We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't stay anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #37 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't stay anywhere else”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having stayed in this beautiful hotel in 2007 we couldn't wait to return. We were greeted at the gate with "Welcome Home" and on walking into the stunning reception area we certainly felt that warm homely feeling again.
It's a pretty big place so the walk to our room was long but broken up by windows and balconies overlooking the Savannah. It's hard not to stop at every one to see what animals are there. There is always something to see.
Our room had a real African feel and our balcony was a good place just to sit and watch giraffes, zebras, gazelles, ankole cattle and lots more stroll past. The maid service was excellent and any staff you might meet in the hallways greeted you with a "good morning" and a smile.
We made sure that we spent some time around the hotel as there is much to enjoy. The pool is pretty large and inviting and as the temperatures were a little cooler we enjoyed using it at night along with the hot tubs. We watched the animals through night vision binoculas and learned about the animals from the African staff that were there to answer our questions. It was also enjoyable to sit around the bonfire area outside with a hot chocolate from Mara (fast food place) and just take in the atmosphere of the place.
Our favourite place to eat (probably all-time favourite) is The Boma. Even if you don't wish to stay in this hotel this place is a must. Occassionally the staff will walk around beating drums and singing encouraging children and older guests to join in and follow. This all adds to that African experience.The food is just amazing and it gives you the opportunity to try some African dishes that you just wouldn't usually get the chance to. You can go and help yourself to anything you want. There is so much variety with every course. The desserts are to die for! We would also recommend breakfast at the Boma, especially if you are planning a long day which might not allow time for lunch. There is so much variety and again you can try something new. We would definitely recommend the Disney Dining Plan which were lucky enough to have included in our holiday price.- Your can eat so well.
Once again we were impressed with the Disney transport service which means the car can stay behind. You never have to wait long for one. Even if you see one leaving you know another will be along shortly. The Animal Kingdom Lodge is a good base as nothing is really to far away. If you are driving out of Disney it's fairly easy to get to the Interstate.
Just as the last time we stayed we were all sad to leave. We decided that we would all like to return again. Not sure when but it will have to be done.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,184
    1,741
    602
    254
    127
See reviews for
4,351
1,201
53
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I loved almost everything about this one except one thing- the location. Our group felt far away from all the action but I suppose thats is alright when you have animals everywhere you look. I was in a group with four adults four children and two todlers so it was quite stressfull and it took a long time to get to a park. If your looking for fun with a smaller group of people I would defenately recomend this place! And the staff were of corse amazing and very welcoming!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macdiva101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, FL
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night with our 5 year old son. We had a room which overlooked the back of the Arusha Savannah... it was incredible, as we saw many giraffe, zebra and ofher wildlife right from our balcony. The room was nicely decorated, extremely quiet (could not hear our neighbors) and my son loved the bunk beds. There are great animal watching vantage points all around the hotel: common overlooks with rocking chairs, small walking trails and glass-lined hallways. We had friends visit us there and the adults and kids had a blast animal watching, swimming in the zero-entry pool and playing at the arcade. We also enjoyed our african themed meals at the Mara. I cannot wait to return, such an amazing hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realityaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently spent a week here with our 3 year old twins, and another family that has a 2 and a 5 year old. The animals were great, the staff and the food were both great. Boma is a wonderful place for breakfast, lunch or dinner! The buses usually came pretty quick, but every once in a while you had to wait 20+ minutes for the one you needed to come.

The best hint... the free shuttle to go back and forth between Kidani Village and Jambo House.

My weird flaw... no Disney Junior or Disney on Demand!!! You would think staying at Disney Resort, they would have something on the television for young guests. You could rent DVDs, but all the "good" movies were always rented.

Other than that, we had a great experience and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: While the savannah view is obviously the best place to be to see the animals, the hotel is FULL of b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robndani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Absolutely loved this hotel, the atmosphere, animals, theming and detail at this resort are fabulous. We loved all the restaurants, Boma and Sanaa our favourites - the food is African/ Asian themed, but not overly so, so should suit most tastes. Our room was standard view, and we were lucky to have a view of the savannah, so saw giraffes, zebra, various birds, antelope etc. an unexpected treat. I think the savannah view rooms are classified as such if the have an uninterrupted view of the savannah - ours was standard, and we had hotel view to one side and savannah to the other, so it didn't cost any more. The room was a good size, with really comfortable beds and pillows. Loved the theming of the furniture and soft furnishings. The main disappointments were lack of storage - only 2 drawers underneath the tv and a hanging area, not really enough for a 2 week stay; and the bathroom - for a deluxe resort I was expecting more, but the bathroom was very small, the same size as at value resorts. During our stay we went over to Kidani to view the DVC properties, and the bathrooms in the villas were much better, especially in the 1-bedroom. Free wi-fi in room the room and lobby was much appreciated. The in-room safe was tiny, again I expected something better than the value resorts, but no. Not a problem though as the safety deposit boxes were free of charge and large enough for our 13" laptops. Transport to/from the resort with Disney was very good, experienced no problems or long waits. Found all staff friendly and helpful, from valet services, bell hop, check-in, concierge, the restaurants and shop. I will definitely stay here again, and would also consider staying over at Kidani if we could rent some DVC POINTS.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kez99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a nice hotel and the rooms are the same quality as the beach club. I think I would have liked this hotel better if all my kids were in the toddler stage - then I would have liked this hotel better than the Beach Club Here is what I would have liked to have known:

1. We stayed on the animal side and you do see different animals at different times of the day. The workers did explain things to us as they fed/took care of the animals which was nice.
2. The pool is good - but the beach club pool is much, much better. It does have zero entry though which for young kids is nice. Now if you have toddlers, they do have a toddler pool that is away from the main pool which would be nice.
3. There is also a play area behind the pool for young kids which is a good break. Older kids (i.e., 9 and up probably won't like the play area).
4. The water slide at the pool is really geared towards younger kids
5. The pool games that the disney employees put on are really cute for young kids and keep them entertained for the day.
6. The food at the pool is great -- more of a store to get things as well as a menu choice. Great for snacks at the pool. Why does Disney never have people taking orders pool side?

Overall nice - but with kids 8 and up, I think beach club has a better pool area if that is what you are looking for. The rooms are about the same quality - just different decorating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kidstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port talbot
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here for the second time with our 17 and 14 year old girls and yet again found this hotel to be excellent.booked a standard room and ended up with a savannah view,unlike 2yrs ago when we had a view overlooking the carpark ,but just got lucky this time.Staff are always pleasant and polite and cant do enough for you.Choices of restaurants are very good,we had free disney dining which is great value if included.Fantastic pool, the whole Afrcan theme is truly authentic and you could easily forget you are at disney,but to coin their own phrase it really is a place that dreams are made of.Hope one day we will have the opportunity to return as this place just seems to draw you back.Booked direct with disney uk and saved a lot of money than by booking with other well known operaters and had excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for queeen beds,as bunk beds can obscure the view of the tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PortTalbotJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing