We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Orlando(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$164
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Marriott's Grande Vista(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Caribe Royale Orlando(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$158
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$154
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$192
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (7,434)
Filter reviews
7,434 results
Traveler rating
4,504
1,864
650
278
138
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,504
1,864
650
278
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssavannah viewjambo houseanimal kingdomkidani villagesavannah roomnight vision gogglesafrican themewatching the animalssavanna view roomboma restaurantthe buszebra trailafrican animalslove animalsbunk bedsbooked a standard roomthe quick service restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
4,404 - 4,409 of 7,434 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

excellent rooms, service and food. and, of course, the animals!! we stayed for 4 days in Dec. Weather was good - usually about 80 degrees for high, low 60's for low. room averaged about $260 per night before taxes, so not cheap. We ate breakfast everyday in BOMA and one dinner there, a lunch and dinner in MARA ( more casual). even for breakfast, advance reservations for BOMA minimize the wait, and for dinner, they are essential (this seems to be true of most signature Disney restaurants now - reserve at least a week in advance) Food in BOMA (always buffets) was uniformly good to great. service was also excellent with very friendly waiters. Food at Mara was different and ok, not great. wasn't able to get a reservation for JIko.
Our room looked out on the Savannah, and various animals wandered by All day - several different kinds of antelopes, giraffes, zebras, pea fowl, pelicans, etc. You will not see Gorillas, lions, tigers, or elephants from the hotel - need to go to the theme park for that. self parking is also free here, and not too bad a walk from the lodge, but guest with disabilities should use the valet parking ($15 a day). All in all, a very good experience for our second stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wtrav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Jambo House at Animal Kingdom Lodge for 2 nights (1 bedroom villa). Our kids enjoyed the views from our balcony. We get to see Zebras and Giraffes being fed right outside our villa every morning. It was an experience of a lifetime. Would stay there again? ABOLUTELY NOT. We have huge issues with roaches in the kitchen. We notify the hotel staff on 2 different occasions. The second night we stayed there, my husband had to keep all of our baby bottles and plates in the refrigerators. The bathroom is another issue on its own. Every time the shower is used, the water leaks all the way to the other parts of the bathroom. It is practically a wet bathroom. We have to put the towels on the floor to keep the water off our vanity areas. There is not a single hanger around the shower area either so you have to put your clothes and towels on the floor. We notify the hotel management of the roach issue during our check out. I sure hope they do something about it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLITN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We just returned from a four night stay. The rooms are very comfortable, large enough with a split bathroom which makes for a pretty organized morning for a family of four. The food court, Mara, is very good with friendly staff. We like the atmosphere of the hotel although we rarely saw any animals, even night viewing. Glad we did not have a savannah room for extra money.
Check in was pretty slow with a cast member who struggled with English, had a hard time understanding questions because of that, thus the check in took a pretty long time.
Free wifi now, so great, but Disney still has no business center! One computer can be reserved to use for 15 minutes if you do not feel like taking your laptop on vacation.
Love the airline check in! Boarding passes are delivered right to your room. Very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsahovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was amazing! You really feel like you are on your way to an African safari the second you walk in the door! We had a savanna view room, and saw giraffe and zebra the second we walked in. The Mara (food court) had pretty good food, i wish we had time to try the other restaurants. And, this hotel has endless activities for kids. The room was a typical Disney size room, a little small, but serves the purpose. As a frequent Disney guest, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinmama06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This African Theme resort is beautifully decorated and well kept. My husband and I stayed in the Jambo area. We stayed in a "Vacation Club" room, from the kindness of my daughter and her husband. We were fortunate to experience Disney with our two beautiful Grandchildren after a 25 year absence from Disney. The only difference with Vacation Club, and regular rooms is the maid service. With a VC, you only get service once during the week, where in the regular rooms, maid service is daily. No problem here. We had a savannah view, and saw at least one animal each day from our window. We noticed TV reception was snowy, but I suppose Disney would rather have you in the parks. All the rooms had refrigerators and microwaves. The gift shop sells drinks, snacks and food for the microwave. Most days we ate breakfast at the quick serve restaurant Mara. There was a variety of choices which were good, but pricey. The air conditioning in the restaurant was uncomfortably cold compared to the outdoor tempts and humidity. We used the pool a couple of times. It has a gradual drop, ideal for small children, and a small slide. The dept is only 31/2 feet, with a full lifeguard staff. They provide life jackets for those needing them. My three year old grandson conquered the waterslide over, and over, and over again. They have a nice playground and area to watch the animals. We spent some time in the game room where both my granddaughter and grandson ran around to let off some energy. From here, it takes about 30 minutes to get to the Magic Kingdom and other parks. Animal Kingdom is of course closer. The Shuttles are extremely efficient and easy to use, even for the navigation-challenged senior citizens. Beautiful place for kids of all ages. I'd recommend Animal Kingdom Lodge to everyone. The only reason I didn't give AKL a solid 5 rating is because it is a bit far from Magic Kingdom and Epcot.

Room Tip: You don't need a Savannah View room to see the animals. If you want to save some cash view the animals behind the pool, and at other viewing spots!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTRTeach11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews