We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Totally awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for five nights with two kids and two adults. The room had two queen sized beds with ample space with small fridge. The kids really enjoyed the large pool with a slide. Every room has a balcony. For easy convenience stay on the third floor. That is actually the floor you enter from the street. They also have several areas to see the animals and they even had a marshmallow roast with a pit fire place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here on my last trip to disney world and I loved it! Highly recommend this hotel, I would defiantly stay again. It is one of disneys more expensive hotels but it is a deluxe and well worth every penny. We had a savannah view from our room which was out of this world, woke up in the morning to see giraffes, zebras and all sorts of animals running around outside. Cast members who working at the hotel couldn't do enough to help and were all very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Disneyprincess27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Ive been coming to WDW for oner 25 yrs, and Ive been a DVC member now for 7 yrs. This was my 3rd time to AKV, but 1st time at Kidani Village. With all that said, Ive experienced quite a bit of Disney Resorts. I love many thing about this resort, its different than any other resort on property. The decor and ambiance is to the T (something Disney always does). The resort itself is gorgeous; both sides, Jambo & Kidani. Jambo is grander, and Kidani is smaller and quaint....even quieter. My family and I loved Kidani for the smaller resort feel this time around (we have a toddler and infant). We enjoyed Saana, Boma (for breakfast) the savanna views, and the pool area was great for all ages. The quick service eating area, "The Mara" is on the Jambo house side of the resort, and even though its a 5 min walk, its not bad at all. Ive read review of people saying that 4 & 5 star resorts dont make you walk???? NEVER head of that. Honestly, if people come to Disney expect to walk, a lot! If you want a room closer to the buses or lobby you can request it; they may not be able to accommodate you but its worth a try. This is also a FAR FAR FAR cry from a Hampton Inn. You will not see the type of decor and detailing nor the quality at a Hampton Inn. Yes, I do agree the pricing can be a bit expensive, but thats in someones own opinion and expectations.
We stayed in a 1 bedroom with a standard view, it actually faced the bus stops, and when we had the doors closed you couldnt hear a thing, which was great!
The room was beautiful, the bathroom was gorgeous , and we were thrilled to have 2 full bathrooms. My only disappointment was the cleanliness of the faucet area in the Master Bathroom. It wasn't rubbed down very well and it was a bit dusty. Other than that the counters floors etc were all clean.
Bell Services but a bit slower than expected, but it was a Saturday and I know they can get inundated with calls and in person requests for luggage pick up and drop off.
The cast members for the most part are all very friendly and welcoming. Just like us, we sometimes have an off day, as long as you're not rude and unprofessional.
We would definitely come here again, but I do prefer Jambo house over Kidani.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rsc0920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have stayed at quite a few Disney resorts, I live in Florida and travel to Disney World often. We decided to give Animal Kingdom Lodge a try. We absolutely loved it! We arrived at the hotel at 8am fully intending to leave our luggage with the bell service and check in later after returning from the parks. They said our room was ready and I could check in immediately. We had the most beautiful savannah view in Jambo house. It was like waking up in a safari everyday. Plenty of giraffes and other animals right outside.

The resort is gorgeous, the restaurants are great and the pool is wonderful. This resort is much farther out than the others, so travel time is a little longer on the buses, but worth it.

The hotel and the rooms are a little dark, I am guessing it is all part of the theme. We found it quite relaxing. The bathroom area lighting is quite dim, so beware of putting on makeup like a circus clown, it's hard to tell in the lighting.

I recommend this hotel highly and we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slt40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The last time I had been to Disney was right before the Animal Kingdom opened, some 15 years ago. This was a retirement trip celebration and it was truly amazing. Imagine waking up and looking out your room to see giraffe and a multitude of animals grazing just below you. The room itself was clean and comfortable and the decor fit right into the setting. The bus ride to the Animal Kingdom Park was 5 only minutes. The checking in process was somewhat tedious, but worth it.
We ate at the hotel's gourmet restaurant and the chef came to our table to discuss my severe dairy allergy and discuss my options.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jogrant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at WDW Animal Kingdom Lodge Savannah view and was great. Everyone was very accommodating and pleasant. It is a bit away from most of the parks but quite close to Animal Kingdom Park. We sat on our balcony and watched the animals come right up for viewing. We chose not to go the parks but enjoy the view instead. Going back next month for more R & R. Dining facilities were not to my liking though but one can always go by bus to other facilities to dine. They have very different offerings on the menu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for only 2 nights to kick of our holiday with a bang - and a bang it was! Just driving up to the hotel we knew we were going to be in for a treat - Walking into the reception was jaw dropping. When we went to the reception desk we were greeted with politeness, happiness and willingness to help. We had a few issues with our booking however; there was nothing that they were unable to do to help - as it was a complication by the fault of Walt Disney they were more than happy to accomodate everything to ensure that it did not put a dampner on our holiday. The staff could not be faulted at all. When we went to our rooms we were overwelhmed with how stunning they were - we had obviously done alot of research before booking and then looked at lots of pictures after booking but the pictures did not do the whole hotel justice at all. We were booked into an arusha view room which we were told gave you the best view of the savannah - and it did! Due to the time we checked in we were unable to make the most of the facilities this night so we just decided to grab something to eat and rest. We were unable to book into the resterant till late due to it being fully booked so we headed to the pool which was again great. We did head to the buffett resterant however; this was one of our only points of dissapointment - we felt it was slightly overpriced, it was $39ish per adult and slightly less for children. I suppose this is how much you would pay for a 3 course meal however; we didnt really take that into account at the time. We decided to go to the quick service food centre instead - this again was slightly overpriced but the food was very tasty! It was wonderful waking up that morning to the excitement of opening the curtains to see if there are any animals outside - as we were only there for 2 nights we didnt see a huge amount of animals but what we did see was enjoyable. We headed to the pool at Kidani Village on this day - don't bother getting the bus as it is literally just a 5 min walk. This was a very nice pool, with very nice facilities. The kids enjoyed the pool party in the afternoon. There was so much available and on the timetable for this hotel that in order to see and do everything 2 nights was really not enough. We will definatly be heading back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucyandscott25052012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#13 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing