We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Amazing, Good Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #34 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel Amazing, Good Room”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The standard hotel rooms themselves are nice but not overly large, however everything else about the hotel makes up for that. The animals are frequently visible from your room and the African theme is fun and abundant throughout the entire hotel. The pool is great and very big with a nice pool bar. It may be the furthest hotel from the parks, but we never had any problems waiting too long for buses. The restaurants in the hotel are amazing and ended up being the biggest attraction for me on our trip. When I'm on vacation I love to have a huge breakfast and the buffet at Boma is beyond outstanding; they have a bread pudding every morning with a different sauce to drizzle/pour on top and is simply out of this world. Jiko - the Cooking Place is a fancy and somewhat expensive dinner restaurant right across the hall from Boma but was well worth the price; the wild boar appetizer is one of the most delicious things I've ever tasted. When I go to Disney again, I will absolutely be staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,126
    1,718
    594
    249
    126
See reviews for
4,276
1,187
53
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Animal kingdom resort was perfect for our family. 2 bedroom villa was very clean and spacious. Great having out own washer & dryer too! Seeing animala walking by our room all day was amazing.. Rooms cleaned everyday, staff to resort were wonderful and very friendly! Pool areas were also great. Kids had a blast. Games staff have by pool area kept kids entertained as well. Would def stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amylee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for a week and had an amazing time. Didn't book a savannah view room and didn't need to as the one we were given had fantastic views of the animals, despite not being classed as 'savannah view'. When we checked in, they were very helpful and answered any questions we had - all the staff were friendly throughout the stay. Not a lot else i can say other than we had a great time and were hugely impressed with the hotel, would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlotteB1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 11 nights on our honeymoon. Sure there were little things I could complain about, we got 2 beds instead of 1 king, our fridge made alot of noise, our alarm clock didn't work properly, but the good far outweigh the bad and truly made this a magical trip. The lobby of Jambo house is absolutely stunning. I find it funny that some of the negative reviews talk about how it's too dark and dated, this is supposed to be modelled after an African lodge, of course it's supposed to look rustic, Disney does not skip out on details from their imagineers. The store is probably the best store from all the Disney hotels. Jiko was one of our top restaurants out of more then 20 we tried. Boma is also very good, one of the best buffets. We were club level guests, I truly recommend this service, not only were they able to get every reservation I wanted including hard to gets like Cinderella's Royal Table and Chef Mickey's but also free snacks and drinks in their lounge. It's such a magical feeling sitting on your bed with your special someone and watching giraffes at the same time. We didn't spend a whole lot of time in the room, but when we did, we always got to see either a giraffe, zebra, ostrich, many types of African deer, etc. Just a great hotel, hard not to love it, especially if you're an animal lover, it may be out of the way of the parks and hustle and bustle, but I think thats part of the charm to it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayMc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

In short everything was excellent and it was one beautiful holiday experience....
The staff and the service was par excellence ...
The setting of the resort was really mind blogging... specially in the savanna style with animals roaming around outside your balcony...
It left us with beautiful memories....

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kilimates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm bch florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were apprehensive at first because animal kingdom lodge was so far from all the parks except the animal kingdom but we had never stayed and wanted a new experience. From the moment we got there I was so glad we decided to stay, the staff was very friendly and the resort felt relaxing and calm and seeing zebra's and giraffe's from your room balcony was amazing ,my tip treat yourself to a room service sunrise breakfast and sit out on the balcony and watch the sunrise and the animals , you feel like you have been transported to Africa it even has a slight smell like a wood burning fireplace it truly is amazing, the pool area and the night time movies for the kids at the pool is fantastic they can watch Disney faves while swimming . They are African story times around the fire and a marshmallow roasts and you can look around and see zebra's and giraffe's and feel like you are camping on a African savanna. The restaurant Jiko was not our favorite at all so I would not recommend it . The quick service restaurant was good but jiko and Boma just had us leaving the hotel for better Dinner options. Rooms were nice and clean and the staff helpful. I am glad we stayed but My Favorite hotel is still the yacht and beach club hands down. So a return trip unlikely to animal kingdom lodge.

Room Tip: go for the extra expense and get a savanna view that's the best part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stwgfam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
265 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is my favourite place in the world to visit. We have been there 4 times in 4 years. The savannah view rooms are worth the money and we always do concierge level which is worth the extra that you pay. My only complaint is with housekeeping I would give this hotel 20 out of 10 if it was not for the sloppy housekeeping.
I found bobby pins in the dresser from the previous guest, the dust on one of the tables was about 4 months worth and the dirty mirrors were a disappointment to see.
The hotel itself is a marvel and I cannot get enough of it, next time I book and I will go again, I will contact them and tell them I want my room cleaned to the standards of a deluxe resort.

The lobby is exquisite and you feel like you just entered Africa. It is an amazing place to visit and because of everything else it offers, I will always overlook the disappointing job housekeeping does.

Room Tip: 4 th floor savannah view, you cannot go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jjejermaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#11 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing