We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience + some tips!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #35 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here over Thanksgiving week. Absolutely beautiful! We chose to stay on the Arusha Savanna side in Jambo House, very good choice (although you definitely see animlas on each side). Tip: request the second floor. We were on the 4th, didn't know any better. On the second floor, you are more at eye level with the animals. Night vision goggles are really cool, the hotel even has staff to explain to you what you are seeing with the goggles.
We booked everything through Disney. This was definitely the way to go. You really need the meal package offered by Disney, or you will be SHOCKED at the prices in the restaurants. Shuttles to the parks were very good. Even if you go to the parks when it is warm outside, you may want to bring a jacket for the rides back on the shuttles. VERY VERY COLD on the shuttles and only 1 nice person the entire time that agreed to turn the A/C off. The hotel restaurants are very good if you like Indian food. It has a lot of "Indian flare". There is "kiddie" food for the little ones as well. My mom, who does not like Indian food, was also satisfied with the selections as well.

Room Tip: Request second floor
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scarlet4Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,966)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,809 - 3,815 of 6,966 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a really beautiful resort setting. If you are budget conscious, I'm not sure the price of the room can ever be justified. However, it really is beautiful. We have previously stayed at Disney's value resorts and the intermediate resorts, but never considered staying at this property due to the high room rate. We don't typically spend any time in a hotel room while on vacation. This was a loosely planned trip that came together only a few weeks prior to depature. With help from a family friend who is a Disney cast member, we booked this hotel at a very fair rate.
The lobby is stunning, and the opportunity to see the animals at all hours is a special treat.

There appear to be lots of childrens activites through out the day. That observation, combined with the regular appearance of all sorts of animals, day and night, probably makes this a must visit resort for families with animal enthusiasts. On a couple of occassions, we visited with grounds staff who are super-helpful in describing the animals in the range, and appear to truly love their work at this resort.

As stated by other recent visitors, the room is very, very dark, even with every light turned on. The toilet/tub area has a fan (loud) with built in light, and it is equally dark as the room. Vanity lighting is adequate. The hotel seemed very quiet. (You will not experience quiet at the value or intermediate resorts!) The beds were comfortable, but noisy if you have a restless sleeper who turns over in the night. The room seemed clean, and well maintained. The decor is suitable for the theme of the resort, but is not of special quality. What you see on the Disney web site is what you get.

We only utilized the quick service restaurant which is typical Disney cafeteria style - with slightly better food than at the value resorts. Early morning activity is calm and seating is readily available. Again, a huge positive contrast to the value resorts. The moderate (?) restaurant is a buffet service where adult dinner was $40. It is very visible from the lobby, the pool area and several stairways. It was usually full as we passed by during the late afternoon through evening. The upscale dining option appeared to have ready availability, but we did not venture past the menu board, so can not comment as to the true nature of the activity in that establishment.

Again, to confirm another reviewers comments, this property is a very far away from the theme parks, and it is a long bus ride to every destination. The buses were very full, all the times of day. This resort's line up for the return buses is very close to the theme park exits in most every case.

Overall, a great experience for us, as it is a vast improvement over our previous on-site Disney resort experiences. However, the full-price cost will probably deter us from returning in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

From the time when we checked in at the gate to when we left, it was top-notch. Check in at the gate went smooth, they were expecting us. The gate attendant gave us identification to put in the window. As soon as we pulled up to valet at Jambo House, we were whisked away to the 6th floor (by-passing) the line at check in. We sat at a desk, and they brought me a mimosa and hubby a beer. The kids munched on cookies and such from the Club Level Buffet. Check in was a breeze and to my delight, our room was ready! (It was 11am) We had room number 4323 and it overlooked giraffes, zebras, and ostrich just to name a few.
If you are club level guests, your key card, will operate the 6th floor access. Several times, I had other guests ask "what's on the 6th floor?!" "where are you going?" I felt special!
I loved the fresh fruit and crossiants at breakfast. Espresso/Cappuccinos were great. We didn't care much for the "African Themed appetizers" but everything else was great. The kids loved the "jungle juice"

One thing to keep in mind is that AKL is HUGE! Depending on where your room is, you could end up walking...ALOT!! I recommend learning the elevator system.
Another thing to keep in mind is that AKL does not allow balloons to be brought back on the property. (Possible issues with the animals) So, don't buy your little prince or princess a balloon at one of the parks and think you will be able to bring it back to your room.

We got a room with bunk beds, which I had requested and so thankful that we got them since our boys are 17 and 13.

Mara is a quick service restaurant by the pool and their food is pretty good. Pizza, Burgers, and Sandwiches. On seferal occassions, we brought the food back to our room and just relaxed out on the balcony.

Valet does not charge for parking if you have a handicap placard or license plate. They were very fast in retrieving vehicles.

I was very impressed with Animal Kingdom Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lori Jeannine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited in February children's half term holiday and had a fantastic time. From the moment when you walk in to the impressive foyer which is wow factor to the helpful staff. The concierge were fantastic giving us information and ideas where to eat being out first time here. i really mean they were good. We stayed in a Savannah room which echoed the theme of the hotel the beds were really comfortable, you didn't have to pay extra for the safe, plenty of towels etc. coffe making facilties hairdryer it was great. Boma is great and ideal as it appeals to all tastes, children and adults. We stayed 2 weeks the children were never board as the staff were informative about the animals and we all learnt so much. The activities and pool were great. I was worried about the negative comments about how far the bus journey is but we never had problems even the parks had shut and we were dining in the restaurant we had our own private bus one evening! It beats driving yourself arond and finding a parking space. I found everyone really helpful and courteous and certainly would recommend this to all my friends. Disney is great we found it clean, all the parks entertaining and worth their money. Those fireworks were fantastic. i am quite a critical person but have can't fault anything apart from the photos I took. When you get home and you have a 100 girafee, zebra, etc photos because we were so excited every morning getting up to different animals taking photos so we don't forget this experience!

Room Tip: We had a Savannah room
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here and we loved it, there are things to see and do for any age. The entire resort is amazing, be aware it's pretty big thought. What I loved the most is that this lodge has its own buses that do not stop at any other resorts, you go straight to your destination. I have no complaints, we will stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAtravler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

After our 5 night stay at Disneys Beach Club we stayed in a third floor savannah room for two nights which was beautiful. You can go to the balcony and watch giraffes,zebras,antelope,etc right outside. The hotel is beautiful as is the pool area. Food is fair to ok at best,but the worst seems to be the front desk personnel. Not very nice at all. One woman would not give me back our Beach Club room keys to keep as a keepsake! For the amazing amount of money you are spending there you would think they would be exceptionally nice!! Nope,room was not ready and they really dont care after Disney gets their money it seems. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veganmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Animal Kingdom Lodge-Jamba House Mar 14-18 and booked everything through Disney. We had the best time--and we have done the time share tours and rented cars etc, but this was our very time staying at a deluxe resort and it was well worth it and a once in a lifetime experience. When we checked in I did as all reviews stated and notified the check in desk clerk we were celebrating my birthday and if they had any complimentary upgrades but since it was spring break they did not.They offered to "downgrade" our poolview room to a standard room viewing the evacuation holding area which sounded very offensive. The clerk said he could not guarantee of course anything but he said I WOULD BE VERY HAPPY WITH THE ROOM. Of course we got to the room and no animal action with a sub par tropical view. Well we went to Downtown Disney and about 10:00pm when we returned we were greeted by 4 yes 4 giraffes, various pelicans and some animal with horns an antler maybe. Each night we were greeted with these viewing as well as sightings throughout the day. The hotel is gorgeous but listen to the views about the pricey food--BOMA smelled delightful, but we could not pay $40 per person for all you can eat especially for a 11 year old. Mara is more reasonable priced. The transportation shuttle service is what it is-- we never waited more than 20 minutes and sometimes no wait at all as the shuttle was pulling up as we were exiting. The arcade was great and the on duty clerk was very attentive and would even comp a game or two. I would suggest to anyone who is on the fence about this hotel to try it at least it once. Yes you want to see the animals but it will not be wasted stay if you do not see the animals from your balcony because they roam allday around the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neab286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $347 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing