We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The savannah view is worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #37 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“The savannah view is worth the money”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

While this resort is a bit further than most Disney resorts, the Savannah views at Kidani were well worth the extra money. We got to see giraffes eating right outside our balcony. The feeding stations for the animals rotate day to day, so guests can enjoy seeing animals up close. The pool is great, although missing a water slide. We had a lovely and relaxing stay -- it's a different vibe than staying at a Magic Kingdom resort, where things are a little less laid back. Sanaa restaurant was great, and Boma is a really good buffet option, if you don't want to wait to be served.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,161
    1,732
    599
    251
    126
See reviews for
4,315
1,199
53
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,830)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My Husband and me stayed at the AKL for 3 nights on 14th - 16th March as part of our two week Florida holiday. My only complaint is that we didn't stay for longer!

Check in was quick and my husband managed to get us an upgrade to a savanna view room on the sunset savanna. They gave me a Birthday badge to wear as it was my 30th Birthday on 15th March. It was only 10am and I wasn't expecting our room to be ready - which it was!

After reading lots of reviews I was expecting a long walk from the lobby to our room, however it was a very short walk. We were on the 4th floor. Our room had two queen sized beds, the room wasn't massive, neither was the bathroom but we were only here for 3 nights. I would agree with some other reviews that if we were staying for 2 weeks we may of had a different opinion about this. We had a nice size balcony overlooking the savanna.

Some reviews complained about poor lighting in the room...we didn't even notice this.

Everything about the hotel impressed us. The lobby was amazing, the whole place was full of culture and there were always people on hand to speak to about African culture, animals or any general questions about the surroundings. Everyone was so friendly and helpful.

We did have an afternoon by the pool which was lovely. There are games and quizzes which you could either join in or just sit back and watch everyone else. Even though we were a couple and I would say the majority of people at the hotel were families with young or teenage kids we still very much enjoyed the hotel.

We ate in Boma once for breakfast, Jiko for dinner and Sanna for lunch (at Kidani village). All were excellent.

We used the Disney transport on all 3 days we were there to go to Epcot, Magic Kingdom and Animal Kingdom. We had no complaints about the wait for buses or the length of time it took for the buses to arrive, we never waited more than 10 minutes. I really wouldn't look too much into reviews that complain about the transport system. Most people staying here know that it is about 15 minutes from Magic Kingdom. You just plan accordingly. Buses run about every 20 minutes, its really not that much of a problem.

If you are lucky enough to stay here for a week or even two I would definitely schedule in a few days to just enjoy being around the hotel. They have a schedule of cultural activities, poolside activities and lots of other stuff going on. We wish we could have stayed for longer.

We loved our stay at the Animal Kingdom Lodge and hope to return as a family ourselves one day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carla_Marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from our stay at the Animal Kingdom and it was just great! We had a savannah view room and the whole family loved watching the animals. Giraffes, zebras, wildebeests, ostrich all outside every day plus tons of birds. We stayed In the club level which was nice but not necessary to enjoy the fabulous property. We did enjoy the club level concierge check in and help with booking as well as the breakfast, snacks throughout the day and the wine, beer, and sodas too. There are lots of kids programs offered for no charge at the pool and at around the hotel. My daughter also enjoyed taking part in the the ceramic painting activity at the kids club which was just a small charge for the ceramic she painted. We used the pool during our breaks from the park and the kids loved the slide. The only reason I did not give this the highest rating was the bus system wait times which were often longer than ideal.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was the 3rd wdw property we have stayed in. As far as views in central Florida go - this resort offers a great view. We were in Jamba House, 3rd floor Arusha view with queen and bunk beds. The proximity of the bunk beds are NOT like the picture on the web site. They are right next to the queen bed. Bedding was comfortable, and room was clean. Our 11 and 15 year olds slept fine in the bunk beds - even with the eldest at 6 ft tall. Easiest was to get kids out of bed in the morning? Say - look at that giraffe! It worked the first morning any way. The disney ee's feed the critters as locations that bring them close to the resort for viewing. Not the most natural surrounding with roads in the "jungle". Our only complaint about the resort - it's so dark. The heavy use of brown and the minimal use of electrical lighting makes for a dark lobby and a dark rooms. Reading a book was a challenge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Has to be the most beautiful resort i have seen. Staff was friendly and it was incredibly clean. Waking up to giraffes everyday was incredible. I had a pool room but there were viewing areas everywhere. You just cant go wrong here. Buses to wdw were always great as well.
Hands down my favorite wdw resort.

Helpful?
3 Thank lovinwdw
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here over Thanksgiving week. Absolutely beautiful! We chose to stay on the Arusha Savanna side in Jambo House, very good choice (although you definitely see animlas on each side). Tip: request the second floor. We were on the 4th, didn't know any better. On the second floor, you are more at eye level with the animals. Night vision goggles are really cool, the hotel even has staff to explain to you what you are seeing with the goggles.
We booked everything through Disney. This was definitely the way to go. You really need the meal package offered by Disney, or you will be SHOCKED at the prices in the restaurants. Shuttles to the parks were very good. Even if you go to the parks when it is warm outside, you may want to bring a jacket for the rides back on the shuttles. VERY VERY COLD on the shuttles and only 1 nice person the entire time that agreed to turn the A/C off. The hotel restaurants are very good if you like Indian food. It has a lot of "Indian flare". There is "kiddie" food for the little ones as well. My mom, who does not like Indian food, was also satisfied with the selections as well.

Room Tip: Request second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scarlet4Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a really beautiful resort setting. If you are budget conscious, I'm not sure the price of the room can ever be justified. However, it really is beautiful. We have previously stayed at Disney's value resorts and the intermediate resorts, but never considered staying at this property due to the high room rate. We don't typically spend any time in a hotel room while on vacation. This was a loosely planned trip that came together only a few weeks prior to depature. With help from a family friend who is a Disney cast member, we booked this hotel at a very fair rate.
The lobby is stunning, and the opportunity to see the animals at all hours is a special treat.

There appear to be lots of childrens activites through out the day. That observation, combined with the regular appearance of all sorts of animals, day and night, probably makes this a must visit resort for families with animal enthusiasts. On a couple of occassions, we visited with grounds staff who are super-helpful in describing the animals in the range, and appear to truly love their work at this resort.

As stated by other recent visitors, the room is very, very dark, even with every light turned on. The toilet/tub area has a fan (loud) with built in light, and it is equally dark as the room. Vanity lighting is adequate. The hotel seemed very quiet. (You will not experience quiet at the value or intermediate resorts!) The beds were comfortable, but noisy if you have a restless sleeper who turns over in the night. The room seemed clean, and well maintained. The decor is suitable for the theme of the resort, but is not of special quality. What you see on the Disney web site is what you get.

We only utilized the quick service restaurant which is typical Disney cafeteria style - with slightly better food than at the value resorts. Early morning activity is calm and seating is readily available. Again, a huge positive contrast to the value resorts. The moderate (?) restaurant is a buffet service where adult dinner was $40. It is very visible from the lobby, the pool area and several stairways. It was usually full as we passed by during the late afternoon through evening. The upscale dining option appeared to have ready availability, but we did not venture past the menu board, so can not comment as to the true nature of the activity in that establishment.

Again, to confirm another reviewers comments, this property is a very far away from the theme parks, and it is a long bus ride to every destination. The buses were very full, all the times of day. This resort's line up for the return buses is very close to the theme park exits in most every case.

Overall, a great experience for us, as it is a vast improvement over our previous on-site Disney resort experiences. However, the full-price cost will probably deter us from returning in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing