We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like we were in Africa!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #36 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Resort was spotless, queen size bed was sooo comfortable I had a hard time wanting to leave it t visit the Disney Parks. We also had bunk ends for our kids, ages 8 & 19, and they had no complaints. Room was well sized, big closet and large 2 drawer, two sinks on a large vanity, seperate from toilet & bath/shower. Small table with 2 chairs, decent tv and DVD player that we did use. Small fridge and coffee maker are also included. Would have been nice to have a microwave to heat up leftovers from the restaurants we went to, as we brought back to the hotel a few 'doggie bags' as the portions were huge!! We used the dining plan plus and will always be getting that plan in the future! It was great, we saw sooo many Characters at our dinners.

One drawback of our trip was we spent ALL our time in the parks so I never fully enjoyed this absolutely beautiful Animal resort, but I will next time as we are definitely going back to Animal Kingdom!!! Deluxe resort at moderate pricing

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,970)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,725 - 3,731 of 6,970 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Animal kingdom lodge is a beautiful hotel but is extremely busy.
Previously I have stayed at All Stars and the Grand Floridian. AK Lodge is rated as a deluxe resort but did not have the luxury feel of the Grand.
It is a very family orientated resort and as such was full of kids - not a problem, but this is not a peaceful hotel.
The restaurants were fabulous, Boma is amazing, especially if you are looking for a breakfast to see you through til tea time with just a snack for lunch - useful if you are spending time in the parks.
Jiko is a lovely signature dining experience. Quite pricey if you're not on a dining plan and service is not quick as everything is cooked fresh to order, but the food quality makes it worth the wait. They have an excellent wine list.
The location is a little out of the way and the transport to the parks seemed a little erratic at times.
The overall experience was good, and if you are looking for a deluxe family resort this hotel is great for you. If you are looking for something a little quieter or more adult orientated try the Grand Floridian or the Boardwalk resort hotels.
Good value stay overall as we managed to secure a free dining plan but I think I would have been disappointed if we had paid full price for our stay. If you want quiet luxury after a busy day in the parks this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The price premium for this place falls in an obvious area - it's beauty and surroundings. The hotel and the grounds are beautiful and peaceful. This is a great destination if you want to get away from the theme-park hoopla, yet it is only 25 minute bus ride from Magic Kingdom. There were quite a few Senior couples, to give you an idea of its peacefulness. I give this 4 stars instead of 5 because the individual rooms are small and average, the beds are uncomfortable and the bathroom is as small as possible to be within fire-code. You must get a view of the grounds from your room - giraffes, native birds, and cute ground creatures are great for the kids.

Room Tip: As the others say, You must get a room with a view of the animals.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sangshady45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for 7 nights while celebrating our kids birthdays. My wife loves animals, and reading other reviews we decided to stay here.

There are two hotels on this property--Jambo House (where we stayed) is the larger hotel, and Kidani Village is another one right next to Jambo, with more upscale accommodation. The whole resort is an African safari theme, and Disney does it right. The lobby was absolutely incredible. It is a cavernous, massive room that looked to be about 4 stories high and filled with museum style African artifacts. There are 3 restaurants at Jambo (2 African themed and 1 American faire), and 1 in Kidani (African themed). At the back of the lobby are steps leading to the savanna where you can view roaming zebras, giraffes, flamingos, and other African animals. Hotel staff are everywhere in case you have questions.

Everything about this hotel was amazing, except for our room (2033). Savanna view rooms were about $800 more for the week, and we decided to spend that money on other things. The room was nicely decorated, and came with a queen bed and a bunkbed for the kids. It was roughly the same size as a standard hotel room, but much nicer to look at due to the African inspired design. The bathroom itself was incredibly small, so small that the door comes within less of an inch when you shut it, which was kind of funny to see.

We booked through Expedia a standard room (parking lot view). Unfortunately, we didn't even have a parking lot view--our balcony (all rooms come with one) was ground level, directly attached to the sidewalk leading to the theme park buses. There was no foliage or other barrier to shield us from resort guests if we decided to use our balcony. I could literally hop over the ledge and walk 30 feet to the park bus stop. This actually made us a little uncomfortable because it was a fairly high traffic area, and as such we had to keep the shades drawn the whole time because people could look right into our room otherwise. We could hear the buses and guests chatting early in the morning and late at night, so it took away from our experience a little.

Other than the room/balcony issue, the resort is amazing. The staff are extremely nice and grounds are wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms 2033 and 2035 have no view other than the sidewalk to the bus stop.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ethanpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three days while visiting Disney World and loved everything about it except the high food prices. (We were not on a food plan but I would recommend looking into it for anyone going there.) The food was excellent, however, and their fast food type restaurant near the pool was good and reasonably priced. The buffet had African influenced dishes (along with delicious mac 'n' cheese for the kids) and plenty of choices for all. We didn't eat in their signature restaurant because of the prices.The pool was fabulous for our grandchildren, 6 and 4, with a water slide popular with all ages, even the adults. On our last day, the kids spent the whole day in the pool rather than go to a third theme park. There were games and activities for kids of all ages. Our 6-year old was especially fond of the arcade, strategically placed by the pool. The highlight for us, however, were the animals roaming freely around the hotel property. We saw many types, from antelopes to zebras and there were even giraffes wandering and feeding right near our rooms. We stood on the balcony and watched them for a long time. We were in a standard room,(very nice) not a 'Savannah view" but we got great animal sightings off our balcony.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was our first stay at this property at Disney World and I have to admit it was our favorite!!We have been to Africa three times and this comes pretty close to a real Africa experience-although nothing can compare to the real thing. We stayed at Jambo House in a room overlooking the animals roaming freely around and we loved it. Anything Disney is Magical and staying here was pure joy. The bus system is terrific and we never had to wait very long to go to any of the parks. The service in the hotel is awsome and all Disney "cast members" go out of their way to make your visit special. Whenever we went to do something they would say "you are on vacation let us do it" If you can afford it-I would highly recommend Jambo House for your next visit to Disney World. We sayed for 7 nights and I didn't want to leave. Like they say Disney World is the Happiest Place on Earth and I believe it!!! We are grandparents but were there without any children or grandchildren, just enjoying the parks on our own. We were there at the end of April and it is a little hot and humid but the weather was wonderful and we never encountered any rain delays or rainy days for that matter. We did the Disney Dining Plan and had fabulas food at fine dining restaurants such as Le Cellier,in Canada-Tppen Iddo, in Japan-Belle's Castle,in new Fantasyland-Mama Melrose,in Hollywood Studios-Chef's de France, in France. If you do the dining plan, you really don't have to worry about where to go to eat for dinner since you make reservations ahead of time, so you can plan your day that way. All in all I just want to say it was a wonderful vacation and Animal Kingdom Lodge is a fabulas place to stay, and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Stay in a Savanah room overlooking the animals
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobswifecleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

One of the most beautiful spots at Disney (but you should expect beautiful and magical from Disney) with African animals right outside you balcony. The building is beautiful with a good restaurant and a snack bar. A good hint is to buy the $10.00 cup and there are free refills the rest of your stay at Animal Kingdom Lodge. We had a Savanna view room which was very nice and the maids make mice with the wash clothes. A little on the pricy side, but the view is worth it.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Flemingdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $349 - $682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing