We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay in a Savannah view room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #39 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in a Savannah view room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights, had a Savannah view room where we could see zebra, giraffe, antelope, storks ... and squirrels but they don't count. Staff were superb from start to finish, special mention for Emily on check-in who made us feel so welcome. Our first stay at a Disney resort, we normally go to the Swan, but we'll be coming back here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malefacent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,040
    1,687
    588
    244
    126
See reviews for
4,190
1,159
53
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,781)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel yearly since it opened Sadly, it is in need of a major renovation. The lobby is spectacular but once you get into your room, it goes downhill. They are very small for the amount of money that you pay per night.

There was a large stain on the carpet, beds old and uncomfortable, lots and lots of dust on the drapes. The bed frame is wooden and I don't know how many times we bumped our legs on it.

As other people have said, the bathrooms are small, fridge is only lukewarm, and the room is very damp.

Unfortunately, we will not be going back to this hotel until they decide to do a full makeover on the rooms. It's just not worth the price you pay. It's sad to see this property go downhill, as it has always been one of my favorites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sitarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

In 2012 we had booked our trip with some good friends who had never been to Disney before. Port Orleans French Quarter Resort is “our place” so we were booked there. About 2 months before our trip I received an e-mail offering a free upgrade to a Deluxe Resort! Really I couldn’t believe it. We were given the choice of three Deluxe Resorts and chose Animal Kingdom Lodge. We stayed in the Jambo House. Oh my goodness, gracious, what a grand, wonderful resort!! This was so awesome; words cannot paint a good enough picture of this place. Pictures don’t even come close to experiencing the grander of this place! We were so lucky to receive this fantastic upgrade….Thank you Disney Travel Company! The grand hall architecture is MASSIVE & beautiful and adorned for Christmas in Africa. The resort is rich with customs, art, food, music (Swahili Christmas Music), information and interactive activities for everyone from Africa. The rooms were plush, we even were lucky enough to have a pool view room with an outside balcony; we just melted into this place! Swahili is the language, and there are many cast members who are from Africa. They love to answer questions about the culture and we enjoyed visiting with them. There is a nightly fire pit with a storyteller, during the day you can walk out and observe animals roaming the Savannah! There are two table service restaurants and one quick service restaurant. The food was great (the Zebra Domes are the best little dessert), staff very friendly and accommodating. The pool area is over the top gorgeous! We would definitely stay there every time we go if we could afford it. We are very appreciative to Disney Travel for the upgrade and the experience at the Animal Kingdom Lodge.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the Zebra Trail which is right off the grand lobby and we had a beautiful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was my first time I stayed in a Disney hotel we stayed there for 2 weeks , this resort is very nice we had a savannah room what we was pleased with but was slightly disappointed that we was told at check in that the giraffes are over this side of the hotel and are free roaming however it turns out there on the other side of this resort and had a fence stopping them getting to our side as they only have certain animals on each bit of each savannah so feel let down by Disney on that experience. the rooms are a fair size with nice décor and can sleep 4 ,the room has a fridge, however the bathroom is very small and the safe is useless as tiny ,the reception was well laid out and again nice theme , we was on the Disney dining plan well worth it as you get 1 x quick service meal 1 x quick snack and 1 x table meal each day and had many good meals also you will receive a refillable mug but can only be used in same resort , at present Disney are trailing the magic bands where this works as your key to your room and entry to the park plus if you want to charge anything to your room , also another benefit of staying at Disney is getting the extra magic hours what was nice , however not all attractions are open during these hours. overall I would say it I enjoyed my stay at the animal kingdom lodge but wished the reception staff had not lied to me about rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gary00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

we always get a 2-bed villa using our DVC membership, Read the reviews and more are better then others, We like this place. We ask for a close room to the lobby. Make it eraser for the grand parents to walk, This year we got to try the new Disney magic bands. They did not work to well for us. They did not open the hotel door at first. and it was down hill after that, two days in we just left them in the room and use the room key. will try next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is the full package holiday. From the moment we arrived, after a long haul flight from Australia, we enjoyed every minute of our stay. There is a special, magical feeling at this hotel, from the Disney cosmetics, to super friendly staff from all over the world, to the newly adopted wrist band technology that gives you access to room, restaurants, theme parks and shopping. The animals on the savanna are beautiful and a great experience for the kids to get up close to these species. Kadani village for dinner is a real treat, some of the best food we ate in Orlando. The pool and jacuzzis were fantastic, great relief for kids and adults after long exhausting days at Disney. The Disney resorts just make Disney so easy, with transport between parks, and make a trip to the other side of the planet entirely unforgettable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BelindaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

OK rooms but a very nice hotel, good pool with slide for the kids. Both restaurants were good, really enjoy breakfast and the fine dinning restaurant.

Good location, sometime the buses seams to be slow picking you up from the parks but outward we never waited long.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing