We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #37 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great week!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I am just now getting around to writing this review. We stayed at Animal Kingdom Lodge for a week in May 2012. We booked our one bedroom villa through David's Vacation Rentals. This amounted to a huge savings compared to what the packaged rates were going for. Our children loved looking out over the savannah each morning. There was always a new animal each evening when we sat on our balcony. Our unit included a small kitchenette which we utilized to prep small meals. We had a local grocer deliver us a groceries that we ordered online prior to our arrival. The service at the hotel was great! They brought us our groceries and our double stroller that we rented for the week immediately upon arrival. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeColts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,161
    1,732
    599
    251
    126
See reviews for
4,315
1,199
53
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,830)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Had a pool view room with bunk beds. The room was good but what we really enjoyed were the animals, pool, and kids activities. On our last day here I asked the kids what they wanted to do and they choose to stay at the hotel so they could swim and do the rest of the activities so they could finished their bead strings. I was surprised how much I liked the cultural activities and presentations put on by the African members of the staff. It was really neat getting a chance to talk with them and ask about their experiences. We ate at all the restaurants and they were good for hotel restaurants. Boma the buffet was good for a buffet, but not up to sit down restaurant standards. We preferred Jira and Saan.

Some people complained about the long bus trips but we haven't stayed at other Disney properties so it's hard to compare. The only time it bother us was going to Typhoon lagoon when we waited 20 mins for a bus and then the trip took another 40 mins.

Overall I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anywhereisfinewithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful in every way. Second week of our parks holiday. Had own car which is essential - people said buses took a long time. Really easy to get around by car on the Disney road system. Everything about this hotel is wonderful from the staff greeting you as you enter, to the beautiful reception area, the decor, the pool area and the amazing views. Had a Savannah room which was well worth it. Nothing can beat the sight of giraffes and zebras going past your room! Would definitely stay again - just loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephjc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middletown, nj
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have stayed at most disney deluxe hotels and this is by far my least favorite .. We just stayed this week... If you don't get a room by the lobby be prepared to walk walk walk... Our minivan couldn't fit under the parking garage bc we had a shell on it from traveling so that made it even worse... To get back at the end of the night you feel like you are on the bus for an eternity.. Upkeep the hotel is nice aesthetically, but for a family with young kids there are better places to stay in disney!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1998hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We loved the property! Paid for a standard room but our standard room had a nice view of the animals and my two sons woke up every morning and sat out on the balcony to view the animals.
We have stayed at several moderate hotels and a few deluxe hotels at Disney and this was our favorite by far! We were there at the end of Feb. and booked a special rate. Loved the facility, our bus service was great--never had to wait more than 10 minutes and the restaurants were wonderful. Yes--the drive to MK was a little long but no worse than when we stayed at Port Orleans. Would love to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Get ready to pay. Rooms are average. View of animals is what your paying for nothing else exciting about rooms. Spent 135dollars every morning for breakfast buffe tfor five. Get meal plan ahead of time..YOU CANT do it when u get there. Next time ill stay off property or get cheapest room in a value resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nyfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have wanted to stay here for a very long time and thanks to Expedia and an awesome rate of $181 a night plus tax my dream came true. There was very little "cons" to my stay. We were upgraded to a room with a view which was AWESOME!!! We skipped the breakfast buffet because of budget travel companions but didn't take away from the experience. We swam in the pool in February and would love to come back when it was a little bit warmer but my niece shivered and smiled the whole time. The shuttle was WONDERFUL! Quick pick up and drop off. We caught the early shuttle back so we missed the crowds. We went to the marshmallow roast on property and my niece thought she died and went to heaven. It was before dinner though so the timing was a bit off. I read review from TA about Flippers pizza and SOOOO glad I found them. Pizza was good, communication was good and price was great! We ate it pool side and saved me a fortune!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if they have it. Long halls....great exercise but can be tiring. Didn't want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vaweddingplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing