We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$272
$239
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$157
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$227
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marriott's Grande Vista(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Caribe Royale Orlando(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$197
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$291
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$274
$239
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$209
$164
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (7,330)
Filter reviews
7,330 results
Traveler rating
4,437
1,840
643
273
137
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,437
1,840
643
273
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssavannah viewjambo houseanimal kingdomkidani villagesavannah roomnight vision gogglesafrican themewatching the animalssavanna view roomboma restaurantthe buszebra trailafrican animalslove animalsbunk bedsbooked a standard roomthe quick service restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,279 - 4,284 of 7,330 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've stayed at Animal Kingdom Lodge 3-times before and this was the first time we didn't choose the Savannah View room. We were pretty disappointed last time as the view was not very good - very few animals to see so we decided to go for the cheaper Pool view which was a good decision - it was much closer to the lobby, some rooms are really far away from the lobby and restaurants and it can take you a lot of time to get there and back.

The breakfast-buffet is good and there is a huge selection of cold and warm food but charging $23 for kids over 10 is in my opinion too much. While Disney knows the age of your kids they won't check it for the breakfast buffet so I guess they expect you to cheat a bit with the age of your kids if they ask for it when you show up for breakfast...

Room Tip: If you're looking for rooms with a good view of the savannah, make sure to choose one in the 342X range with odd numbers.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ingo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We've stayed at Jambo House many times over the years and it is our favorite. Having an opportunity to sit on the balcony outside the hotel room to watch giraffes, zebras and other animals, is something that we never tire of. Our last visit was over the Thanksgiving weekend and the hotel was decorated beautifully for the holidays. In comparison to other Disney resorts, this resort is quiet and relaxing. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A room with a savannah view close to the main lobby and public viewing area will allow for more opportunities to see animals from your room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Annie143Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My family has frequented DisneyWorld in Orlalndo, FL for more than 20 years. We most always stay at Disney properties, but this was our first visit to Animal Kingdom Lodge. We stayed in a one-bedroom villa in Jambo House over the Christmas holiday with our now-grown children. The hotel itself is typical Disney with the volume turned up a notch. The lobby area is incredibly beautiful, and the 40+ tall Christmas tree in the center of the atrium was the perfect touch. Staff are attentive, pleasant, polite and professional and service was terrific. We had a room service breakfast on Christmas morning - delivered exactly on time, and very well-presented. The room itself was a bit disappointing - very similar to the rooms in Disney's less-expensive properties. Rooms are very dark - dark wood with dark walls and floors. AKL promotes "natural lighting" within the entire hotel to go along with the African theme. Personally, I wish the rooms were designed with lighter colors. The rooms were fairly comfortable and consistent with other Disney hotels. The pull-out couch in the living area was uncomfortable both to sit on and to sleep on, but most pull-outs are the same way. The master bedroom was well laid-out, but again, very dark. The villa boasted a double-sized balcony (5th floor), which was an awesome way to watch the wildlife in the savannah below. One evening we were lucky enough to see FIVE giraffes sitting and relaxing right outside our balcony window! Our biggest complaint was the bathroom. Again VERY dark and oddly designed. Towels were arranged on grab-bars for handicapped individuals...no towel racks near the shower/tub! Another inconvenience was the lack of mirrors in the villa -- the only mirror available was a small one in the master bedroom. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for families with kids - there are lots of things to keep young ones amused...the pool area is large and very family friendly...and the close-up views of the animals can't be beat!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank njbnorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just spent 7 nights here in a club level room. It was amazing. There are a ton of activities for the kids to do in the resort. My kids ages 12, 11, and 10 never wanted to leave. We spent 2 days just exploring the resort and talking to the amazing staff. The kids learned a lot about the animals that are at the resort as well. Our room was a very nice size. It was clean and well maintained. The club lounge was so nice and the staff there was very very friendly. We are planning to go back again!! The buses to the parks were great as well. We never really had too long of a wait. We dined at 2 of the restaurants at the resort and both were very good. It is one of our favorite Disney resorts!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vickis3js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The AKL was a great choice for a family with young children and teens. There's a place for everybody to relax, whether it's the arcade for teens or the pool for the kids. The restauraunts were very good as well, and if you don't want to spend a lot of money on eating they have a food court on the lower level. Boma served breakfast buffet and afordable lunch and dinner, while Jiko was open for dinner and was a more common adults hangout. Beautiful resort with lots of amenieties and wonderful service. Though a bit pricey, we would definitley consider staying here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the animals, either Kudu or Zebra trail. We stayed on the Kudu side and had a nice view of the animals and resort.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews