We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and truly disney” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #39 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent and truly disney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Myself and my husband have stayed here 3 times in the last four years, so that should tell you how great it is. We have always had a savannah room and it is well worth the extra, as there is nothing like standing on the balcony as the sun comes up with a coffee and a giraffe!

The hotel and rooms were always clean and well looked after, with lovely staff.

I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 023Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,974
    1,662
    579
    240
    123
See reviews for
4,105
1,148
52
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,750)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saukville, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

From a motel 8 kind of girl… This ranks right up there with a Hilton inn; however best western in the housekeeping department. The toilet was on a slant to the left so when you sat you literally leaned to the left, (you would think with what these rooms cost they could replace the o ring and re-center)…the shower head was CAKED in lime scale most of the sprayers did not spray. The top of the amour and the TV stand were FILTHY with dust! There were nicks and scratches all over the TV stand, there was soda or some kind of nastiness on the wall next to the chair and table set….Don’t even bother to look behind the table because it has not been vacuumed in the last 5 years or so as there was dust over half and inch thick and had food behind there. The comforter was ungodly thick and heavy with sewn corners so it was quite restricting…On to the pluses of this resort. The landscaping was AMAZING even the pool view it was awesome. The hotel stall was friendly, helpful and inviting…The rooms were very quiet, if I didn’t know better I would swear I was the only person in the whole resort! Under the beds were very clean as we lost quite a few toys under there daily… No bed bugs! Smoking areas were sprayed down daily and did not interfere with the non smokers. Busses from jumbos house were always crowded as they pick up at Kidani first so be prepared to stand….Food at their quick service was very good for “fast food”. Over all if you can get a discount or a good deal on this resort I would take it as they are selling the experience more than the room. And at Disney how much time do you intend on spending in your room anyway?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have been to Disney numerous times throughout the years - staying at either the Grand Floridian or the Polynesian. I couldn't pass up the deal that was being offered for this resort, so we decided to stay here for a change, but we were hesitant about dealing with the bus transportation. Upon arrival, the resort was very nice and welcoming. The check in process as flawless and the front desk staff were very helpful. The lobby is absolutely beautiful!!

The room seemed dated and in need of an upgrade. It was also extremely small - is this really a deluxe resort??? It was clean for the most part but there were a few stains on the beds.

The bus transportation was absolutely horrible!!!! I don't know how many times we saw empty buses come and go (for parks that weren't even open yet). The transportation to the MK was the worst. Make sure to give yourself at least an hour, if not more, to arrive at the MK (that isn't being sarcastic).

On the third night of our trip, there was a note on a bed to inform us of a scheduled power outage from 11:30 PM until 7:30 AM - would have been nice to know about this when we checked in. My dad uses a sleep apnea machine, so this was the final straw. We took the next cab out and headed to the Polynesian for the remainder of the stay.

If you are looking for a very quiet resort, and you aren't in a hurry to get to and from the parks, then this is a decent place to stay. I definitely do not consider this to be a deluxe resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jovipagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

To say I was disappointed is an understatement. With the prices you pay to stay here you would at least expect a semi comfortable bed. The beds in this hotel are some of the worst I have ever slept in. We checked in to one room for one night that had a lot of traffic outside and it was very noisy. We asked to change our room the next day to a less travelled area and were given a room on the second floor. Although not as noisy, the walls were still very thin and you heard everything from the other rooms. This bed was also awful. Definitely motel quality type beds and amenities. The only pros--the beautiful lobby and the animals in the savannah. Other than that, I do not recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovetoski1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was mine and my daughters first trip to Disney world. I went back and forth on which hotel but I knew I wanted a Disney property. What a great choice we made. The hotel is beautiful. A million things to see. Great for adults. Great for kids. Wonderful pool. The quick service restaurant has great food and good prices, with or without the meal plan. Very affordable.
Only downfall, it's the farthest from the other parks, but the buses run consistently so if you don't mind the extra 15 to and from the other parks, everything else is absolutely fabulous as we come to expect from Disney.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the pool. It's in the center of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vancil1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Service and rooms are a joke - expect 3 star rooms and dennys service in the hotels - Things have changed - not like it used to be . Rooms are outdated, dusty, and not cleaned as well as you would expect , ( rooms have always been small - , but now you really feel it, due to all the issues )

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bocaguy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I just checked into my room so excited. Well our reservations were confirmed 3 weeks prior to our arrival, specifically requested King size bed. To our surprise my husband who is 6'4 and myself 5'9 arrived to a Full size bed and 2 bunks. The only thing King Size is the cost of the room. Moving on there are no other Rooms available....mind you it is checkout time for many guests. Now that we are In our room and UNHAPPY, our TV is not working, Engineers are working on it....
Let me reiterate, I am I the Hotel business and my husband is here on a MEDIA EVENT...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Carmen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing