, sent wonderful smells of spices all over the hotel lobby at night so you can't resist it and you have to eat there. The quick service restaurant in the hotel was the best we visited in all of WDW during our stay. Breakfast was especially yummy. The pool and hot tub were clean and inviting. Those areas are cleaned each morning and refreshed several times a day. Pool towels were provided also. Bus service to the parks was a reasonable walk from the hotel lobby and we only had an extensive wait of 30 minutes once in a week. The other times, the wait was 10 minutes or less. All parks were within a 30 minute ride, with most being 15 or less. We parked our car and never moved it all week. Car and luggage valet service is available and very efficient. Check in was a breeze and the new Magic Bands are wonderful, no more lost key cards and everything is done with the Magic Band from park tickets to food to any purchases you may make. There is a gift shop with snacks in the lobby of the hotel in case you have forgotten anything. Elevators are plentiful and provide little or no wait. There is a wonderful fire pit in the lobby and animal viewing stations on the ground floor that get you up close and personal to the animals. I run out of adjectives thinking of all the pluses this hotel has. It is pricey even in low season when we were there but worth every penny and this was a special once in a lifetime occasion for us. We have been coming to Disney since it opened in 1971 and have stayed in all the deluxe hotels except this one and we loved it.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues or small children, request a room near elevators. The hotel is large an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KY_Road_Trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My kids loved it here. They loved watching the animals! They never watched t.v.,they just would sit on the balcony and watch the animals. The Sunset Safari was amazing! Was the best experience of the trip! The only negative part was the bus service. It was far from the parks. One night the bus never came to Magic kingdom, we waited for an hour.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elyseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed an overnight stay in the Jambo House...wow, the view was amazing and the staff was even more amazing. Loved the buffet for breakfast and dinner...we stayed overnight for my birthday...thank you Jambo House for making my 53rd birthday special! Looking forward to coming back soon. Loved the foods too...exciting to experience African flavors...can't wait to eat there again.

M.O.

Room Tip: My advice...stay in the 2500 block of rooms...best view there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Biggest inconvenience is having to walk a mile just to get to ur room. Now I am finding out that my twins balloons must stay at Customer Service desk. I guess I get visitation with my $12 per ballon?!!!! Just spent a day at the park to find out u can only get 3 FP, now my kids can't have their balloon. WDW is going down hill FAST!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdennis409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#11 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $323 - $751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelPower, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing