We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #37 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
jorcp
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great choice!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The AKL was a great choice for a family with young children and teens. There's a place for everybody to relax, whether it's the arcade for teens or the pool for the kids. The restauraunts were very good as well, and if you don't want to spend a lot of money on eating they have a food court on the lower level. Boma served breakfast buffet and afordable lunch and dinner, while Jiko was open for dinner and was a more common adults hangout. Beautiful resort with lots of amenieties and wonderful service. Though a bit pricey, we would definitley consider staying here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the animals, either Kudu or Zebra trail. We stayed on the Kudu side an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,178
    1,740
    601
    254
    127
See reviews for
4,343
1,201
53
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,841)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Having arrived several hours late after a delayed flight from Gatwick and delays going through immigration , we finally arrived with our 10 and 11 year old children in a sorry state.
Then our holiday started on arrival at 2 o'clock in the morning at this lovely hotel.
The staff gave US a lovely room and then we knew that we were set for a memorable10 days in this amazing location.
From the well themed spacious rooms with views of numerous animals across the Savannah ,a huge swimming pool with organised games and films ,fantastic restaurants this really made our holiday feel special.
I would say that this is all round the nicest hotel have stayed and hope to return one day

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood nh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family of three stayed here for one night to try it out while we were in town, glad we tried it before wasting a week at some later date. We decided to splurge on a room that was 850 a night - this room had a double bed, a couch, and a view of the field where animals occasionally come by your window (admittedly a nice experience). But as a business traveler the other 50 weeks of the year, this room wouldn't even qualify as a standard room at a Hampton inn. ... When we checked in, I asked if reservations were required at the restaurant, the woman at the desk very politely said, reservations are not needed, we went down an hour later and we were told that we needed reservations and that it was at least a 90 min wait.... We fed our three year old apps at the bar - good times.... The staff was polite, except when I called and asked in what universe a double bed is deluxe ? We did not bother to complain, Disney appears too big to care - I'm just glad we didn't waste more than one night there - though the twelve hundred dollar mistake stings a bit. Don't recommend this place - visit, look at the giraffes, leave quickly before Mickey picks your pocket.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

we've stayed here twice and enjoyed our stays both times. Beautiful facility, great buffet, and we enjoyed being able to view the animals in a lovely setting. There's something very serene and calming about the place--a nice contrast if you've spent the day rushing around Disney World. Only downside was distance from Disney's parks (aside from Animal Kingdom Park). Buses did run frequently though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank must-keep-moving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a terrific time at the lodge during our mid-December vacation of 6 days. We had a party of four - 2 kids aged 3 and 7.

- Excellent service - everyone from the front desk, restaurant (Boma and Mara restaurants), lifeguards, entertainment crew by the pool and cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful to the whole family.

- Entertainment & Education - activities for the kids every day by the pool, beautiful walk-in pool for the kids, lookout points to view the animals. Disney has an exchange program with students from Africa - we learned a lot about the various animals from them and what it's really like to live with these beautiful creatures. There was always staff on hand at the lookout points willing to answer any questions.

- Room - clean and sophisticated. No issues. We had a garden view room (not the savanah view which cost more) from which we could still see lots of animals (giraffe, ankole cattle, zebras etc) right outside our balcony.

- Transportation - we went to Animal Kingdom, Magic Kingdom, Downtown Disney, Epcot and Hollywood Studios. The longest time it took was 20 min to Magic Kingdom which we didn't think was too bad. No problem with lineups.

We would definitely recommend this resort for those who want a mix of spending time at the resort and going to the parks every other day or once in a while.

Room Tip: Some garden view rooms have a view of the animals which is a cheaper option than the savanah room. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaF155002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

For the second visit to the lodge we are even more impressed. The weather was not perfect but the experience was. We like the parking garage near the elevator which was so convenient to our room. The gift shop is well stocked. We had a suite which was spacious for our large family. Every detail was special. Upon arrival the children received gifts- tiarra for the princess and sword for the pirate! The grandkids loved their new home!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Waterfront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

To begin, I truly enjoyed my Disney World vacation. I will say some critical things, but I really did have a wonderful time. The staff at Animal Kingdon Lodge were very friendly and helpful. Staff could be found in open areas playing the drums or making crafts. For both activities children (and/or adults) could join in with them. The staff would bring out crayons and allow children to sit on the floor and trace etchings on the floor. The animals roam throughout the savana and can be seen from everywhere. Having a balcony overlooking the savana is very nice. Three places to eat within the Jambo House. All descent. The pool was very nice and in December not very crowded.

I'm not sure what (except the animals, valet, bellman) make this a deluxe hotel. It was clean and functional. It was nicely decorated for Christmas in the lobby only. The rooms are very small. Guest that had wheelchairs or scooters had to leave them outside the room due to lack of space. I am use to a room with double beds and additional room for a seating area in addition to a desk in most deluxe hotels. This is a hugh hotel. The walk from your room to the lobby could be very long. There is no true business center. Yes we are suppose to be on vacation but some times you have to get things done. The hotel has one computer/Printer that is not accessible after 10 pm. There is WiFi and I did use my iPad but needed printing in the business center. Would like to go to the business center after my child is in bed but the timing is not convenient.

I would stay here again except if I were traveling with a stroller again. I learned this the hard way. From the Animal Kingdom Lodge you must take a bus to all four theme parks. If you have a stroller you have to break the stroller down to get to all four parks on the bus. If you stay at the Polynesian, Contemporary or Floridian you can get to two parks by the Monorail. On the Monorail you do not have to break down your stroller. More convenient.

Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YBtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing